Menu

help! I like to make changes about boomerang

Mary
2009-01-26
2013-05-28
  • Mary

Mary - 2009-01-26

First, I thank you for spending time answering our questions, and it becomes not that difficult to understand Boomerang with your help.
    I am a thesis student, and I am working on my thesis. I like to implement the idea of my thesis on top of Boomerang, and I like to make sure whether it is a good choice for my thesis. Actually, what I will do are the followings:
    A)For a disassembled executable (which was written in assembly language originally ), represent assembly instructions with semantics (e.g. POP EAX is represented with SS[ESP]:= EAX, ESP := ESP -1);
    B)Use local optimization techniques to remove dead codes, propagate the values of intermediate variables, and simplify expressions;
    C)Basically, Boomerang has done the work, but I like to extend its function, such as extending the operators of expressions (e.g. adding “|”, “&”,”^” etc.), and to simplify the expressions in my own way (I have design simplification rules and the corresponding algorithms) for a special purpose. That is, I have to modify and extend the expression simplifications.
    I like to know whether there are design documents about Boomerang, so that I can understand it easier and can work it quickly. Also I like to know whether it is not difficult to do my work(I plan to spend two months implementing my thesis).

Thanks.

• Anonymous

Anonymous - 2009-02-25

Hi Mary,

Really interesting...

I do have a project similar to boomerang.

In the past I contacted [if I remember well], Mike Van Emmerik to ask something about Boomerang, because I have worked with something similar, and my interest was to learn with Boomerang and implement my own system in my project.

But, I got nothing more than "you need to do much effort on it" and some other words that really dont tell much.