Win32 Disk Imager Icon

beta

A tool for writing images to USB sticks or SD/CF cards

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
40
2
3
2
10
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • sihahamba
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This does not even get to the stage of opening, never mind looking at my SD card. I apparently goes all the way through the installation program installing all the files but when I click finish it gives me the window: 'Unable to execute file c:\Program Files (x86)\ImageWriter\Win32DiskImager.exe Create process failed; code 710. The requested operation requires elevation.' No directory is created in the Program Files folder (tried both Program Files folder : x86 and non-x86) What alternative is there to this program that doesn't work! The above was all done on Windows 8.1. I moved to Windows xp and it all worked. Once again it is Windows - a computer that loses its midi capability at random with no reason and no way of adjusting it, that has no exit button on its 'tiles', no jack plug input for recording - where do I stop - grinds to a halt while it checks for non-existent network connections - how can you make something so much worse from something mediocre at best.

    Posted 02/18/2015
  • thriftee
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I think it changes the size of the SD card to the size of whatever you write to it, so if you put a 750 mb iso onto an 8 gb flashdrive, it reduces the size of the flashdrive to 750 mb. I found a way to reformat it back to 8 gb. Reformat it with antiX linux. I found out I had messed up 4 of my flashdrives with it so I went through all of them and reformatted all the ones that were "downsized". Maybe the program isn't intended to be used with flashdrives?

    Posted 12/31/2014
  • andybaker53
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have used this successfully in the past but this version generates an error when installing and doesn't work. Have tried it on 4 different computers, running Windows 7 and Windows 8.

    Posted 08/11/2014
  • old-amber
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This review is for the 0.9 version only. This would have gotten 5 starts from me if it had not destroyed my boot drive. Before you dismiss me as a n00b that can't follow directions, I have been a systems programmer since the early 80's and I know what I am doing. There is a bug in this version that appears (based on other reviews) to rear its ugly head only occasionally. It hit me and had I not had a RAID mirror running I would be looking at a system rebuild. I downloaded a live (bootable) image for a USB, pointed to it with Win32DiskImager and selected the only drive in the drop-down (the E: drive) which was correct for the very high quality USB that was inserted and fully tested for read/write. When I chose Write (which copies the iso image to the USB) it looked like it was running nicely. USB was blinking and the system appeared to be working perfectly. Suddenly the PC went dark. I am running Windows 7 Professional. The system would not reboot. I rebuilt the damaged disk using my RAID mirror and was able to restore a working system, but -- if I did not have this I would be facing a major system rebuild. Other than that, this is a nice neat program that is simple to use. If I had not experienced this behavior on my system it would be part of my toolkit. I liked the ease of use enough that I might try it again one day - when it gets a version upgrade and I have a spare machine with which I do not mind experimenting. Until then I cannot even tell you how the support system rates because I will not try it again on this machine. I would have liked to see a better help system with clearer messages. Also, the Browse function took a long time to come up on my machine so there may be some issues where this is a telling condition. If you try this program, I would like to advise you to do so on a non-critical machine. If you have a Linux machine of any flavor it may be better to just use that and do a DD copy (make certain you choose the correct device).

    Posted 03/05/2014
  • kevin234
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    utter crap bricked 3 micro cards done exactly what it said on the ******* instructions

    Posted 01/19/2014
  • asbjornm
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This software just overwrote my external USB hardrive, an 1TB WD MyBook.. First time I started it, it listed only my usbcard readers, second time, it listed only one usbcard reader, and my external drive (which was not listed first time), and selected the external drive first.. So beware of this thing.. And now I'm looking for something to rescue my drive..

    Posted 09/29/2013
  • chrisbedford
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It warns that "writing to a physical device [a Kingston DT101 flash disk d:] may corrupt it" but what else is the purpose of the software? ...and then it goes on to corrupt the flash disk. So, not much use, then.

    Posted 05/26/2013
  • pprincic
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Sorry to say but on my laptop I cannot write image to sd card, as I cannot select SDhost adapter where my SD card resides. Windows Vista see my SD card, and I can use id as disk with no problems. This program shows empty selection box for device. If I put in USB flash disk it shows as location where I can write Image, but SD card is not available.

    Posted 03/16/2013