User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
50
1
0
1
1
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • leoheck
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great tool for .pdf notes!

    Posted 07/05/2014
  • drdboehm
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I work with Xournal very often, mostly annotating existing PDFs. It is doing a great job. Nevertheless, I miss a search option so much. Bit it is stable, consumes less memory and less space for the annotations also. I would like to see more progress up to version 1.0. Thank you for sharing this toll. Kind regards Detlef

    Posted 07/01/2014
  • timidger
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great for taking notes in class! I used it my entire senior year of highschool with no fuss! Whenever I had to turn in homework, I just converted it to PDF (so I could interface with their Microsoft network). Though not as feature-packed as Microsoft's Onenote, it is a more than adequate replacement.

    Posted 06/28/2014
  • apb1963
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Seemed to work great on the surface, but there's a major horrible flaw. I spent many hours modifying a PDF file, but Xournal has it's own internal format which is of course unreadable by anything else. I forgot to save it as a PDF, and when I reopened the Xournal file, the entire PDF background was gone (it only saved my typing, the original PDF graphic form was gone). End result, I have to redo all of my work - in some other application I have not decided on yet. After it was too late, I noticed there were patches that have never been applied - sitting there since 2012. I do not think any of them applied to this bug. The worst thing about it, there does not seem to be anywhere to get support. I dare say this is a dead project.

    Posted 06/14/2014
  • ijontichy0815
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Top

    Posted 02/06/2014
  • repa
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have been using xournal for several years now, marking up student papers, using it in class to present and write on PDF's, and even as a quick drawing program to generate diagrams for an OpenOffice presentation. Helped me save many trees, the best notetaking program I ever used.

    Posted 07/23/2013
  • tfileme
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Xournal works perfectly.

    Posted 05/17/2013
  • darkmath24
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This software has got a lot of potential, but sadly, it is prone to lag issue in its win32 form. I would be ready to participate in a Kickstarter campaign to help the developper get the necessary funding to bring it up to speed, since i lack programming skills of any kind. This is quite a pity since tablet are getting performant software, but rather unprecise capacitive hardware capability, and PC is plague by the opposite, with affordable, basic wacom tablet and lacking software ( Windows Journal won't let you easily export/annote your handmade PDF). Xournal is the solution on PC, and i hope it will someday gets more interest. With a cloud option like Dropbox, you could work on either your tablet (when excellent touch/ stylus will arrive), or on your PC, without always have to manage files.

    Posted 04/10/2013
  • ziomaul
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Perfect to editing PDF

    Posted 03/22/2013
  • ianrichardson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great program xournal, thanks.

    Posted 02/13/2013
  • claytonser
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I work with xournal! its great! Its free! Waitting for new releases!

    Posted 02/12/2013
  • bitgossip
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Love this software!!

    Posted 02/05/2013
  • williamwalton
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    thank you xournal

    Posted 12/16/2012
  • quentelery
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Well done !! Very useful.

    Posted 12/09/2012
  • ko4voq
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I will recommend xournal to my friends

    Posted 11/18/2012
  • oid-4044299
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    excellent application!

    Posted 11/09/2012
  • orunal1989
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software.

    Posted 10/29/2012
  • calebburton
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good program xournal.

    Posted 10/26/2012
  • oid-4019534
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great project. I use it with python-whiteboard to project problems in my math class and xournal to show work. Export to pdf lets me save class notes to send to absent students.

    Posted 10/19/2012
  • quine999
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for the "image tool"

    Posted 10/19/2012
  • vasilievaa2013
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent work! Xournal works perfectly! Thanks!

    Posted 10/04/2012
  • benjaminbailey
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    fast download and works, recommended.

    Posted 09/12/2012
  • tumerictj
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Lean and effective. Could benefit from \LaTeX functionality.

    Posted 09/07/2012
  • igorvainbergs
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice application for linux, thanks!

    Posted 07/12/2012
  • sleepog
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    By far the best note taking app on the Linux environment! Now with v0.4.7 out it's even greater with features like lasso tool, image tool, more... Look forward to future development and support! Lenovo Thinkpad X220 Tablet -- openSUSE 12.1, kernel 3.4, GNOME 3.4.1, Tumbleweed

    Posted 07/08/2012
Show next 25 reviews