The USB/IP Project Icon

alpha

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
26
0
0
0
0
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 5 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 0 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • typhon
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    documentation for suse/ubuntu/windows is pretty spread over the internet as it's officially in the kernel but I got it working. (server on a SUSE linux and host on a Windows 7) One of my USB disks didn't work but our main usecase (a HW-debugger) did work! just some bluescreens in windows when terminating the windows program or disconnecting the USB device - but that's perfectly good for an alpha version! I don't want to stop using it anyway ;-)

    Posted 10/30/2013
  • tfileme
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for updates ;)

    Posted 05/11/2013
  • miraw
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It take me a whole day but still cannot work under windoes os. The version I used is usbip0.2.0.

    Posted 04/12/2013
  • jonahbishop
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very easy to use

    Posted 02/15/2013
  • lucashenderson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy to use and works.

    Posted 01/21/2013
  • dddaniel
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    hi, where to submit patches ? I wrote one for 2 windows driver problems: - hang on initialising some usb-strorage devices, because of ignored IRP_MN_DEVICE_ENUMERATED - invalid read lengths < 4 bytes on some urbs. Causes some devices to not respond on this urb.

    Posted 01/14/2013
  • sauliuslu
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great project! I was thrilled about running it on 8devices wireless board Carambola. It actually works!

    Posted 01/06/2013
  • lukashamilton
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good project usbip

    Posted 12/19/2012
  • ryanbishop
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Love usbip

    Posted 11/15/2012
  • seslie
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Perfect open source project!

    Posted 10/24/2012
  • svetnickol
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for great project! Simply the best!

    Posted 10/05/2012
  • masonbarnes
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    works great.

    Posted 09/16/2012
  • alsauser
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great solution to share USB among several computers!

    Posted 08/04/2012
  • john201222
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    dmesg -c [ 149.715441] usbip_common_mod: usbip common driver1.0 [ 155.797453] vhci_hcd: vhci_hcd, 1.0 [ 155.797844] usbip: proving... [ 155.797848] vhci_hcd vhci_hcd: USB/IP Virtual Host Controller [ 155.797943] vhci_hcd vhci_hcd: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 2 [ 155.798520] usb usb2: New USB device found, idVendor=1d6b, idProduct=0002 [ 155.798522] usb usb2: New USB device strings: Mfr=3, Product=2, SerialNumber=1 [ 155.798525] usb usb2: Product: USB/IP Virtual Host Controller [ 155.798527] usb usb2: Manufacturer: Linux 2.6.35.6-45.fc14.i686 vhci_hcd [ 155.798528] usb usb2: SerialNumber: vhci_hcd [ 155.798628] hub 2-0:1.0: USB hub found [ 155.798634] hub 2-0:1.0: 8 ports detected [root@hadoop1 src]# ls aclocal.m4 cleanup.sh config.log COPYING libtool missing AUTHORS cmd config.status depcomp ltmain.sh NEWS autogen.sh config.guess config.sub INSTALL Makefile README autom4te.cache config.h configure install-sh Makefile.am stamp-h1 ChangeLog config.h.in configure.ac lib Makefile.in usb.ids [root@hadoop1 src]# usbip -l 10.86.11.128 - 10.86.11.128 failed Package: kernel Latest Crash: Thu 19 Jul 2012 04:07:14 PM Command: not_applicable Reason: BUG: unable to handle kernel NULL pointer dereference at 00000008 Comment: None Bug Reports:

    Posted 07/19/2012
  • villakoni
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project

    Posted 06/03/2012
  • viktornalik
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good work

    Posted 06/02/2012
  • sircompo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A fantastic project, and works really well considering its still in Alpha. I hope development picks up soon ; this is a really useful tool for virtual environments, but could do with better documentation for n00bs like me, and some extra features (like the ability to publish all USB devices excluding the ones specified in a separate parameter). There's been talk of a Windows GUI which would also be great ; it'd be nice not to have to have the command prompt window open whilst the device is attached.

    Posted 05/16/2012
  • markthomas55
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Perfect job, many thanks for discussing

    Posted 03/24/2012
  • lukasbrown
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    works perfectly.

    Posted 03/23/2012
  • weiliming
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    it is what i want to find

    Posted 07/11/2011
  • giplikan
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This project is stable enough but without code activity at this moment. Works fine for me with ubuntu server and windows client

    Posted 01/20/2011
  • imago54
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Ported for OpenWrt could provide functionality of Network USB Hub (like the one sold by Belkin) to your USB enabled WiFi router.

    Posted 08/01/2010
  • jackiechau
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have installed the relevant windows driver and the system halts after running "usbip --attach server_ip device_id", can anyone tell me what's wrong? But the linux version works fine.

    Posted 06/24/2010
  • aksyonov
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    OK, but I want an option to give different usb devices to different clients basing on client IP-address.

    Posted 02/07/2010
  • oid-2729730
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    for windows installation make sure to read http://sourceforge.net/projects/usbip/forums/forum/418508/topic/3388551

    Posted 12/08/2009
Show next review