Menu

Regular Expression: How to search for NEWLINE

FlakRat
2006-01-18
2012-11-13
  • FlakRat

FlakRat - 2006-01-18

Howdy, I ran into a situation where I needed find lines with a specific pattern and remove the line entirely.

In Textpad, I would use:
    Find: ^\t\t[0-9].*$\n
    Replace:

With the replace string empty, the entire line is removed.

I can't find a way to specify the newline character or carriage return or form feed etc...

Can you do this in Notepad++?

• Philip Nicolcev

Philip Nicolcev - 2008-03-27

I have to agree with the above. Even just as a web developer I find I need to do searches with regular expressions and \n that are just not well supported in n++. The TextFX find/replace is what I use for this, however there appear to be times when it just doesn't find things that are present when I search for multiple lines.

• Nobody/Anonymous

The problem depends on Scintilla. It does not support search/replace linefeed newline character or carriage return in Regular Expressions.

My be, that this problem could be solved with a workaround.

Regards
      Jens

• bushost_teamleader

There is a text editor which is not as clean as N++ but one thing I like about it better than N++ is the regular expression support.  Due to the fact that it uses the PCRE 5.0 library, it has vastly superior regular expression support.  It is the one feature of N++ I would like to see changed.  As much as I love N++, its lack of full regex support leaves me either trying workarounds or using boxer, which I feel is not as clean as N++.  It would be great if N++ could use PCRE instead.

• Nobody/Anonymous

It should be mentioned in the FAQ that the regular expression engine does not support \n

• Nobody/Anonymous