User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
51
0
2
1
4
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 1 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 1 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • just-pic-one
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This software is nice... Assuming you can get it to work for you. I read some of the reviews and I didn't want to take the risk of winavr overwriting my path directory, so I unchecked that option for the install. However, I couldn't use things like avrdude without changing the directory and running the executable. But, there is a work around that I want to share that could save someone a lot of time if they don't want to take a risk like me. Create a file called "winavr.bat" in "C:\WinAVR-20100110" with the following contents: set PATH=%PATH%;C:\WinAVR-20100110\bin;C:\WinAVR-20100110\utils\bin cmd If you want to use WinAVR, just simply double click on the .bat file and you'll be able to use avrdude, make, etc. I do not take credit for this. I would have just given the link, but I would never expect someone to click on a link in a review. Go to section 2.1.4 of this page: www.newae.com/sidechannel/cwdocs/installing.htmlokpoijoiu

    Posted 06/18/2014
  • endolith
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This deleted my windows PATH environment variable. It should not be possible to download harmful software like this. See SuperUser "How to extract environment variables from system restore point, Windows 7 64-bit" for instructions on how to recover your deleted PATH variable.

    Posted 06/11/2014
  • mumblingfumbler
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Apparently the developer is not aware that Windows software should be installed in 'Program Files' or 'Program Files (x86)'. By default WinAVR is installed at the root. He allows installation to the standard directories, but when you install to these directories, the tools no longer work (probably because the developer does not know how to handle spaces and '('/')' in paths. These are allowed in Windows but not in Linux. The easiest fix for this error is to install in standard directory, and then create a symbolic link at the root. (something like: mklink /D C:\WinAVR C:\Program Files (x86)\WinAVR), and then fix up the environment variables to point to the right place. Also, the avr-gcc -mstrict-X option is not supported in the latest trunk binary, which ends up breaking a lot of make files.

    Posted 05/03/2014
  • barton_c
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    CAUTION: The installer clobbers %PATH%. There's a path1.log file stored along side the uninstaller which you can use to rescue your %PATH% Environment Variable, but it will be deleted if you uninstall (in that case, your only recourse is to do a System Restore).

    Posted 03/19/2014
  • saumyamehta14
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    not working for windows 8.1 can anyone suggest anything plz nedd urgently to work on it

    Posted 12/15/2013
  • rusik1978
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for great project! Simply the best.Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/19/2013
  • vitalikklichko
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It saves my time. highly recommended

    Posted 05/13/2013
  • alexvinn11
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 04/15/2013
  • jimi78
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/09/2013
  • blaskrusik1978
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/05/2013
  • adriandavis
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Reliable and runs smoothly

    Posted 02/12/2013
  • loralueck
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very usefull and helpfull

    Posted 01/23/2013
  • cniweb
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great tool, thanks for all!

    Posted 01/23/2013
  • kalebhartman
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very easy to use winavr

    Posted 01/18/2013
  • thomasmcdonald
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software, thank you.

    Posted 10/25/2012
  • orunal1989
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice program.! Thanks for sharing.

    Posted 10/18/2012
  • louarnold
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This file for the current release (WinAVR-20100110-install.exe (28.8 MB)) has a virus: See VirusTotal File name: WinAVR-20100110-install.exe Detection ratio: 1 / 28 Analysis date: 2012-07-10 17:42:41 UTC ( 3 months ago ) Anti-Virus: Rising Result: Trojan.Win32.Generic.12875CCF The above date is well past the release date of the software.

    Posted 10/10/2012
  • mashtret
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awesome product, thanks for sharing!

    Posted 10/06/2012
  • elenostapen
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Amazing job. Thanks all You Rock!

    Posted 10/05/2012
  • johhkidd
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great

    Posted 09/30/2012
  • benjaminbailey
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    works perfectly.

    Posted 09/10/2012
  • jgiers
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is absolute crap. Instead of appending something to the PATH environment variable (Win7, 64bit) this installer overwrites it, leaving the rest of your system completely screwed. DO NOT INSTALL

    Posted 08/23/2012
  • biello
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great project with deep level of windows integration, but have some problems

    Posted 08/03/2012
  • diegoan
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very controversial, but a worthy program

    Posted 07/24/2012
  • electronicprj
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    As described in the manual, these folders will be added to the Windows' PATH environment variable: <InstallPath>\bin <InstallPath>\utils\bin I've installed it in Win7 64-bit and it works fine.

    Posted 07/06/2012
Show next 25 reviews