Installation Tips for new users

2002-11-25
2002-11-26
  • Greg Brunet

Greg Brunet - 2002-11-25

As background: I've been developing software for many years (and a heavy MS user over the last 15 years - especially with VB & ASP).  After an - err, interesting - experience with VB.NET on a recent project, I thought I'd check out some other options.  I had looked at Python a year or 2 ago, but it seemed severely lacking in a decent IDE.  You can imagine how great it was to find Boa!

Since I am a new user to the whole Open Source / SourceForge / Python / Boa community, all of the choices that are available, and need to pull together pieces for different places is a bit overwhelming at first.  I thought that I'd make some notes of where I pulled everything from in order to get a 'complete package' in order to help out others who might be coming fro a similar background.  Here's my attempt:

Tips on getting a working copy of Boa installed on a Window XP Pro machine (as of 11/25/2002):

- Download and install a copy of Python.  There's 2 general sources (I used the ActiveState one):
    -- www.python.org: http://www.python.org/ftp/python/2.2.2/Python-2.2.2.exe for the core, and http://starship.python.net/crew/mhammond/downloads/win32all-148.exe for the Win32 extensions
    -- or the ActiveState version of  Python: http://www.activestate.com/Products/ActivePython/ (click on 'Download' at the left, then select the build on the download screen (I used the latest version available: 2.2.1). This includes the Win32 stuff.
    -- The default directory is [C:\Python22], but I've organized my tools on my PC differently and so I placed it in [D:\Dev\Python22]. You should adjust any paths mentioned below accordingly.

- Download and install wxPython (I used the ANSI not Unicode version): http://www.wxpython.org/download.php#binaries

- Next get Boa.