Yet Another Duplicate File Remover Icon

beta

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
19
1
2
0
2
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 1 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • sjk101
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    program started and froze. turned computer on and off. Same thing. not good

    Posted 09/19/2014
  • heeppo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    # sylvester4, I think you had downloaded wrong version. The current version is V 1.0.0, which was released on 2013-04-24 (year ago). And you could downloaded a beta version modified on 2010-03-21, that's 4 years ago.

    Posted 08/03/2014
  • sylvester4
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Warning to those that stumble upon this program! Unfortunately, this program missed 2 important files from 93 test files of duplicates. This was in the importing processes of files from a directory into its own window. I tried every configuration and menu selection and gave the program a thorough test. To miss files is a major flaw. I have un-installed it. All those people who gave this good reviews have never tested it properly. It's never been updated from the first Beta over 4 years ago and should be removed from this site.

    Posted 06/16/2014
  • faymenda
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Just used this one.But DuplicateFilesDeleter is the one that I like most.It is a simple to use, but very effective tool to locate duplicate files in one or more selected search paths.It scans the files and compares them based on Byte for Byte Comparison, which ensures 100% accuracy. You can then choose to delete the selected duplicate or original files. The program is multi-threaded which enhances the performance immensely & performs scans very quickly.

    Posted 02/15/2014
  • antumdeluge
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've only just begun using this but so far I like it better than any of the others that I have tried. I'm more comfortable deleting files with it because it shows me the hashes. Many of the others failed to do this and some of them claimed that files were duplicates even if the hashes didn't match. It is much more simple to use than others as well. And open source is definitely a plus because I have more confidence that I am getting exactly what is advertised. Keep up the good work.

    Posted 12/11/2013
  • dmncnet
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Imho this tool is not comparing sizes before making hashes. For example I found 2000 duplicates (by TotalCmd) in folder of 8000+ files, different names, but same size and content. But tool has been making hashes for every file which is painfull with slow computer. Duplicate selector shall have just first/second/... option, but I'm happy for this, because tons of deduplicators are lacking selectors (most important feature). Anyway, happy to using it, thanks.

    Posted 11/21/2013
  • peacherwu
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A very elegant tool for duplicate find and removal. Computes the Hash values to compare files. Plenty dup removal options (you just need to be very careful there). Built-in support for image and video file types. And pretty fast. As compared to other sourceforge rivals: Duplicate Files Finder appears to compare files by size only (maybe I am wrong). And it's still a pain to remove dups. DUFF is just counter-intuitive and I gave up a try after installing at all.

    Posted 08/27/2013
  • perry85
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have once experienced a misery loss when I used a duplicate remover which cannot export a detail report. My company annual report and business budget, which took me several days to complete, were just deleted directly. To avoid such kind of loss, you need to use a duplicate remover that exports detailed report. Thirdly, supporting all kinds of removable devices is a consideration you have to think about. You could have a lot of unwanted files in your portable storage devices. With using a good duplicates finder that can finds and deletes duplicates in removable devices, you will easily clean up any worthless files in your iPod, iPhone, Zune, Zip, PSP, MP4 and so on.Get More Info At : www.ashisoft.com

    Posted 04/12/2013
  • elliotking
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    One of the easiest apps to use

    Posted 02/14/2013
  • calebbradley
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great product

    Posted 01/20/2013
  • aal63
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fast, stable, user friendly. Nice work!

    Posted 01/18/2013
  • zippos
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Shame this has not been updated since 2010 as it shows a lot of promise. Since then though people have much larger files and more of them and it seems to struggle. It keeps getting stuck when it is generating a file list, I have split it my files into smaller groups and deduped them but I still need to dedupe the files when I put the folders all back together and again it gets stuck for hours with no progress. The program is slow to load, I think this is because it does a scan of all the drives, It would be better to have it simple capture drive names and only scan them when a user chooses to access that drive. This would have the benefit of a fresh list of files (currently you have to exit and reload to get a fresh list - so a refresh button might be good). I have hundreds of thousands of files, I put snapshots on my removable drive and want to be able to reconcile if they become out of sync.Currently after it has taken a while to collate the list and do the haching, I tell it to highlight the files with the earliest creation date and I delete those files, I then merge the directories. However, what I would like to see it do is replace the file it deletes with a windows shortcut to the duplicate file. I would also like to see a report of files and folder structure along with a separate list with the actions take on each file in each the report.

    Posted 01/01/2013
  • williamwalton
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    yadfr works great

    Posted 12/18/2012
  • yanajohnson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really ultra FAST. Thanks!

    Posted 11/23/2012
  • oid-2994586
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very useful. I had 8 years of badly organised photos on an old XP machine on the other side of my network, and this helped me get rid of 6 Gig of duplicates. It took some time to analyse it all mind (2.5 hours!!!) but then across wifi onto an ageing XP machine, what do you expect. Deleting took a long time too. But this is a great tool. Does exactly what it says on the tin. (Couldn't install onto the XP box - .net too old and not worth hassle.)

    Posted 11/16/2012
  • colejackson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works, very small, no complaints.

    Posted 10/28/2012
  • williamhartman
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software, thanks yadfr

    Posted 09/14/2012
  • oid-3897110
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Finally, a tool that has the option to autoselect files to delete.

    Posted 06/28/2012
  • whitedon
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    excellent program of its kind, one of the fastest, with whom I have encountered!

    Posted 06/12/2012
  • handmadeson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I like this file finder.

    Posted 03/31/2012
  • aaronmathews
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    yadfr is fast and easy to use

    Posted 03/27/2012
  • sean_e
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice job.

    Posted 03/17/2012
  • sorensenbill
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works fast and it's easy to mass mark and delete the duplicates.

    Posted 10/27/2010
  • markdavies10
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A great little tool - I found it very handy. I also check a couple of reported duplicates with my other (bought) tool "Beyond Compare", and this sample confirmed working well. (Beyond Compare is a great tool but doesn't search/find duplicate files anywhere, just in two specific folders (and subfolders, like for like). Thanks violent_ken! (Although flower power is nicer than violence, duuuuuude! ;->)

    Posted 07/14/2010