Win32 Disk Imager Icon

beta

A tool for writing images to USB sticks or SD/CF cards

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
41
2
3
2
10
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • gnulikeaboss
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent program! Works perfectly to create bootable linux USBs. Unfortunately, the Image File open function looks for .img files by default. Maybe you should add .iso to that list.

    Posted 05/11/2015
  • abisdad
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great, didn't work initially, but then used an USB SD card holder and it worked fine! :-) Would suggest a help pop-up suggesting this. Using a built in reader initially on an Acer Aspire S7-392 Ultrabook Thanks, Rob.

    Posted 03/09/2015
  • gwandad
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Worked perfectly on windows 8.1 as admin. THANKS FOR SHARING.

    Posted 03/01/2015
  • ptwalker
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I had to install as administrator on Windows 7, then I had to run as administrator or I received the same error as sihahamba. It is not the programs fault. Just need to run it correctly. Appreciate the program and will be using it to write images for the new Raspberry Pi 2. I haven't checked yet, but once the image is written and you start up the OS , you may be able to use a filesystem tool to expand the drive out to use the maximum space on the SD card.

    Posted 02/24/2015
  • digiswiss
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Brilliant, thanks! Install as Administrator, outside program folder.

    Posted 02/23/2015
  • desha01
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    thanks a lot

    Posted 12/14/2014
  • nuncio
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I use this to archive and duplicate main system disks on micro SD cards. This way I have a consistent disk image that can be version controlled. Thanks!

    Posted 11/19/2014
  • estol
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Perfect.

    Posted 09/29/2014
  • yegorich
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very useful tool.

    Posted 08/18/2014
  • niittymaa
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Lifesaver!

    Posted 06/24/2014
  • sod5061
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This program is fantastic. I was taken aback by how difficult it was to find a Windows program specifically to write .bin images to a USB drive, but this one does it beautifully. This was the answer to several workdays of headache. Very minimalistic UI, but chances are you're already familiar with image writing software capabilities - that's why you went out looking for this program in the first place!

    Posted 05/01/2014
  • mhanor
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent program. Simple and in working state, just what I need.

    Posted 04/17/2014
  • jpv50
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is really useful software for us. We do software development and we have scripts that generate linux filesystem images automaticaly and we make them available on an internal web server. People using windows machines can access the web server to download the linux filesystem image and use Win32DiskImager to write the linux filesystem image to a USB memory stick. They can then use the USB memory stick to update the embedded linux system we're in the process of developing. This software is great for us and has never given us any problems. We're currently using v0.8. There are a couple of feature request that would make it even better for us: first, the ability to verify that the image written to the USB memory stick has been correctly saved, and secondly, the ability to erase and reformat the USB memory stick after use so it can be used on windows again.

    Posted 03/20/2014
  • huangjs
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy and straightforward to use

    Posted 03/11/2014
  • anders49
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works just fine transferring img for beaglebone black from win7 machine Thank you for jour nice piece of work

    Posted 01/29/2014
  • a_walz
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This tool is very easy to use and reliable. Transferring my Raspberry Pi disk image to another SD card worked flawlessly. Thank you.

    Posted 01/01/2014
  • regcollector
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good software! For those who crying about “it spoils my drive”, etc.: do not let the simple interface blinds you, you are trying to accomplish a serious system job, be educated, be careful with options, watch warnings and other dialogs, do not rush, think twice! And everything will be fine with your hard drives, etc. The apps itself is statically linked, easy to use and doing what it is intended to do perfectly. Nice little buddy and useful tool. Good job and respect to the author. Thanks a lot for your time and effort!

    Posted 12/20/2013
  • nickologic
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good software -Use it to make Raspberry PI images to sd cards.

    Posted 07/29/2013
  • chrisstone
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The UI is pretty utilitarian, but it gets the job done... so you really can't complain too much.

    Posted 07/19/2013
  • aab523
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works great at an ok speed. Overall amazing program!

    Posted 06/15/2013
  • hannesbk
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    0.8 is really an approvement to 0.7 (startup time). But it's still not possible to make a backup if the image file does not exist. And I still like more the behaviour of 0.6: - Window position to default - Initial dir not set But as long as I cannot make new backups, I have to wait for 0.9 anyway. Still using 0.6.

    Posted 06/06/2013
  • xc8
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    v .0.8 fixes the "slow start" bug! Fantastic!

    Posted 05/17/2013
  • semarafunds
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I recently discover this specific awesome oral appliance super content over it! recommend anyone, give thanks to a good deal with this

    Posted 05/14/2013
  • hannes123
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Version 0.7 is a regress for me. It takes more than 20 seconds to start. And why is my user directory opened? Disk imager is so small, I place it near my images. The file dialog is flagged with "file must exist", unable to create a new file. I love the old version. But, sorry, 0.7 is useless for me.

    Posted 05/11/2013
  • elin1985
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very useful when I am instaling a lot of servers with diffrent os.

    Posted 05/03/2013
Show next 16 reviews