Useless help and features

Kiril Ass
2007-07-12
2013-04-30
  • Kiril Ass

Kiril Ass - 2007-07-12

Hugo, Mariana and everybody behind Archimedes, thanks for your great effort!

I just found your package today and tried it for mere 5 minutes, just to get the first feel. Me being an architect in a small firm, with nill coding experience couldn't be of great help, but I gladly can try to help you with the GUI design and stuff if you are in need. (And being nosy I feel not really happy about the graphic design of the thing) So please let me know if I could be useful.

I have been invited the other day to contribute for a Russian architectural digest, and I will write a small article about you in the news section, trying to bring in some interest from our local professionals, and possibly endorse donations.

Now to the project. Unlike others in the forum, I've been playing already for 9 years on Bentley Microstation core, to my greatest pleasure. If you have an opportunity to lay your hands on it (v8 is the current version), have a view. Some things are really great there, and you should probably try to take a look at these things:
    printing window and operation (like 15 times less generally unneeded options than ACAD, and a single easily editable config file)
    tools interface - I thought about your plugin approach: Every tool chosen brings up a small panel with tool options, which is replaced with another when another tool is called up. Say, if you choose  "move" there is a checkbox for "copy", and if checked it unlocks another field for number of copies.
    every design window (of the 8 possible for the opened file, if you are looking forward to have more than one) has it's own viewing operations buttons: fit objects, zoom in zoom out, window zoom (draw rectangle to zoom in proportionally), copy view from another window, etc.