Universal Media Server Icon

Streams many media formats with minimal configuration

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
12
4
2
0
1
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • sv000008
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The Praise: Love this application. Just found it a few minutes ago and installed it. BRILLIANT. The Question: I have an ASUS OPlay media player. The video works perfectly but when I play audio files it plays ever song for 11 seconds then goes to the next one. I'm using the DLNA option of my ASUS. If I use the network share option and play the audio it works perfectly. This is of course bypassing the UMS completely and just logging into a shared folder on the computer sharing the files. Any ideas on sorting this will be greatly appreciated. Regards

    Posted 01/07/2015
  • fusecode
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I registered just to leave this compliment. Thanks for coding this for all of us to use. It works great with my sharp TV and I couldn't be happier. It was tough to find something for OSX Mavericks to work so seamless with DLNA!

    Posted 10/15/2014
  • ranger187
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awesome media server that handles just about every device out there!

    Posted 07/23/2014
  • mevensso
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    How great(er) can it be? I've been using PMS for several years. During the years there's been ups n downs. A couple of years ago I changed to UMS and I thought it was working as a charm. Had a few issues with 1080 movies, the computer couldn't get the hang of it. And the subtitles didn't always work. Well, could as much have been my own fault. So the other day I downloaded the new version. I have no words. The new UMS is perfect. I can play anything from my NAS or from the computer. Works like a charm! Thanks a lot.

    Posted 06/29/2014
  • unknownvt
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent - much better than the DLNA server of Windows Media Player/Center. Very fast browsing - so that any addition to an included folder is available virtually instantly without having to wait for libraries to be scanned. This single feature makes it much better than even the very popular Plex and XBMC. No problems with "classification" of media - WMP often mis-classifies media to "Other Media" so they become unavailable to receiving device. Trancoding - can play media on devices that may not support particular format - including displaying external subtitles. Simple elegant and WORKS!

    Posted 06/05/2014
  • jfreiman
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simple and easy to use. I can now stream videos to my Xbox 360 over wired connection (Ethernet) and to my Samsung TV over wifi without any hiccups. I love and highly recommend this app. :)

    Posted 05/22/2014
  • johnt6421
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    - just here TO TELL SUKRAM to SUKDICK.. How stupid can a person be. That is how damn dumb, ignorant and unpleasant to boot. Get lost.. then get a clue. you idiot. that is all.. keep up the great work, please. - JT

    Posted 03/21/2014
  • cantos42
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Installed and running in under 5 minutes. Works GREAT!

    Posted 03/13/2014
  • spots
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best media server available.

    Posted 12/01/2013
  • nurkamol
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice one of server, thanx!

    Posted 06/21/2013
  • dlubcdi
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software, thank you.

    Posted 06/20/2013