UNetbootin Icon

Bootable live USB creator for Ubuntu, Fedora, and Linux distributions

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
154
5
0
0
8
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • bhffs
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works great. Xc8 if you can't figure out how to format a >4GB usb drive as fat32 you probably shouldn't be messing around with Unetbootin in the first place.

    Posted 11/19/2014
  • xc8
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Does not recognize NTFS formatted USB devices, so installing a DVD ISO ( > 4G) is out of question.

    Posted 11/11/2014
  • coolguynitro289
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    OK so I was looking through the comments and I saw a couple that... well... no. This is a very powerful tool that is easy to use. If it does say "7zip not found!" or something like that (in Debian based) Linux (for noobs that includes Ubuntu, Linux Mint, Zorin OS, Kali Linux exc) type into the terminal 'sudo apt-get install p7zip-full' to break down this command 'sudo' means super user do and thus is basically like when you click on something in windows and its like "Would you like this program to make changes to your computer?" its just giving that program enoough power to do what it needs to. 'apt-get' is Debian's command line package manager. 'install' is an option in apt-get to install a package (that one is pretty self explanitory). and finally 'p7zip-full' is the package you want to install in this case we want 7zip and thus we are installing the correct package for it. I hoped this helped some people who were just about to rate a great program one star.

    Posted 10/03/2014
  • icedraco
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've been using this tool on Windows for many years to run or install different Linux distros form my flashdrive. It works very well and not just with Ubuntu! Excellent project!

    Posted 09/30/2014
  • mrme303
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    it works with almost every operating systems what i tested for.

    Posted 09/16/2014
  • nemamvasrad
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy to download, Easy to use. Nice tool. Thank You.

    Posted 09/10/2014
  • luciddreamer78
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I couldn't get this software to work properly. I currently have Ubuntu as my OS and after the download it wasn't saved as an executable. I went into the personal settings and allowed it to run as an .exe. However, then I was presented with another error, "7z not found!? "This is required for either install mode.Install the "p7zip-full" package or your distribution's equivalent." I have no idea how to correct this issue after several hours of research; I've given up! Overall, a great concept that doesn't work "right-out-of-the-box" for the average user using Ubuntu/Linux already.

    Posted 09/09/2014
  • unficyp1
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Does not work. Not able to discover any of my USB sticks.

    Posted 09/03/2014
  • uramisten
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great tool. Unfortuately I had to revert to version 494 to be able to select my usb since the "show all drives" feature has disappeared. Can we have it back? pretty please?

    Posted 08/23/2014
  • yanpas
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    There is one missing feature - writing Windows image

    Posted 08/19/2014
  • nimbosa
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great to see a recent update for this frugal install tool..

    Posted 05/31/2014
  • stephdl
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good work ++

    Posted 05/11/2014
  • idshabbenign
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    After spending HOURS trying to make a Windows 8 bootable usb on my mac, this finally worked. THANK YOU.

    Posted 04/26/2014
  • xautofzx
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's good tool

    Posted 04/14/2014
  • dunmaksim
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    All needled functions, easy in use. Thansk you!

    Posted 03/17/2014
  • shadowtester
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    If you are looking for something that will lock up you computer and help you lose data, then this is it.

    Posted 03/11/2014
  • igoorexa
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    ok

    Posted 02/03/2014
  • epikvision
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Perfect tool to install a bootable Linux USB. Very simple and extremely handy!

    Posted 10/06/2013
  • a329692195
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awesome! good job!

    Posted 09/29/2013
  • artempolishchuk
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    How to write Windows on NTFS partitions? In previous version (build 494) there was option "Show all drives".

    Posted 09/21/2013
  • pouknouki
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    But can't install latest versions on Windows. Good for Linux !

    Posted 07/20/2013
  • jamvaru
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    thought it worked in w7 64 but the latest installer did not; i will try a previous version, and update 584 worked, +1 star :) ( i will probably -1 if lubuntu 64 iso does not work :))

    Posted 07/15/2013
  • clebermatheus
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very Good!

    Posted 06/27/2013
  • piabpn953
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks very good project! +

    Posted 06/21/2013
  • smkudelko
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is a utility that I can't live without. It is so convenient to be able to create a bootable drive of almost every distro worth running and to be able to do so from a computer running Linux, Mac OS X, or Windows.

    Posted 06/18/2013
Show next 25 reviews