beta

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
27
0
1
1
1
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • grahamatsf
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This can be used to access your Linux Desktop if used with x11vnc.

    Posted 10/23/2014
  • mgjk
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've used this project for years. A couple things I wish were better. E.g., that it might be able to take over an existing desktop session the way that Windows behaves. Or that the install was a little easier or better documented. A tip which saved me on CentOS 6.5 was to run in the foreground: xrdp --nodaemon& sleep 2; xrdp-sesman --nodaemon It can give you hints for the "cannot connect" errors. On CentOS i found that without the full desktop envrionment, it complained about starting X11... X11 was failing to start because xterm didn't have the right fonts. 5 stars on this because I use it every day and there's no competition. Once it is set up, it just works.

    Posted 07/29/2014
  • danieleunit
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great for remote access to linux desktop or server. Tested on Debian 7 and Ubuntu 12.04 LTS

    Posted 02/07/2014
  • stormnine
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    @bflance: I have xrdp running on several server platforms, including CentOS 6.4. Granted, in my case, I had to manually compile and install XRDP, but it worked after a bit of debugging. In our particular case, I use vnc4server as the backend layer, along with the 'libvnc.so' library, and a series of rules that I've created in "/etc/hosts.allow" & "/etc/hosts.deny" to block direct VNC connections. In each instance I've built out, I use XRDP's customizable menu to build a resolution selector, with each resolution associated with a particular VNC port number (example: 5900 = 1024x768; 5901 = 1280x1024; 5902 = 1440x900; 5903 = x11vnc-console session with password protection). I also combine this configuration with "crypt_level=high" to force all connection-negotiations to use 128bit encryption, end-to-end. The VNC service configuration is a bit tricky per platform, as each platform tends to have it's own nuances in regard to what it supports. But, in my configuration, I use xinetd for auto-spawning the VNC backend sessions, and within the xinetd.d scripts that I built for this purpose, I also have each instance set so that the client connection will receive the name of the system they've connected to as part of their titlebar text, which makes it really easy to keep track of what system you are connected into when you have several sessions open at once. I built this out as an RDP gateway from the start, and then even took that farther to integrate "guacamole", the Tomcat/RDP client that runs from a web browser. While I've ran into a few challenges where XRDP is concerned, I've overcome each of those challenges through extensive research, development, and debugging.

    Posted 09/04/2013
  • bflance
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hi All, nice app, works fine on Ubuntu 12.04. very easily installed via apt-get, also integrates with LikwiseOPEN which give ability to login to ununtu server via RDP using active directory username/password. however.. no matter what i did, and i already spent like 40+ hours on it, xrdp DOES NOT work on ANY redhat type machine.. tried Centos5/6, Redhat 5.8 and 6.4.. either Xvnc goes zombie (defunct) or some weird errors that "display is in use" or "connecting to 127.0.0.1 5910 - error problem connecting" - go figure.. its really shame that such nice ap doesnt support Redhat enterprise linux. it could be very nice addition in enterprise enviroment, especialy where very expensive products like X-win32 and Exceed dont provide much more than xrdp can do for free... if it was only Ubuntu i would give it 5 stars, but for now, rating only 2...

    Posted 08/30/2013
  • getut
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good software, but REALLY REALLY needs killdisconnected to be fully implemented in sesman.ini and work. This is almost a denial of service attack if used in anything other than a home user setting where many users are hitting the xrdp server and exhausts it of RAM.

    Posted 07/18/2013
  • tammypalazzo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 06/21/2013
  • cherylgardner
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very useful. Thanks.

    Posted 06/02/2013
  • elliotking
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    terrific program

    Posted 02/15/2013
  • danmartinez
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good program xrdp.

    Posted 01/21/2013
  • henrycollins
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software, thanks xrdp

    Posted 12/20/2012
  • ko4voq
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    What do you need? Only xrdp!

    Posted 11/18/2012
  • joshuaroberts
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice and simple.

    Posted 10/29/2012
  • evanrodrigues
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    small and efficient and gets the job done.

    Posted 09/16/2012
  • igorvainbergs
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good RDP server, still using it, thanks!

    Posted 07/12/2012
  • kitvalera
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good project

    Posted 06/03/2012
  • shebel6
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works perfectly! Thanks!

    Posted 05/31/2012
  • logangomes
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simple. Useful. Light.

    Posted 03/23/2012
  • oid-3781317
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you very much for the deb packages! I have wrote a short description (http://colinux.wikia.com/wiki/WUBI_installed_Ubuntu_10.04_LTS_with_xRDP_and_X11RDP) , how to use the xRDP/X11RDP deb packages with a WUBI installed Ubuntu 10.04, running it under coLinux as a Windows application or services (instead or alternate to the dual-booting) and use xRDP/X11RDP to get the Ubuntu-GUI on the Windows desktop.

    Posted 03/21/2012
  • shadychris
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent - had previously used version 4 which had big problems with UK keymap - my 3 and £ sign key was completely dead. This now seems to be fine in version 5. The option to login with X11rdp doesn't seem to work - gives errors about 16 and 24 bmp - but rdpVNC seems to be OK.

    Posted 03/05/2012
  • pdm1881
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    We install xrdp 0.6.0 onto most of our Linux systems, 200+ of them, RHEL-5 & 6. Works fine when connected. The problems happen when the connection is broken. You are supposed to be able to recapture the session, so long as you use the same graphics resolution, but this is not reliable. Orphaned sessions tend to pile up until the user can no longer log in. Using the graphical logout usually gets around this, but I'm not sure that's always the case. It's not enough to just kill off all that user's processes, because some of it runs as root. I wrote a 300+ line bash script to clean up problems of three flavors: 1. unused lock files to do with the VNC port 2. prompt for removal of entire sessions, when a user has more than one 3. name a user whose sessions are to be removed Why is this even necessary? Well on Windows, a given user has only one session. When you RDP in, you get the session - either new or take over an existing one. On Linux, a single user may have multiple sessions. Taking over one - even an orphaned xrdp session - seems problematic. We had an earlier version that did not even try, either 0.4.1 or 0.5.0. During testing, I have been able to reconnect with 0.6.0. Persistence is clearly desirsable - if you sit at a Windows system and it crashes (surprise!), you'd like to be able to recover your session. For some reason, sourceforge has xrdp 0.5.0. We deployed 0.6.0 to all systems in Feb, 2011. My associate, Jim, has the lead on providing the running version here - I think he got it directly from jsorg71 and then customized it for use here. I provide some final tweaks, deploy and support it.

    Posted 12/13/2011
  • oid-3641867
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    To "Walter A. Boring IV", nope, you can get full RDP goodness by also installing X11rdp. Andres posted a link to the article in question (I'm the author of that article and noticed a few referrals from here - thanks Andres!), and I also wrote a new an updated article with full instructions at http://scarygliders.net/2011/11/17/x11rdp-ubuntu-11-10-gnome-3-xrdp-customization-new-hotness/ which deals not only with Ubuntu 11.10, but with using the SVN version of x11rdp - meaning the Windows 7 RDP client also works, and you'll not be limited to just 8 or 16-bit colour depths. Regards! Kevin.

    Posted 12/02/2011
  • andresodio
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Pure genius! After compiling X11rdp and logging in with sesman-X11rdp, this is the fastest Windows to Linux remote access solution I have ever used. It blows away NX. Here are the complete instructions: http://scarygliders.net/2011/09/23/install-xrdp-and-x11rdp-the-comprehensive-howto-for-ubuntu-and-debian-based-systems/

    Posted 09/29/2011
  • dominicusinus
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    (h)

    Posted 05/12/2011
  • dragonautax
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent project!

    Posted 11/24/2010
Show next 5 reviews