User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
24
0
0
0
0
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 5 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 5 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • arimeyer
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is great, thank you! Yes, I admit it, I like Windows Explorer, esp. the relatively intuitive keyboard traversal. Nemo, at least, doesn't really give me that. I do see that Xfe hasn't been updated in over a year now. Is this still being maintained? I would like to see an option, like in Windows Explorer, to remember the last view settings for an individual folder, while maintaining the default setting. Am I missing this? Update: I just found the option to enable Shift-Delete for permanent file/dir deletion. All good there, thanks.

    Posted 11/25/2014
  • nick064
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent file manager.

    Posted 11/12/2014
  • h3xx
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works really well.

    Posted 10/01/2014
  • mfd2hdx
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    At the sourceforge you can find the only distro with XFE as default file manager. The name of the distro is Debox. I make some tweaks at xfe and maybe the most important is the dificulty to create themes (the names of the icon files are diferent from gnome and kde). I hope that this will be fixed at the future. Gio

    Posted 08/08/2014
  • hk298
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've been using xfe since 2006 when I switched my desktops to Linux. Never found anything better (actually, I didn't search, there's no need to do so). Merci, Roland.

    Posted 11/30/2013
  • tfileme
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Xfe is excellent! Thanks.

    Posted 05/13/2013
  • frankzen
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    One of the best file managers I have ever used. Head and shoulders above Nautilus. It's blazingly fast and versatile.

    Posted 03/15/2013
  • elliotking
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    xfe, easy to use

    Posted 02/15/2013
  • ryanmatthews
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    xfe works great

    Posted 01/23/2013
  • carlmarz10
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    XFE is perfect for the light *nix user. It's has all of the functionality necessary without any extra baggage. Cleanly installed and locates it's /home/$USER files nicely. It even comes with a really fast, and lightweight text editor and image viewer for quick tasks on the fly. Easy to configure. Perfect.

    Posted 01/03/2013
  • lukashamilton
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fast and simple.

    Posted 12/21/2012
  • dbohdan
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    xfe is swift, very light (as I write it's using 2.4 MB RAM on Linux 3.2.0-33 amd64), has very few dependencies and has (to me) the most sensible defaults of any dual-pane file manager on *nix. For instance, xfe does quick search without you having to press any modifier keys and automatically displays file sizes in a human-readable format. The only downsides I can think of are that it can't automatically reuse elements of your KDE, GNOME or MATE theme like colors, icon or widgets, though you can change them manually (it's a natural consequence of it using the tiny "FOX" GUI toolkit), and the lack of tabs. Overall, highly recommended, esp. if you don't have a large DE and its libraries and don't want them.

    Posted 12/02/2012
  • isaacwood
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    no trouble to install and run, works nicely.

    Posted 11/09/2012
  • evanrivera
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    xfe is fast and stable

    Posted 09/15/2012
  • lucaskennedy
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    xfe works great

    Posted 03/27/2012
  • capitanh
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Never used another file manager after the first time I used XFE. Awesome

    Posted 11/15/2011
  • blinkenlichten
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Quick and awesome! Ukrainian translation coming soon (from me) :-)

    Posted 09/07/2011
  • cile87
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very professional!

    Posted 07/13/2011
  • oid-3349345
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best file manager ever.

    Posted 04/19/2011
  • lightning_rose
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fast, light, and intuitive. What more does one need?

    Posted 01/03/2011
  • vor0nwe
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    First and foremost: it’s fast! But the integration with popular distros could be better.

    Posted 10/18/2010
  • dathomp1
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Definitely the way to go. Does what it needs to do.

    Posted 04/14/2010
  • rbalasus
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is a very powerful and fast file manager. Thanks for your work! All the features are working very well. There is no need to search for other file manager since xfe is available. Randolf Balasus

    Posted 11/15/2009
  • zephyrsoft
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best file manager on Linux: unbloated and easy to use.

    Posted 11/04/2009