Close

Installation failure on Ubuntu Dapper Drake

Help
lukon
2006-12-04
2013-04-29
  • lukon

lukon - 2006-12-04

I'm a linux newbie who's trying to get bookmarkbridge to work on my new Ubuntu setup.

Ubuntu has this GUI synaptic package getter that I used to download and supposedly install bookmarkbridge.

After the "automated" install, I could not find bookmarkbridge on any of the menus. So I figured there was some unfinished and mysterious linix stuff left to do for making it install. Was I supposed to do some kind of compiling or something?

One thread in an ubuntu forum mentioned typing "apt-get install bookmarkbridge" at the terminal.

So I did that and got alot of feedback that seemed to indicate that this command was redundant with what the GUI installer had already done.

See the cut/paste from my terminal here:

-------------------------------------------------------

luke@Axiom:~$ sudo apt-get install bookmarkbridge
    Password:
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree... Done
    bookmarkbridge is already the newest version.
    0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.

Ok.

So on a hunch I just typed in the string "bookmarkbridge", and here's the terminal output:

luke@Axiom:~$ bookmarkbridge
    X Error: BadDevice, invalid or uninitialized input device 166
      Major opcode:  144
      Minor opcode:  3
      Resource id:  0x0
    Failed to open device
    X Error: BadDevice, invalid or uninitialized input device 166
      Major opcode:  144
      Minor opcode:  3
      Resource id:  0x0
    Failed to open device

------------------------------------------------------

But after the terminal spit that out, bookmarkbridge did open it's main window, to my surprise.

So I went to the settings window and sew that it had not detected my Firefox installation.

So I attempted to add it manually as "Mozilla Browser".