Feasibility of evolving a bot

Help
Lord Haart
2009-03-27
2012-09-15
  • Lord Haart

Lord Haart - 2009-03-27

Hi All,
    I'm in my final year of study, and I would like to use Robocode as a framework for implementing and comparing various learning algorithms (genetic, neural nets, learning classifiers etc). I've found a few existing research papers where Robocode was used, and it appears that it's quite user-friendly and straightforward enough that I can keep my focus on the actual algorithms I'm using, rather than tweaking the testing framework. I just wanted to get some opinions from you guys, the community, as to whether you think Robocode is suitable for something of this nature.

A couple of other questions:
    - Support seems excellent, since there was a blog post not 2 days ago and an update the day before that. Would it be safe to assume that most of the bugs are ironed out, and the framework is mature enough to work on, or that there will be continued support?
    - Do I need permission to use Robocode? Naturally, I will not claim any of the existing code as my own, only the stuff I implement myself. Does the license mean that I need to make my code available too? (I have no issue with doing that, just need to be aware).

Thanks! The project is incredibly promising, and should make a great testbed for students to learn Java & AI. Two Thumbs Up! :-)
    -Lord Haart

• Lord Haart

Lord Haart - 2009-03-29

Thanks for the responses!

I'm definitely liking Robocode, and I'll get started on using & posting on the wiki. :)

• Nat Pavasant

Nat Pavasant - 2009-03-29

First of all, this is not community forum, you should visit robowiki (http://testwiki.roborumble.org/) instead.

Answer: