Create Views for complete newbie

Help
Lemonie
2012-09-26
2013-06-06
  • Lemonie

Lemonie - 2012-09-26

I am trying to teach myself how to build a database for a charity I help.  I want to create a view but no matter what code I enter I keep getting a syntax error?  Here is the code …

Name: Home Checked Applications

CREATE VIEW 'Home Checked Applications' AS
    SELECT Postcode:
    FROM Applications
    WHERE Home Checked=yes;

please help, is there a tutorial somewhere as am struggling to find any help :(

• Paul

Paul - 2012-09-27

What syntax error?

The details of your Applications table is not known…
    1. There appears to be a colon after postcode?

2. The WHERE clause has Home Checked which appears to be two words separated by a space…is that the column name?  If so, then that column would need back-ticks  to complete the column name, and the value would need single quotes as a string , so that WHERE clause should like this:   WHERE  `Home Checked`='yes';

Other than that, other details would be needed.

MySQL has plenty of information available.  Check this about the CREATE VIEW syntax:
    http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.1/en/create-view.html

From there, there are links to other parts of the manual.

• Lemonie

Lemonie - 2012-09-27

Hi

My table, Applications, is a list of application forms for dogs.  I would like a new view which only shows the application where the Home Check column says yes.  Same columns to show just filtered.

Have attached a screen shot of the error

• Paul

Paul - 2012-09-29

Try this way instead, remove all the semi-colons…

SELECT `Home Checked`
    FROM Applications
    WHERE `Home Checked`='yes'

In that example, I used back-ticks to surround the Home Checked column.

• Lemonie

Lemonie - 2012-10-01

Thank you, that worked!

• Lemonie

Lemonie - 2012-10-01