uniCenta POS Icon

uniCenta POS

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 (82) Read Reviews | Last Updated
Windows Mac Linux
Back to Project

Reviews (82)

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
71
4
1
0
6
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5

Highest Rated

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

Nice to see this project being actively maintained again. Excellent for a single-station POS, documentation still needs work for explaining how to connect several POS stations to a central database, and how to set up an inventory-control terminal.

n5iln
vs

Lowest Rated

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

Installer does not run on latest version of OS X (10.3.8) Fails to detect Java Runtime Environment. Verified that current, working JRE is v 1.7, but installer does not detect properly. Cannot install software on latest OS X.

ideasite
  • tekmason
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    An excellent POS system that does a lot with out of the box with the standard configuration. With some technical skills a little effort you can customize it to do almost anything.

    Posted 12/14/2014
  • sbandur84
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best open source POS in solar system :) ! Eager to get uniCenta POS 3.80 release source code to work on my fork. Thank You uniCenta crew!

    Posted 10/09/2014
  • estimus
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Amazed by uniCenta oPOS! Took the leap into open source for first time with version 3.6 and no regrets. We use in three countries and six stores and it's rock-solid. Saved us thousands of euros so donated some of that saving back to uniCenta to help keep this great project going. Would give more stars if I could

    Posted 06/24/2014
  • ch-leonidas
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It is the basis for the best POS around!

    Posted 06/18/2014
  • partyp
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've been so pleased with this software. I've been using it for over a year now and when I recently ran an update and had a few problems the support from Unicenta was great. I use Unicenta for my small shop and it has made everything so much easier. The support/ website and forum have just kept developing and improving, huge credit to the developer. Fabulous product and amazing that it is offered for free.

    Posted 05/15/2014
  • jules1973
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Having worked in the POS industry for a long time, this is an extremely useful and agile little POS system. Everyone will always want something that the software doesn't have for their particular circumstances in their particular business. This one is highly customisable and stable, and the developers have worked hard over each release to make things easier. If you are having trouble getting it to work for you and can't find the answer in the documentation, try the forums - all the answers are there. Don't forget, this is a free system, but you really should give the developers a little bit of money if you are using it.

    Posted 05/15/2014
  • martynbristow
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Brilliant software, complete customisation Its designed to be run on all sorts of hardware, it can be fiddly but thats just because its such a flexible solution

    Posted 04/30/2014
  • statewidetech
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    BAD A SOFTWARE BAR NONE SIR!!!!! Quick request... can you make the barcode scanning like how it was with Openbravo? You scan whatever code you want and the sale screen sees it. Here in the US There are still TONS of UPC-E and A codes running around and they will not change anytime soon, also it restricts the ability for us US users to scan products and creates confusion. Please update the barcodes to be whatever is scanned and no barcode type checking. like OpenBravo did.... "AS-IS" straight through and done

    Posted 04/18/2014
  • danielquatz
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    With a short learning curve, this piece of software meets if not surpasses all expectations for a point of sale solution. it was easy to install and use so we had it operational within 10 minutes. the surface boasts simple settings and interfaces for anyone to get it off the ground with in depth tools and resources for administrators and implementors. all in all, i love this software.

    Posted 03/16/2014
  • fabiangont
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    simply is the best

    Posted 03/11/2014
  • jgerrard
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Response to lagunaloire Sorry to disappoint - new site evolving... since 1 March 2014 230,000+ other people haven't been. Do you think I should make the big blue button that says "Request Download link" bigger? Jack Gerrard uniCenta

    Posted 02/27/2014
  • stefan-at
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best opensource POS

    Posted 02/18/2014
  • jonzarco
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Perfectly suited for full customization, amazing work in progress. Most recommended :)

    Posted 02/18/2014
  • rhmacedos
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Teh best open-source POS in the world! Is Multi-store, and very useful.

    Posted 02/12/2014
  • blackangelpr
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best Working POS Under Ubuntu!

    Posted 12/23/2013
  • rtimmerman1999
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Amazing features for a free POS system. Works great and pretty fast, it's just wonderful!

    Posted 12/22/2013
  • tagem
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    5 Stars!!!!!!!! This is one of the best pieces of opensource software I ever worked with.... You can run a complete store with multiple POS stations with this! It looks great and works like a charm including customer displays and ticket printers. Also the reporting functions are very usefull. Keep up the good work guys! Tag (a happy Unicenta user)

    Posted 12/21/2013
  • pnhcream
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I use uniCenta on Ubuntu for an Ice Cream Truck. This is the best after looking at numerous pos software, nothing compares. Great inventory control, also taxes included. I would recomend to everyone. This software will work in almost all situations.

    Posted 11/20/2013
  • echo419101
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works Great And as Expected.

    Posted 10/27/2013
  • alienairsoft
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Lo recomiendo!

    Posted 08/26/2013
  • jos0405
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Amazing piece of software. Its perfect in a multi-pos, multi-store environment. Very active community, great support.

    Posted 08/25/2013
  • bloggins
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Runs well on Centos 6.4

    Posted 06/21/2013
  • williamdanis
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great stuff.

    Posted 06/19/2013
  • ivanhutchins
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Unicentaopos works perfect.

    Posted 06/02/2013
Show next 25 reviews