Email sent to capros-devel@lists.sourceforge.net was rejected with the
following error:
<capros-devel@lists.sourceforge.net>:
Connected to 66.35.250.206 but sender was rejected.
Remote host said: 550-"rejected because your SMTP server, 205.214.170.232,
is in the Spamhaus
550-RBL.
550 See http://www.spamhaus.org/lookup.lasso for more information."
My SMTP server is not a spammer and Spamhaus is unresponsive to efforts to
correct their error. See message below from my email server, which includes
a link that describes problems with RBLs such as Spamhaus.
As long as Spamhaus is rejecting legitimate email with no recourse, I
request you stop using it, so I can use my project's email list.
From: "NetGate Support" <support@netgate.net>
Here is the situation:
SPAMHAUS is a maintainer of a Realtime Blackhole List (RBL) which is a
realtime database of IP addresses that they consider to sources of spam.
Some hosting services and internet access providers subscribe to this list
and use it to to block email in the hope of reducing spam.
At NetGate, we do not subscribe to any RBLs. We feel RBLs cause more
problems than they solve. Legitimate email is often blocked. It is nearly
impossible to work with the RBL maintainers. They have no rules they have
to follow. They can block whomever they please. If you get on an RBL, even
if by mistake, good luck getting removed. It is a completely arbitrary
system with no standards.
If you want to read about RBLs and their problems, look here:
http://theory.whirlycott.com/~phil/antispam/rbl-bad/rbl-bad.html
Several years ago, before he was a NetGate customer, the owner of an
account here at NetGate sold information to spammers that allowed access
to private systems to send spam. Clearly this was an improper thing to do.
However, this person was made aware of the negative aspects of that
activity and came to realize that this was something he should not do.
He has not participated in this activity for several years.
Since this person has been a NetGate customer, we have not received
reports of any spam related activity. From all accounts, he is trying to
run a legitimate business. It appears that the SPAMHAUS folks are blocking
the IP address of his host and all the IP addresses on our network just
because this person used to participate in spam related activities. We say
"appears" because we have been unable to find out from SPAMHAUS what is
really going on. We have sent multiple emails to them and have yet to
receive a reply. We find it appalling that someone could have their email
blocked because of something they did years ago. We also find it
ridiculous that SPAMHAUS blocked an entire network without communicating
with us before hand. Fascism at its best!
We are trying to work with SPAMHAUS to get this issue resolved. But that
will be impossible until they respond to our emails. Keep in mind that for
email to be blocked, the recipient's email provider must subscribe to the
SPAMHAUS RBL service.
Chris Ralston
Project Mailing Lists/Archives/Services
None
Public
|
Date: 2007-08-21 16:30
|
|
Date: 2007-08-21 16:03
|
|
Date: 2007-08-21 15:59 Logged In: NO |
|
Date: 2007-08-20 15:29
|
|
Date: 2007-08-20 14:25
|
| Field | Old Value | Date | By |
|---|---|---|---|
| status_id | Open | 2007-08-22 15:12 | cralston |
| close_date | - | 2007-08-22 15:12 | cralston |
| assigned_to | nobody | 2007-08-20 14:25 | burley |
| summary | email rejected by spamhaus | 2007-08-20 14:25 | burley |
Copyright © 2009 Geeknet, Inc. All rights reserved. Terms of Use