Zorin OS Icon

An OS designed for Windows users who want easy access to Linux

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
9
1
1
1
0
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • bamfgsf
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    sounds tempting to use

    Posted 10/23/2014
  • danyhkim
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    When Microsoft announced the end of life for XP, I tried out a number of different Linux distros to see if I could transition to one. Zorin-OS has worked very well for me. It is not too 'linux-y', and the support community is very friendly. Could use some kind of coherent documentation bundled with the install, but that's true for a lot of OS. Some people have trouble understanding that this is a operating system, and not an application. In order to use the .iso file after download, you need to burn the image file to a DVD. It is recommended that you burn it at the slowest speed your machine can support, to ensure a good transfer. Next, insert the DVD into your computer's drive and re-boot. You may need to load a one-time boot options menu or mess with BIOS settings to get your computer to boot to the DVD, but then you will be running Zorin-OS in LiveDVD mode.

    Posted 09/16/2014
  • maxxforge
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    i downloaded iso of zorin os 9 core(64-bit) edition. downloaded file size 1.40 GB. but still not able to getting install or autoplay file. Dont know wats wrong. I even tried in Daemon tool to make it virtual disc bt still the same problem..i download 3 times bt prb is same. plz smeone help.

    Posted 09/15/2014
  • dougusa
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I tried Zorin OS some time back, sorry I didn't end up digging it. By now every Linux distro should work with any with Dell WiFi "out of the box" or an easily discovered setting after a full install. Hell some distros work with dell WiFi as a live USB, I recall Joli OS works with dell WiFi even from a live CD with no effort at all if there's no Ethernet connection. Wile I'm a Linux neophyte, I'm not a computer neophyte in general, but 20 years post stroke I no longer have the patience with anything that's touted as great when it's not. In the event my dell mini 9 could support Windows 7 pro or windows 8.1 I would hesitate purchasing one them. Sorry if I stepped on the toes of Tux, but Linux has a ways to go when it comes to the end home computer user consumer market.

    Posted 08/19/2014
  • socretes
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have used multiple versions of Zorin over the years since Zorin 6 Ultimate. Even though I test out other distros... I nothing has tempted me away from Zorin. Currently using Zorin 7 Ultimate on my PC and Zorin 8 Lite on my netbook. The Zorin team has vastly refined and improved the look of Zorin over the years. Zorin 9 continues that 'steam' and its good.. very good. Well done.

    Posted 07/29/2014
  • sourceforge21
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Installed Zorin 9 flawlessly from USB. Used this method: unetbootin . sourceforge . net Good suggestion: During installation activate Wi-Fi. After installation reboot, wait for login menu screen, go to Advanced / Recovery option. Select Enable Networking, than select Check for upgrades, then File repair, then Recover disk space. You will have a shiny installation. Language: If you installing the system where two or more languages are used, select your second language during installation in Keyboard Settings. It will install automatically Language switch and all dictionaries for the Office. We left Windows some 3 years ago. Never missed it... Suggestion for respected developers - make Dropbox a part of Zorin. RC bags are discussed here: zoringroup . com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=7730

    Posted 07/03/2014
  • jonpier
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I think you have a winner here. While the install was long, it was not difficult. The features are terrific and I love how you can change the look. I opted for the Windows 7 look. Excellent job! After getting the updates downloaded and installed, I played with it. At first, I thought it seemed just a little slow, but the more I used it, the better it got. This system can compete with Windows 7 and should please many users.

    Posted 05/14/2014
  • w5wa
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's very similar to Win7

    Posted 05/12/2014
  • stiffroot
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    If any flavour of linux can take away microsoft diehards, this is it! Fast, easy to use, great for XP users. Would be great to have better instructions for more complicated apps!

    Posted 04/16/2014
  • asnider123
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really like this release!!!

    Posted 04/10/2014
  • colejohnson66
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great Linux distribution!

    Posted 03/26/2014
  • hartford3
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great window killer. LOL

    Posted 02/13/2014