Universal Media Server Icon

Multi-OS DLNA-compliant UPnP Media Server

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
9
4
2
0
1
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • mevensso
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    How great(er) can it be? I've been using PMS for several years. During the years there's been ups n downs. A couple of years ago I changed to UMS and I thought it was working as a charm. Had a few issues with 1080 movies, the computer couldn't get the hang of it. And the subtitles didn't always work. Well, could as much have been my own fault. So the other day I downloaded the new version. I have no words. The new UMS is perfect. I can play anything from my NAS or from the computer. Works like a charm! Thanks a lot.

    Posted 06/29/2014
  • unknownvt
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent - much better than the DLNA server of Windows Media Player/Center. Very fast browsing - so that any addition to an included folder is available virtually instantly without having to wait for libraries to be scanned. This single feature makes it much better than even the very popular Plex and XBMC. No problems with "classification" of media - WMP often mis-classifies media to "Other Media" so they become unavailable to receiving device. Trancoding - can play media on devices that may not support particular format - including displaying external subtitles. Simple elegant and WORKS!

    Posted 06/05/2014
  • peter3-16
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Anyone can help me, i cant make UMS to work as a multi-plataform to all my devices, i have a PS3, a Samsung Smart TV and a Nexus 5, and cant find the correct configuration that make the program to stream videos to this devices correctly; The issues are that the program cant stream the spanish language from a dvd backup files whit multi-language options, same problem with the sub-titles, cant display anyone; How the configuration work from audio and/or subtitles correct display? Please help, i have a great DVD backups in my PC, but cant see it in my tv, PS3 or my smartphone. TKS.

    Posted 05/27/2014
  • jfreiman
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simple and easy to use. I can now stream videos to my Xbox 360 over wired connection (Ethernet) and to my Samsung TV over wifi without any hiccups. I love and highly recommend this app. :)

    Posted 05/22/2014
  • johnt6421
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    - just here TO TELL SUKRAM to SUKDICK.. How stupid can a person be. That is how damn dumb, ignorant and unpleasant to boot. Get lost.. then get a clue. you idiot. that is all.. keep up the great work, please. - JT

    Posted 03/21/2014
  • ecurbnosneb
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Brilliant. Best DLNA server I've tried so far (nas4free, freenas, XBMC, plex, WMP, WMC etc). The windows version was easier to work with then the linux headless (ie, no gui). Strangely on either version the best performance (on cpu and memory) came when I turned off all transcoding. Transcoding would all but pin the CPUs on my windows home server (dual hyperthreaded atom) or linux 11 on hyper-v (quad core). While this obviously reduces flexibility (ie, can't stream to as many clients) I used Skifta + VLC on my Samsung Galaxy S and Kindle Fire (original) and performance over my wifi N 300 network is (so far) flawless with server CPUs only showing a few percentage points increase when playing movies (mp4, m4v, encoded using handbrake defaults). Update: I can't get transcoding (movies, web videos such as TED) to work well. They run for a few minutes max, and then quit. Still meets my needs, since I don't need transcoding, but I backed off my ratings a bit.

    Posted 03/20/2014
  • mscritsm
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I was surprised how well it worked and how easy it was to install (on Windows in my case). It still has some rough edges, though. Most of the time the video was as good as what I've seen from commercial products like playon, but occasionally there were glitches and brief digital "blocking". Also, it couldn't scan large directories with hundreds of videos without timing out. I wish it could support commercial streaming services like Netflix and Amazon, but because it's open source I suspect these companies won't allow it because too much of their inner workings would become available (for example, somebody modifying the code to copy the decoded stream). But all my DLNA devices saw it and streamed from it. It also put all my drives online without having to add them first, a plus.

    Posted 03/19/2014
  • s7eele
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is truly awesome software, I have been using it for years and years to serve every audio and video file in my local media library to my PS3, Sony Bravia TV, Iphone 4 and android phone. Works great for streaming files from my pc to other devices but it also earns high praise from me for allowing access to XBMC Add-Ons running on my pc from my PS3. I use my PS3 to access the XBMC add-ons to find the media I want, it then converts it to the right format as necessary and plays it as if it were a file local to the PS3. Sorry it was so wordy, hope I got my point across. Much longer review than I expected to write but I really do not know how I would have survived the past few years without this application. @sukram - not sure what you installed but I can assure you that Universal Media Server is not a hoax of any kind. Peace!

    Posted 03/18/2014
  • sk8n8or
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I won't even pretend to have a handle on UMS. I know I've wanted something like this since I started streaming. I've got PLEX & Playon and Servio and others but Universal is IT. No expert but I'm streaming from a MVGroup Documentary through UMS as I type this--started 40 minutes ago. Quality is Excellent. This is gonna kick some major ass is my "at first look" assessment. I just have no idea about the Support but it should be a "Mind Hive" project..i.e., WE are/will be the support--with Main Players leading the way, of course.

    Posted 03/17/2014
  • cantos42
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Installed and running in under 5 minutes. Works GREAT!

    Posted 03/13/2014
  • spots
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best media server available.

    Posted 12/01/2013
  • simonvenders
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Interesting soft!

    Posted 07/29/2013
  • nurkamol
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice one of server, thanx!

    Posted 06/21/2013
  • dlubcdi
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software, thank you.

    Posted 06/20/2013