Cant seem to install the driver, why?

2002-06-30
2002-08-18
  • Dixit Suthar

Dixit Suthar - 2002-06-30

I have tried to do the "make install" on my RedHat 7.3 and it seems to keep failing.  Please realize that I am a Linux newbie also.

Is this because this driver wont work? Or do I need to do something different.

Thanks
    Dixit

The error it gives is

cc -D__KERNEL__  -DMODULE -DAU8830 -mpentium  -06 -fomit-frame-pointer -Wall -pipe -I/usr/src/linux/include    -c -o au_audio.c
    make: cc: Command not found
    make: *** [au_audio.o] Error 127

• Anonymous - 2002-07-05

sounds like you need to install a compiler.

try installing the GCC rpm.

also, make sure you have the kernel-sources rpm installed.

• Dixit Suthar

Dixit Suthar - 2002-08-06

I tried to run the install again after making sure I had installed the GCC and kernal-sources rpms.  I actually re-built this computer as a server now with all the latest updates from RHN.

Now when I run make install, I get probably over 300 lines that flash by and it seems like it still dont install.  It comes up with alot of programming errors like "case label not within a switch statement"

I wish I knew how to copy and paste what I see here, but dont know how.  When I tried to pipe it to a file, I only got two lines on the file.  Something did not work.

I really want to get this soundcard working.

Please help
      Dixit

• Kevin Alm

Kevin Alm - 2002-08-10

It's fairly eazy to save the error messages if you do the install in an xterm in x. Use the scroll button to go up to the start of the text you want to copy. The left click hold and drag over the xterm text. Don't release until the text you want is highlighted. Without clicking again in the xterm window, left click in a editor, kate or gedit for example. Right click and paste.

• Dixit Suthar

Dixit Suthar - 2002-08-13