uniCenta POS Icon

uniCenta POS

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 (84) Read Reviews | Last Updated
Windows Mac Linux
Back to Project

Reviews (84)

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
72
5
0
0
7
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5

Highest Rated

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

Nice to see this project being actively maintained again. Excellent for a single-station POS, documentation still needs work for explaining how to connect several POS stations to a central database, and how to set up an inventory-control terminal.

n5iln
vs

Lowest Rated

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

Installer does not run on latest version of OS X (10.3.8) Fails to detect Java Runtime Environment. Verified that current, working JRE is v 1.7, but installer does not detect properly. Cannot install software on latest OS X.

ideasite
  • swissinvestor
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    update, next problem. After having solved the Java problem, I am unable to install the localization files (de in my case). Whenever I extract the language pack or copy/paste the files, it installs them on OSX 10.9.1 as "unix executable files" instead of as "documents". Update: managed to install as documents now, but Unicenta still does not change the language. It is impossible to change the language as Unicenta cannot read the files. I go back to my 1Star verdict. Update: Java 1.7 JRE definitely does not work in OSX 10.9.1. However, I found out that installing the developer versions Java 1.7 JDK does the trick. It is visible to Unicenta and allows installation on new MacBooks. So I upgraded to 3 stars and if all else works also I may add a few additional stars. However, this problem should really be mentioned in the release notes as most MacUsers will give up before finding this solution Unicenta 3.56 installer does not work on the latest Mac OSX 10.9.1 with the follwing error message: "There may be an issue with your Java installation. Please correct it and return to uniCenta oPOS install when done.0" Java 1.7 JRE is however installed correctly on my machine.

    Posted 12/22/2013
  • rtimmerman1999
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Amazing features for a free POS system. Works great and pretty fast, it's just wonderful!

    Posted 12/22/2013
  • tagem
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    5 Stars!!!!!!!! This is one of the best pieces of opensource software I ever worked with.... You can run a complete store with multiple POS stations with this! It looks great and works like a charm including customer displays and ticket printers. Also the reporting functions are very usefull. Keep up the good work guys! Tag (a happy Unicenta user)

    Posted 12/21/2013
  • pnhcream
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I use uniCenta on Ubuntu for an Ice Cream Truck. This is the best after looking at numerous pos software, nothing compares. Great inventory control, also taxes included. I would recomend to everyone. This software will work in almost all situations.

    Posted 11/20/2013
  • echo419101
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works Great And as Expected.

    Posted 10/27/2013
  • alienairsoft
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Lo recomiendo!

    Posted 08/26/2013
  • jos0405
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Amazing piece of software. Its perfect in a multi-pos, multi-store environment. Very active community, great support.

    Posted 08/25/2013
  • bloggins
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Runs well on Centos 6.4

    Posted 06/21/2013
  • williamdanis
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great stuff.

    Posted 06/19/2013
  • ivanhutchins
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Unicentaopos works perfect.

    Posted 06/02/2013
  • angelinagrom
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks very good project! +

    Posted 05/30/2013
  • tfileme
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Unicentaopos is good! Thanks.

    Posted 05/17/2013
  • jed0001
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Totally Awesome! Support is wonderful! It does everything we want it to do!

    Posted 04/23/2013
  • don_c
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fairly steep learning curve and a bit thin on documentation but when you get into it a very good system. Can be customised extensively even without tackling the source code.

    Posted 04/22/2013
  • ideasite
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Installer does not run on latest version of OS X (10.3.8) Fails to detect Java Runtime Environment. Verified that current, working JRE is v 1.7, but installer does not detect properly. Cannot install software on latest OS X.

    Posted 04/19/2013
  • teenlok
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best PoS software. Stable and Reliable. Good UI. Reporting good and customisable. Active Community supoort

    Posted 04/15/2013
  • headgone
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    anyone knows how to open it in mac after installation? can't find a launch button..

    Posted 04/14/2013
  • jimi78
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/09/2013
  • blaskrusik1978
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/05/2013
  • ioangogo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    this program/java app is good but it will be better if it uses the second screen for the costomer display

    Posted 02/20/2013
  • adamsilva
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy to install and use.

    Posted 02/15/2013
  • naser78
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    running smooth on my system, good..

    Posted 02/12/2013
  • davidsha
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    uniCenta OPOS hat sich während meiner Testphase bewährt. Konkurrierende mit bezahlten für Systeme, erfüllt diese wunderbare Anwendung meine Anforderungen und ermöglicht Anpassbarkeit, dass die meisten für diejenigen gezahlt fehlt. Dieser Entwickler hört, reagiert und agiert. Scheint nicht nur bereit sein, um die Anwendung besser, aber noch unterstützt die Minderheit. Ich empfehle die Anwendung und die Entwickler für jede Auszeichnung Forderungen

    Posted 02/09/2013
  • danmartinez
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    thank you unicentaopos

    Posted 01/21/2013
  • turalo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    yes Unicenta pos is one of the best, or maybe even the best free pos software right now. I have experienced only 1 problem, that's opening the cashdrawer via Epson TM-88 printer that's shared on the network. The ticked prints well but cashdrawer is not working. So now I have to install separate printer on unicenta PC, to make it work 100% Further I can say this is the best software I know Unitll now, pro's : verry fast start, you can be up and runing in minutes, config and product management is so easy that everyone can do it. Specialy adding categories, products, and touchscreen functionality is wel builth, so buttons are wel positioned etc.. cons : The personalization configuration is not easy, you have to do somethings by hand in config files, that are dificult to find, some of them are named but are not there so it lacks good documentation and configuration options are onlye for few settings in the Gui, others you have to search for. The software lacks support for the most known ticket printers and cash-drawers, in my case for example Plexis POS (which is commercial) can print tickets and open any cash drawer true the printer righway, you just select in menu and clisk save. and it works no mather it's directly connected or true the Networks, while in Unicenta you have te option to select the printer, but no settings for cashdrawer, and if the printer is on the network not directly connected then the cashdrawer would not open. And tickets are printed wrongly, so must set all settings by hand in config files. On the other hand Plexis is a pain in the ass to configure, is very stupidly built, not user frendly while configuring. In any case my choise is still with UNICENTA. I will somehow figure out the cash drawer problem and will recommend it to all my customers. (althow the support team is not really supportive.)

    Posted 01/13/2013
Show next 25 reviews