uniCenta POS Icon

uniCenta POS

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 (93) Read Reviews | Last Updated
Windows Mac Linux
Back to Project

Reviews (93)

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
80
6
0
0
7
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5

Highest Rated

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

Nice to see this project being actively maintained again. Excellent for a single-station POS, documentation still needs work for explaining how to connect several POS stations to a central database, and how to set up an inventory-control terminal.

n5iln
vs

Lowest Rated

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

Installer does not run on latest version of OS X (10.3.8) Fails to detect Java Runtime Environment. Verified that current, working JRE is v 1.7, but installer does not detect properly. Cannot install software on latest OS X.

ideasite
  • rikkotec
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great project! It's actively maintained, has a slough of additional features, attention to detail given to every screen, and its FROSS! Definitely give this software a try :)

    Posted 08/23/2015
  • inderaus
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Unicenta is a complete feature rich multi-platform POS software and it costs nothing. Thanks to Jack Gerard it is free to the community. I am using it for my restaurant in Noosa, Queensland, Australia and saved heaps of money in the process. Jack was very helpful and generous with Unicenta paid support for mini setup issues.

    Posted 07/15/2015
  • robrys
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Unicenta POS is a great software for our store and Jack is a great guy to deal with. Compared to commercial systems costing thousands, this software is an absolute must. Highly recommended!

    Posted 07/01/2015
  • megasniperb
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    posapps.io popus are annoying, possible to remove with some know how, best and cheapest POS I have used so far. Source is not available, should be on git, the project would be so much better if it was, please correct me if I am wrong.

    Posted 07/01/2015
  • elarbihassine
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very good and completed application. I want to add some features on the application. Haw Can I open the code source in the Eclipse EDI ? the code source that I have downloaded is not a java project !! Please How can I open the code source like a java project in order to add or retreave athers features. Thanks.

    Posted 06/22/2015
  • fouad796
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The Best POS System ever

    Posted 05/06/2015
  • chrisjako7
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    AWESOME, using it on a MySQL database from hosting provider to connect multiple clients - Highly recommend for free the CSV import is a real perk to this software

    Posted 04/21/2015
  • bionicbenjy
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It is what you make it - the possibilities are endless! The uniCenta team provide the bones and the community build the flesh. With some basic programming knowledge you can do a lot, with some advanced programming knowledge the oPOS is your oyster!

    Posted 03/13/2015
  • sub4ru
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent! work on Linux out the box. Hopefully this project live on forever

    Posted 03/05/2015
  • akuobarae
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    this does NOT work on linux

    Posted 01/23/2015
  • shashinasiri
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good Work Crew, but i got problems when customizing the project.

    Posted 12/28/2014
  • tekmason
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    An excellent POS system that does a lot with out of the box with the standard configuration. With some technical skills a little effort you can customize it to do almost anything.

    Posted 12/14/2014
  • ednanda
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    really good for open source software :), though it still has some little bug or less feature, overall, it is great!

    Posted 12/09/2014
  • sbandur84
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best open source POS in solar system :) ! Eager to get uniCenta POS 3.80 release source code to work on my fork. Thank You uniCenta crew!

    Posted 10/09/2014
  • samer3
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great program and beautiful design lacks only add a feature expiration date materials and print barcode labels enter numbers manually when it does not print the barcode when entering numbers manually

    Posted 07/14/2014
  • hasu-kam
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Brilliant project, been playing around for 4 months and now installed it live at 2 sites, still learning how do do things, I am not a programmer, just someone that knows very little how Java and codes work, and with the help of the forum I managed to get most of my questions answered.

    Posted 06/27/2014
  • estimus
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Amazed by uniCenta oPOS! Took the leap into open source for first time with version 3.6 and no regrets. We use in three countries and six stores and it's rock-solid. Saved us thousands of euros so donated some of that saving back to uniCenta to help keep this great project going. Would give more stars if I could

    Posted 06/24/2014
  • ch-leonidas
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It is the basis for the best POS around!

    Posted 06/18/2014
  • partyp
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've been so pleased with this software. I've been using it for over a year now and when I recently ran an update and had a few problems the support from Unicenta was great. I use Unicenta for my small shop and it has made everything so much easier. The support/ website and forum have just kept developing and improving, huge credit to the developer. Fabulous product and amazing that it is offered for free.

    Posted 05/15/2014
  • jules1973
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Having worked in the POS industry for a long time, this is an extremely useful and agile little POS system. Everyone will always want something that the software doesn't have for their particular circumstances in their particular business. This one is highly customisable and stable, and the developers have worked hard over each release to make things easier. If you are having trouble getting it to work for you and can't find the answer in the documentation, try the forums - all the answers are there. Don't forget, this is a free system, but you really should give the developers a little bit of money if you are using it.

    Posted 05/15/2014
  • michaeldim
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Well, The problem here is that uniCenta touts itself as being highly customizable. Well, In order to customize uniCenta, you have to alter the source code to change 90% of aspects. The manual even details making changes to the source. And the problem therein is that the staff involved refuse to make public the source code, even though the binary is available, which I'm pretty sure is (wildly) against the rules. Emails requesting the source are sent back with a "Oh, it'll be available soon", even though it is supposed to be available on day 1.

    Posted 05/07/2014
  • martynbristow
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Brilliant software, complete customisation Its designed to be run on all sorts of hardware, it can be fiddly but thats just because its such a flexible solution

    Posted 04/30/2014
  • statewidetech
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    BAD A SOFTWARE BAR NONE SIR!!!!! Quick request... can you make the barcode scanning like how it was with Openbravo? You scan whatever code you want and the sale screen sees it. Here in the US There are still TONS of UPC-E and A codes running around and they will not change anytime soon, also it restricts the ability for us US users to scan products and creates confusion. Please update the barcodes to be whatever is scanned and no barcode type checking. like OpenBravo did.... "AS-IS" straight through and done

    Posted 04/18/2014
  • n5iln
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice to see this project being actively maintained again. Excellent for a single-station POS, documentation still needs work for explaining how to connect several POS stations to a central database, and how to set up an inventory-control terminal.

    Posted 04/07/2014
Show next 25 reviews