Installation woes

icjohnson
2006-01-09
2013-04-16
  • icjohnson

icjohnson - 2006-01-09

I am having a beast of a time trying to install caravel 3.0 Beta 1. When it comes to Linux I am a bit of newbie and I am trying to follow the long installation manual, I am looking on line for help, but I am getting frustrated. Caravel has the options I am looking for, on the outside, and I really want to give it a good workout. I have found at least one typo in the installation manual and I am presently stuck at getting php compiled and installed. (it is not finding the jpeg and png lib files. no information on installing gd, just curl.) (What distros has it been successfully installed on?)

Is anyone out there listening to this, working on Caravel? The email lists are unaccessable off caravelcms.org and so I don't know where to ask questions.

What about creating a Caravelcms distro. Download an iso image that you can burn, maybe based on knoppix or mepis or other run from cd distros, something to make the install process less painful.

I am wanting a CMS where I can have potentially thousands of small subsites that are created with default pages in place for editing, by individual authors. The docs point to this cms as being, not only able to handle it, but made for it. I have successfully installed and used other cms, but it seems to me that it will be the installation of caravel that will hold it back from gaining a community around it.

signed "Frustrated in Kaleden"

• Reuven M Hodges

Reuven M Hodges - 2006-01-13

Our installation manual gives basic instructions on how to compile most of the required packages from source, however, you should be able to just use your particular distro's packages/rpms. For your first installation of Caravel I would really suggest doing this. The from source compilations are nice, but should not be a requirement for *most* of Caravel's features.