Violet UML Editor Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
26
0
2
0
3
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • arthurzam1
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best app for creating diagrams for projects

    Posted 11/04/2014
  • ajaimesv
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is an excellent application if you're not looking for all the bells and whistles that applications like Rational Rose have. It has exactly what you need to draw quick UML diagrams. The interface is clean and simple. The three things that I loved the most: 1. Application size (jar file) is so small that I can actually add it to my project folder, so in the future I will not suffer for not having the app for editing my diagrams. No installation needed! 2. Diagrams are saved in an HTML format... and the HTML file includes an embedded image version of your diagram! That really rocks! You don't even need the application to see your old diagrams! 3. Creating a diagram is super easy. You don't get lost in windows with dozens of options. Wish list: 1. Texts in the Class > Properties > Name field should be "centered". It works very good when you have just a class name, but looks strange when you add an extra line to it (like a stereotype). 2. Adding different class background colors. Exactly what I was looking for. Great job!

    Posted 04/07/2014
  • georger_br
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great job on 2.0.0! Printing works much better than in 0.21.1!

    Posted 11/14/2013
  • carloshugobaia
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Has all the essential features students need , easy to learn, easy to use !

    Posted 05/25/2013
  • jonahbishop
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great product violet

    Posted 02/15/2013
  • isaiahharrison
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good project violet

    Posted 01/21/2013
  • maxgomes
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great tool

    Posted 12/20/2012
  • echaouchna
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very usefull and really easy to use, thanks.

    Posted 11/17/2012
  • austinspafford
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy to use and works.

    Posted 11/09/2012
  • demidirin
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awesome app, thanks for sharing!

    Posted 10/21/2012
  • mashtret
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very helpful, fast and easy product!

    Posted 10/21/2012
  • panoviktori
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Wonderful project! Thanks for amazing work!

    Posted 10/21/2012
  • garles
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very interesting project!

    Posted 10/12/2012
  • davidswelt
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is an easy way to create (and teach) UML diagrams. Unfortunately, I can't use it because the diagrams can't be exported in a way that preserves sufficient quality - no PDF export, copy&paste to other programs simply doesn't work (and the bitmap export functions produce grainy results). It also uses non-standard and annoying save/load/print dialogs - this slows me down. Even if I switch to "Mac Look&Feel", menus and dialogs don't look right (for instance, Mac menus do not have icons). Pity! (Especially because I like Horstmann's books and will be using them in my class soon.)

    Posted 10/11/2012
  • blakewells
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    violet works nicely

    Posted 09/16/2012
  • ericphb
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've used Violet for several efforts, and found it to be a nice tool for drawing quick and dirty Use Case and Class diagrams.

    Posted 07/10/2012
  • mattedwards
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Love that its free

    Posted 03/23/2012
  • guyster
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simple, minimalistic, uncluttered. Therefore very good for quick sketchups. Although, the style of operation takes a bit to get used to.

    Posted 09/26/2011
  • poke53281
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I use Violet to create class diagrams, and I found it most efficiently. But as always, I have a wish: when there are more than four edges going from a node, I would like to move the edges end points on the node and also slide the edges themselve to keep them collision free. But maybe, this is already in the wish list labeled as "Free path edges"?

    Posted 08/16/2011
  • lout
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have looked all over for years for a UML tool like this. Don't know how on earth I missed this one. It is fantastic!

    Posted 05/12/2011
  • wujekzbyszek
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project

    Posted 02/20/2011
  • djlauk
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    To me Violet provides the quickest way to create UML diagrams. Violet does not provide every little nuance of UML, instead it provides most elements for simple diagrams. This makes me stay focused on the problem rather than on the tool.

    Posted 01/28/2011
  • knubble
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very user-friendly, you can make diagrams in a matter of minutes, even seconds after executing for the first time the program. Great.

    Posted 06/02/2010
  • oid-2781273
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simple and effective. No complex menus or wizards getting in your way.

    Posted 01/23/2010
  • oid-2739339
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very simple to use

    Posted 12/16/2009
Show next review