uniCenta POS Icon

uniCenta POS

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 (91) Read Reviews | Last Updated
Windows Mac Linux
Back to Project

Reviews (91)

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
78
6
0
0
7
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5

Highest Rated

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

Nice to see this project being actively maintained again. Excellent for a single-station POS, documentation still needs work for explaining how to connect several POS stations to a central database, and how to set up an inventory-control terminal.

n5iln
vs

Lowest Rated

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

Installer does not run on latest version of OS X (10.3.8) Fails to detect Java Runtime Environment. Verified that current, working JRE is v 1.7, but installer does not detect properly. Cannot install software on latest OS X.

ideasite
  • lagunaloire
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It is not Open Source the source code is nowhere in nothing place. Where is the source code from 2010 to today??? The web site say: "Direct download of uniCenta oPOS source code is temporarily suspended whilst we finish our new site." When? How many time that message was there? And the other option is "Register to download uniCenta oPOS source code" When I click to register, the site says "User registration is currently not allowed." So, where are the source code? lol

    Posted 03/05/2014
  • jgerrard
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Response to lagunaloire Sorry to disappoint - new site evolving... since 1 March 2014 230,000+ other people haven't been. Do you think I should make the big blue button that says "Request Download link" bigger? Jack Gerrard uniCenta

    Posted 02/27/2014
  • jimat4dvideo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This looks like a good product, but I can't get past first base. I'm trying to install Version 3.56 under Windows 7, but the startup file (start.bat) can't find "javaw". I've stripped Java from the machine and run various cleaners and uninstall programs to ensure nothing has been left behind. I've then restarted the machine and reinstalled Java (Version 7u51). I've checked that it is installed correctly, then tried to run the POS application, but still it can't find "javaw" on the machine. When I search for this routine, I can find "javaws", but not "javaw". Is there a typo in the .bat file? Anyway, I can't use software that is going to produce these kinds of errors in a critical commercial environment. On the outside, it looks like it meets my needs exactly, but I'm not going to recommend it to a client until I can test it and make sure it is rock solid. Sorry -- 1 star, and that's overkill at this point. ***** ***** jgerrard ... thanks for your response. I've downloaded your binary, I've run the Java uninstaller and been told that "there are no old versions of Java" on my machine. The uninstalled also reported that I have the latest version (V7u51) correctly installed. I can find the java install in: c:/Program Files (x86)/Java/jre7/bin I can see java.exe, javaw.exe and javaws.exe in this directory but when I specify this directory as the appropriate java installaion to use, your program opens a command window then immediately tells me it can't find javaw. ***** ***** I don't mean to be critical, but I have a software background and I'm having a devil of a time trying to get this program running. I can't imagine how the average small business operator would deal with these issues. I want a TOOL I can use to run a business. I don't want to be fiddling with the tool and dealing with software issues. I still don't know why your program won't load--and I have no way to debug it--without getting into the source code. You say I have problems with Java. Oracle says Java V7u51 is installed correctly ... how much more time do I spend on this? ****************************************************** FOLLOW UP: ****************************************************** After spending some time debugging the initial install, I discovered that the folder described above was NOT in my ENVIRONMENT %PATH% file. While you may argue this is a flaw in the Java install (which I believe is true), I also believe this is something you should be checking (ASSERT) before trying to access "javaw.exe". The average store owner is not going to know how to debug this kind of error. All he/she gets is "Windows cannot find javaw.exe". (When I specified where to find java, your installer obviously didn't add the appropriate folder to %PATH% in my environment files.) The Product looks good so far, but I've yet to exercise it fully. I've upgraded my rating now that I can run the program. ********************************************************

    Posted 02/26/2014
  • stefan-at
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best opensource POS

    Posted 02/18/2014
  • jonzarco
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Perfectly suited for full customization, amazing work in progress. Most recommended :)

    Posted 02/18/2014
  • rhmacedos
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Teh best open-source POS in the world! Is Multi-store, and very useful.

    Posted 02/12/2014
  • blackangelpr
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best Working POS Under Ubuntu!

    Posted 12/23/2013
  • swissinvestor
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    update, next problem. After having solved the Java problem, I am unable to install the localization files (de in my case). Whenever I extract the language pack or copy/paste the files, it installs them on OSX 10.9.1 as "unix executable files" instead of as "documents". Update: managed to install as documents now, but Unicenta still does not change the language. It is impossible to change the language as Unicenta cannot read the files. I go back to my 1Star verdict. Update: Java 1.7 JRE definitely does not work in OSX 10.9.1. However, I found out that installing the developer versions Java 1.7 JDK does the trick. It is visible to Unicenta and allows installation on new MacBooks. So I upgraded to 3 stars and if all else works also I may add a few additional stars. However, this problem should really be mentioned in the release notes as most MacUsers will give up before finding this solution Unicenta 3.56 installer does not work on the latest Mac OSX 10.9.1 with the follwing error message: "There may be an issue with your Java installation. Please correct it and return to uniCenta oPOS install when done.0" Java 1.7 JRE is however installed correctly on my machine.

    Posted 12/22/2013
  • rtimmerman1999
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Amazing features for a free POS system. Works great and pretty fast, it's just wonderful!

    Posted 12/22/2013
  • tagem
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    5 Stars!!!!!!!! This is one of the best pieces of opensource software I ever worked with.... You can run a complete store with multiple POS stations with this! It looks great and works like a charm including customer displays and ticket printers. Also the reporting functions are very usefull. Keep up the good work guys! Tag (a happy Unicenta user)

    Posted 12/21/2013
  • pnhcream
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I use uniCenta on Ubuntu for an Ice Cream Truck. This is the best after looking at numerous pos software, nothing compares. Great inventory control, also taxes included. I would recomend to everyone. This software will work in almost all situations.

    Posted 11/20/2013
  • echo419101
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works Great And as Expected.

    Posted 10/27/2013
  • alienairsoft
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Lo recomiendo!

    Posted 08/26/2013
  • jos0405
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Amazing piece of software. Its perfect in a multi-pos, multi-store environment. Very active community, great support.

    Posted 08/25/2013
  • bloggins
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Runs well on Centos 6.4

    Posted 06/21/2013
  • williamdanis
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great stuff.

    Posted 06/19/2013
  • ivanhutchins
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Unicentaopos works perfect.

    Posted 06/02/2013
  • angelinagrom
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks very good project! +

    Posted 05/30/2013
  • tfileme
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Unicentaopos is good! Thanks.

    Posted 05/17/2013
  • jed0001
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Totally Awesome! Support is wonderful! It does everything we want it to do!

    Posted 04/23/2013
  • don_c
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fairly steep learning curve and a bit thin on documentation but when you get into it a very good system. Can be customised extensively even without tackling the source code.

    Posted 04/22/2013
  • ideasite
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Installer does not run on latest version of OS X (10.3.8) Fails to detect Java Runtime Environment. Verified that current, working JRE is v 1.7, but installer does not detect properly. Cannot install software on latest OS X.

    Posted 04/19/2013
  • teenlok
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best PoS software. Stable and Reliable. Good UI. Reporting good and customisable. Active Community supoort

    Posted 04/15/2013
  • headgone
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    anyone knows how to open it in mac after installation? can't find a launch button..

    Posted 04/14/2013
  • jimi78
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/09/2013
Show next 25 reviews