Win32 Disk Imager Icon

beta

A tool for writing images to USB sticks or SD/CF cards

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
44
3
4
2
13
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • lieutenantlz
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excuse my language, but it fucking broke my USB drive...I had attempted to install a simple 4GB Linux distro on my USB. This resulted in my entire drive being corrupted and I can't use my partition manager to get any of the data back. DO NOT DOWNLOAD. Use Universal USB or something else that actually works and doesn't fuck up your stuff.

    Posted 08/23/2015
  • anion21
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    do NOT use this software! it is able to destroy hardware irretrievable. for more information: bugs.launchpad.net/win32-image-writer/+bug/1086520

    Posted 08/17/2015
  • stefan-krejci
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very simple and useful tool! Use it a lot to write the images to my Raspberry Pis, works fine every time!

    Posted 08/16/2015
  • markwd
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Dreadful piece of software. First attempt to write to an SD card failed at 74% complete. Failed to write to the selected SD card. Instead the program wrote to a USB storage device which was not selected and completely overwrote it.

    Posted 08/13/2015
  • sheridan-tech
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Extremely useful for flashing Linux images and making backups. I would really love to see it allow the use of internal/built in card readers. The addition of icons to the read write buttons could not only make the UI more attractive but make it more straightforward for those who use it less frequently. It's clear which to use, read vs write, but adding icons may make it seem more intuitive.

    Posted 07/14/2015
  • samodelkin666
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    ***ht#p://emacstragic.net/how-to-make-a-bootable-usb-stick-in-windows-7-of-a-debian-iso/*** - that man tried ISO too. And it works. So maybe type that inf about iso - for stop misunderstanding? also writed to Debian support, maybe you need too cooperate guys?

    Posted 06/15/2015
  • frizzledoldfart
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Selecting .iso files not intuitive. Messages before burn about making the USB device are scary. Decided not to use because I like mys USB devices to last for a little while at least

    Posted 06/06/2015
  • the_invincible
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    super tool :)

    Posted 05/30/2015
  • gnulikeaboss
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent program! Works perfectly to create bootable linux USBs. Unfortunately, the Image File open function looks for .img files by default. Maybe you should add .iso to that list.

    Posted 05/11/2015
  • abisdad
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great, didn't work initially, but then used an USB SD card holder and it worked fine! :-) Would suggest a help pop-up suggesting this. Using a built in reader initially on an Acer Aspire S7-392 Ultrabook Thanks, Rob.

    Posted 03/09/2015
  • adriantnt
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    On a Macbook Air with Windows 7 pro, it always gets up to a percent (I think around 70%) then it stops, tried man times, it doesn't fail immediately, so that you time is always wasted. On a Lenovo Thinkpad the backup was created properly, I am not sure how reliable the restore is.

    Posted 03/01/2015
  • gwandad
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Worked perfectly on windows 8.1 as admin. THANKS FOR SHARING.

    Posted 03/01/2015
  • ptwalker
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I had to install as administrator on Windows 7, then I had to run as administrator or I received the same error as sihahamba. It is not the programs fault. Just need to run it correctly. Appreciate the program and will be using it to write images for the new Raspberry Pi 2. I haven't checked yet, but once the image is written and you start up the OS , you may be able to use a filesystem tool to expand the drive out to use the maximum space on the SD card.

    Posted 02/24/2015
  • digiswiss
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Brilliant, thanks! Install as Administrator, outside program folder.

    Posted 02/23/2015
  • sihahamba
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This does not even get to the stage of opening, never mind looking at my SD card. I apparently goes all the way through the installation program installing all the files but when I click finish it gives me the window: 'Unable to execute file c:\Program Files (x86)\ImageWriter\Win32DiskImager.exe Create process failed; code 710. The requested operation requires elevation.' No directory is created in the Program Files folder (tried both Program Files folder : x86 and non-x86) What alternative is there to this program that doesn't work! The above was all done on Windows 8.1. I moved to Windows xp and it all worked. Once again it is Windows - a computer that loses its midi capability at random with no reason and no way of adjusting it, that has no exit button on its 'tiles', no jack plug input for recording - where do I stop - grinds to a halt while it checks for non-existent network connections - how can you make something so much worse from something mediocre at best.

    Posted 02/18/2015
  • thriftee
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I think it changes the size of the SD card to the size of whatever you write to it, so if you put a 750 mb iso onto an 8 gb flashdrive, it reduces the size of the flashdrive to 750 mb. I found a way to reformat it back to 8 gb. Reformat it with antiX linux. I found out I had messed up 4 of my flashdrives with it so I went through all of them and reformatted all the ones that were "downsized". Maybe the program isn't intended to be used with flashdrives?

    Posted 12/31/2014
  • desha01
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    thanks a lot

    Posted 12/14/2014
  • nightsoular
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    version 0.9.5. sobre win 8 64 bits. Me dejo inservible un pendrive de 8GB, no se puede formatear, cambio la capacidad. Volví a pasarle la misma versión con otra imagen distinta y dijo q escribió todo y lo mismo no lo lee, ni en el explorador de archivos ni booteando desde el pendrive. No solo no me sirvió para lo q quería sino q me daño el pendrive. Actualización: Use el EaseUS Partition Master Free para eliminar particiones y dejar el tamaño original del pendrive. Actualización2: Me aclararon algo q suponía, no es error del programa y tampoco me dejo inservible el pendrive. Sino que el programa al grabar la imagen raw modifica la tabla de particiones (answers.launchpad.net/win32-image-writer/+faq/1927). Para volver a usar el pendrive no alcanza con un formateo, sino hay q armar de vuelta la tabla de particiones para usar el pendrive con toda la capacidad. Además la no lectura del contenido grabado en el pendrive era por no instalar los drivers necesarios para leer particion ext3 en Win8 que era lo q contenía la .img grabada. Me parece muy baja la clasificación que había puesto así q la subo. Gracias por su respuesta.

    Posted 11/24/2014
  • nuncio
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I use this to archive and duplicate main system disks on micro SD cards. This way I have a consistent disk image that can be version controlled. Thanks!

    Posted 11/19/2014
  • estol
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Perfect.

    Posted 09/29/2014
  • yegorich
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very useful tool.

    Posted 08/18/2014
  • andybaker53
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have used this successfully in the past but this version generates an error when installing and doesn't work. Have tried it on 4 different computers, running Windows 7 and Windows 8.

    Posted 08/11/2014
  • crackero10
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    pelo jeito é bom(good).

    Posted 07/26/2014
  • niittymaa
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Lifesaver!

    Posted 06/24/2014
Show next 25 reviews