uniCenta POS Icon

uniCenta POS

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 (82) Read Reviews | Last Updated
Windows Mac Linux
Back to Project

Reviews (82)

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
71
4
1
0
6
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5

Highest Rated

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

Nice to see this project being actively maintained again. Excellent for a single-station POS, documentation still needs work for explaining how to connect several POS stations to a central database, and how to set up an inventory-control terminal.

n5iln
vs

Lowest Rated

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

Installer does not run on latest version of OS X (10.3.8) Fails to detect Java Runtime Environment. Verified that current, working JRE is v 1.7, but installer does not detect properly. Cannot install software on latest OS X.

ideasite
  • tekmason
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    An excellent POS system that does a lot with out of the box with the standard configuration. With some technical skills a little effort you can customize it to do almost anything.

    Posted 12/14/2014
  • ednanda
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    really good for open source software :), though it still has some little bug or less feature, overall, it is great!

    Posted 12/09/2014
  • sbandur84
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best open source POS in solar system :) ! Eager to get uniCenta POS 3.80 release source code to work on my fork. Thank You uniCenta crew!

    Posted 10/09/2014
  • samer3
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great program and beautiful design lacks only add a feature expiration date materials and print barcode labels enter numbers manually when it does not print the barcode when entering numbers manually

    Posted 07/14/2014
  • hasu-kam
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Brilliant project, been playing around for 4 months and now installed it live at 2 sites, still learning how do do things, I am not a programmer, just someone that knows very little how Java and codes work, and with the help of the forum I managed to get most of my questions answered.

    Posted 06/27/2014
  • estimus
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Amazed by uniCenta oPOS! Took the leap into open source for first time with version 3.6 and no regrets. We use in three countries and six stores and it's rock-solid. Saved us thousands of euros so donated some of that saving back to uniCenta to help keep this great project going. Would give more stars if I could

    Posted 06/24/2014
  • ch-leonidas
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It is the basis for the best POS around!

    Posted 06/18/2014
  • partyp
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've been so pleased with this software. I've been using it for over a year now and when I recently ran an update and had a few problems the support from Unicenta was great. I use Unicenta for my small shop and it has made everything so much easier. The support/ website and forum have just kept developing and improving, huge credit to the developer. Fabulous product and amazing that it is offered for free.

    Posted 05/15/2014
  • jules1973
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Having worked in the POS industry for a long time, this is an extremely useful and agile little POS system. Everyone will always want something that the software doesn't have for their particular circumstances in their particular business. This one is highly customisable and stable, and the developers have worked hard over each release to make things easier. If you are having trouble getting it to work for you and can't find the answer in the documentation, try the forums - all the answers are there. Don't forget, this is a free system, but you really should give the developers a little bit of money if you are using it.

    Posted 05/15/2014
  • michaeldim
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Well, The problem here is that uniCenta touts itself as being highly customizable. Well, In order to customize uniCenta, you have to alter the source code to change 90% of aspects. The manual even details making changes to the source. And the problem therein is that the staff involved refuse to make public the source code, even though the binary is available, which I'm pretty sure is (wildly) against the rules. Emails requesting the source are sent back with a "Oh, it'll be available soon", even though it is supposed to be available on day 1.

    Posted 05/07/2014
  • martynbristow
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Brilliant software, complete customisation Its designed to be run on all sorts of hardware, it can be fiddly but thats just because its such a flexible solution

    Posted 04/30/2014
  • statewidetech
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    BAD A SOFTWARE BAR NONE SIR!!!!! Quick request... can you make the barcode scanning like how it was with Openbravo? You scan whatever code you want and the sale screen sees it. Here in the US There are still TONS of UPC-E and A codes running around and they will not change anytime soon, also it restricts the ability for us US users to scan products and creates confusion. Please update the barcodes to be whatever is scanned and no barcode type checking. like OpenBravo did.... "AS-IS" straight through and done

    Posted 04/18/2014
  • n5iln
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice to see this project being actively maintained again. Excellent for a single-station POS, documentation still needs work for explaining how to connect several POS stations to a central database, and how to set up an inventory-control terminal.

    Posted 04/07/2014
  • danielquatz
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    With a short learning curve, this piece of software meets if not surpasses all expectations for a point of sale solution. it was easy to install and use so we had it operational within 10 minutes. the surface boasts simple settings and interfaces for anyone to get it off the ground with in depth tools and resources for administrators and implementors. all in all, i love this software.

    Posted 03/16/2014
  • fabiangont
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    simply is the best

    Posted 03/11/2014
  • lagunaloire
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It is not Open Source the source code is nowhere in nothing place. Where is the source code from 2010 to today??? The web site say: "Direct download of uniCenta oPOS source code is temporarily suspended whilst we finish our new site." When? How many time that message was there? And the other option is "Register to download uniCenta oPOS source code" When I click to register, the site says "User registration is currently not allowed." So, where are the source code? lol

    Posted 03/05/2014
  • jgerrard
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Response to lagunaloire Sorry to disappoint - new site evolving... since 1 March 2014 230,000+ other people haven't been. Do you think I should make the big blue button that says "Request Download link" bigger? Jack Gerrard uniCenta

    Posted 02/27/2014
  • jimat4dvideo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This looks like a good product, but I can't get past first base. I'm trying to install Version 3.56 under Windows 7, but the startup file (start.bat) can't find "javaw". I've stripped Java from the machine and run various cleaners and uninstall programs to ensure nothing has been left behind. I've then restarted the machine and reinstalled Java (Version 7u51). I've checked that it is installed correctly, then tried to run the POS application, but still it can't find "javaw" on the machine. When I search for this routine, I can find "javaws", but not "javaw". Is there a typo in the .bat file? Anyway, I can't use software that is going to produce these kinds of errors in a critical commercial environment. On the outside, it looks like it meets my needs exactly, but I'm not going to recommend it to a client until I can test it and make sure it is rock solid. Sorry -- 1 star, and that's overkill at this point. ***** ***** jgerrard ... thanks for your response. I've downloaded your binary, I've run the Java uninstaller and been told that "there are no old versions of Java" on my machine. The uninstalled also reported that I have the latest version (V7u51) correctly installed. I can find the java install in: c:/Program Files (x86)/Java/jre7/bin I can see java.exe, javaw.exe and javaws.exe in this directory but when I specify this directory as the appropriate java installaion to use, your program opens a command window then immediately tells me it can't find javaw. ***** ***** I don't mean to be critical, but I have a software background and I'm having a devil of a time trying to get this program running. I can't imagine how the average small business operator would deal with these issues. I want a TOOL I can use to run a business. I don't want to be fiddling with the tool and dealing with software issues. I still don't know why your program won't load--and I have no way to debug it--without getting into the source code. You say I have problems with Java. Oracle says Java V7u51 is installed correctly ... how much more time do I spend on this? ****************************************************** FOLLOW UP: ****************************************************** After spending some time debugging the initial install, I discovered that the folder described above was NOT in my ENVIRONMENT %PATH% file. While you may argue this is a flaw in the Java install (which I believe is true), I also believe this is something you should be checking (ASSERT) before trying to access "javaw.exe". The average store owner is not going to know how to debug this kind of error. All he/she gets is "Windows cannot find javaw.exe". (When I specified where to find java, your installer obviously didn't add the appropriate folder to %PATH% in my environment files.) The Product looks good so far, but I've yet to exercise it fully. I've upgraded my rating now that I can run the program. ********************************************************

    Posted 02/26/2014
  • stefan-at
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best opensource POS

    Posted 02/18/2014
  • jonzarco
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Perfectly suited for full customization, amazing work in progress. Most recommended :)

    Posted 02/18/2014
  • rhmacedos
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Teh best open-source POS in the world! Is Multi-store, and very useful.

    Posted 02/12/2014
  • blackangelpr
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best Working POS Under Ubuntu!

    Posted 12/23/2013
  • swissinvestor
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    update, next problem. After having solved the Java problem, I am unable to install the localization files (de in my case). Whenever I extract the language pack or copy/paste the files, it installs them on OSX 10.9.1 as "unix executable files" instead of as "documents". Update: managed to install as documents now, but Unicenta still does not change the language. It is impossible to change the language as Unicenta cannot read the files. I go back to my 1Star verdict. Update: Java 1.7 JRE definitely does not work in OSX 10.9.1. However, I found out that installing the developer versions Java 1.7 JDK does the trick. It is visible to Unicenta and allows installation on new MacBooks. So I upgraded to 3 stars and if all else works also I may add a few additional stars. However, this problem should really be mentioned in the release notes as most MacUsers will give up before finding this solution Unicenta 3.56 installer does not work on the latest Mac OSX 10.9.1 with the follwing error message: "There may be an issue with your Java installation. Please correct it and return to uniCenta oPOS install when done.0" Java 1.7 JRE is however installed correctly on my machine.

    Posted 12/22/2013
  • rtimmerman1999
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Amazing features for a free POS system. Works great and pretty fast, it's just wonderful!

    Posted 12/22/2013
Show next 25 reviews