User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
51
1
0
1
1
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • bluesummer
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best note-taking and pdf annotating app I have ever used! The app is super lightweight and it works wonders on my old little x61; I have used Xournal for a few years already and I wouldn't be able to find any flaws in it: it has a lot of powerful features and doesn't waste resources with needless eyecandies. I have primarily been using it for taking notes during lectures and to fill forms and sign pdf files but the Xinput function makes it a good tool for basic sketching too. Last but not least is its cross compatibility with linux and windows. Seriously, I couldn't ask for anything better, thank you Xournal team!

    Posted 03/02/2015
  • leoheck
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great tool for .pdf notes!

    Posted 07/05/2014
  • drdboehm
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I work with Xournal very often, mostly annotating existing PDFs. It is doing a great job. Nevertheless, I miss a search option so much. Bit it is stable, consumes less memory and less space for the annotations also. I would like to see more progress up to version 1.0. Thank you for sharing this toll. Kind regards Detlef

    Posted 07/01/2014
  • timidger
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great for taking notes in class! I used it my entire senior year of highschool with no fuss! Whenever I had to turn in homework, I just converted it to PDF (so I could interface with their Microsoft network). Though not as feature-packed as Microsoft's Onenote, it is a more than adequate replacement.

    Posted 06/28/2014
  • apb1963
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Seemed to work great on the surface, but there's a major horrible flaw. I spent many hours modifying a PDF file, but Xournal has it's own internal format which is of course unreadable by anything else. I forgot to save it as a PDF, and when I reopened the Xournal file, the entire PDF background was gone (it only saved my typing, the original PDF graphic form was gone). End result, I have to redo all of my work - in some other application I have not decided on yet. After it was too late, I noticed there were patches that have never been applied - sitting there since 2012. I do not think any of them applied to this bug. The worst thing about it, there does not seem to be anywhere to get support. I dare say this is a dead project.

    Posted 06/14/2014
  • ijontichy0815
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Top

    Posted 02/06/2014
  • repa
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have been using xournal for several years now, marking up student papers, using it in class to present and write on PDF's, and even as a quick drawing program to generate diagrams for an OpenOffice presentation. Helped me save many trees, the best notetaking program I ever used.

    Posted 07/23/2013
  • tfileme
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Xournal works perfectly.

    Posted 05/17/2013
  • darkmath24
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This software has got a lot of potential, but sadly, it is prone to lag issue in its win32 form. I would be ready to participate in a Kickstarter campaign to help the developper get the necessary funding to bring it up to speed, since i lack programming skills of any kind. This is quite a pity since tablet are getting performant software, but rather unprecise capacitive hardware capability, and PC is plague by the opposite, with affordable, basic wacom tablet and lacking software ( Windows Journal won't let you easily export/annote your handmade PDF). Xournal is the solution on PC, and i hope it will someday gets more interest. With a cloud option like Dropbox, you could work on either your tablet (when excellent touch/ stylus will arrive), or on your PC, without always have to manage files.

    Posted 04/10/2013
  • ziomaul
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Perfect to editing PDF

    Posted 03/22/2013
  • ianrichardson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great program xournal, thanks.

    Posted 02/13/2013
  • claytonser
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I work with xournal! its great! Its free! Waitting for new releases!

    Posted 02/12/2013
  • bitgossip
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Love this software!!

    Posted 02/05/2013
  • williamwalton
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    thank you xournal

    Posted 12/16/2012
  • quentelery
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Well done !! Very useful.

    Posted 12/09/2012
  • ko4voq
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I will recommend xournal to my friends

    Posted 11/18/2012
  • oid-4044299
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    excellent application!

    Posted 11/09/2012
  • orunal1989
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software.

    Posted 10/29/2012
  • calebburton
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good program xournal.

    Posted 10/26/2012
  • oid-4019534
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great project. I use it with python-whiteboard to project problems in my math class and xournal to show work. Export to pdf lets me save class notes to send to absent students.

    Posted 10/19/2012
  • quine999
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for the "image tool"

    Posted 10/19/2012
  • vasilievaa2013
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent work! Xournal works perfectly! Thanks!

    Posted 10/04/2012
  • benjaminbailey
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    fast download and works, recommended.

    Posted 09/12/2012
  • tumerictj
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Lean and effective. Could benefit from \LaTeX functionality.

    Posted 09/07/2012
  • igorvainbergs
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice application for linux, thanks!

    Posted 07/12/2012
Show next 25 reviews