Menu

error: treating 'c' input as 'c++' when in C++ mode, this behavior is deprecated

2019-01-02
2019-01-10
  • Xavier Canalda

Xavier Canalda - 2019-01-02

Hi all,
    I'm new to this.
    I was trying to build the AAF SDK, I've tried both "make everything" and "make AAFPLATFORM=X86_64Darwin"

I get that error:

cd ref-impl && /Library/Developer/CommandLineTools/usr/bin/make
    cd aaflib && /Library/Developer/CommandLineTools/usr/bin/make
    make[2]: Nothing to be done for all'. cd aafiid && /Library/Developer/CommandLineTools/usr/bin/make make[2]: Nothing to be done forall'.
    cd expat && /Library/Developer/CommandLineTools/usr/bin/make
    Generating dependencies for xmlrole.c
    clang: error: treating 'c' input as 'c++' when in C++ mode, this behavior is deprecated
    Generating dependencies for xmltok.c
    clang: error: treating 'c' input as 'c++' when in C++ mode, this behavior is deprecated
    Generating dependencies for xmlparse.c
    g++ -c -g -Wall -Wundef -Wno-non-virtual-dtor -Werror -Wno-reorder -Wno-unused -D_DEBUG -DOM_DEBUG -DOM_STACK_TRACE_ON_ASSERT -fsigned-char -DOM_USE_SCHEMASOFT_SS -DOM_STRUCTURED_STORAGE -fexceptions -DHAVE_EXPAT_CONFIG_H -arch x86_64 -I. xmlparse.c -o ../../AAFx86_64DarwinSDK/g++/ref-impl/debug/xmlparse.o
    make[2]: [../../AAFx86_64DarwinSDK/g++/ref-impl/debug/xmlparse.o] Error 1
    make[1]:
    [all] Error 2
    make: *** [ref-impl] Error 2

I would be grateful if someone could answer.
    Thanks to all.

• Jim Trainor

Jim Trainor - 2019-01-02

The latest version of XCode is not working. I just confirmed that by trying to build the AAF 1.1.6 code using clang-1000.11.45.5 (see below). You can try one of the binary releases. I don't know if the compatible with the latest macOS releases, however. You also use the AAF avid2018 branch. That build uses cmake and will work with the latest version of XCode. It is not officially released yet, however.

uname -v