Menu

Is this project dead?

2005-06-23
2022-11-15
  • Diwaker Gupta

Diwaker Gupta - 2005-06-23

There's been hardly any activity. I'd really like to see this project moving forward. I'm not an expert in XSLT or FOP, but if the project is officially open for adoption, I am willing to help out.

• Nobody/Anonymous

There isn't any development activity in the project and I have never received any feedback about the CSS file I developed so that XML Resumes could be edited in Vex.

Go ahead and try to contact the project admins.

• Trevor Harmon

Trevor Harmon - 2006-01-11

I've switched to HR-XML: http://hr-xsl.sourceforge.net/

• Nobody/Anonymous

The XML looks like it was designed by people who don't work with XML very much.  The tags are mixed case, no dashes to separate words, and it seems overly verbose.  Date representation needs some help as well.  There doesn't seem to be anyway to indicate industry-specific sections of the document.

• Trevor Harmon

Trevor Harmon - 2006-01-15

"The XML looks like it was designed by people who don't work with XML very much. The tags are mixed case,"

What's wrong with mixed-case tags? Besides, XMLResume has mixed case, too. (bookTitle, dayOfMonth, etc.)

"no dashes to separate words,"

You mean in the tags? XMLResume doesn't have those, either. In fact, it's very uncommon to see XML tags with dashes in them.

"and it seems overly verbose."

If by verbose you mean more detailed and comprehensive, this is the main reason why I prefer HR-XML over XMLResume. For instance, publication history is much more complete in HR-XML, providing fields for page number, ISBN, and so on. This allows more sophisticated XSL processing than XMLResume, which simply dumps all of a publication's metadata into a <description> field. For instance, with HR-XML, the user can toggle display of the ISBN on or off; this is currently not possible with XMLResume.

"Date representation needs some help as well."