Tcl Windows API extension Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
20
0
0
0
0
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 5 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • m_hoffmann
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Perfect abstraction of the nasty details and horrors of native Win32-API-Programming at the C level. Perfectly fitting into the tcl world of things! A great help in administering windows systems!

    Posted 04/24/2015
  • juergen18
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I am thrilled about this piece of software. An easy to use, powerful tool with a great documentation. Its help is inestimable. So I assign all 5 stars to this project.

    Posted 04/02/2015
  • dterhaar
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    twapi is easy to use and documentation is good. Are there plans to add support for the ReadConsoleInput function? I didn't see that one listed and I'd like to be able to read enhanced keys like the up, down, left, and right arrow keys, page up, page down, etc.

    Posted 08/14/2014
  • vinniy0
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Forum didnt work... Can someone show an example formatting for a raw call to twapi::DecryptMessage and EncryptMessage? Thanks

    Posted 03/03/2014
  • jbs11
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A wonderful array of capabilities is provided by this package. I have barely scratched the surface with the COM interface and accessing network shares. Support is also great. Ashok is clearly passionate and interested in maintaining an excellent product!

    Posted 12/13/2013
  • elliotking
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    small and efficient and gets the job done.

    Posted 02/15/2013
  • oliverfong
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    twapi, easy to use

    Posted 01/21/2013
  • loganprice
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    twapi works great

    Posted 12/20/2012
  • colejackson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    twapi works nicely

    Posted 10/29/2012
  • jonahellis
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great app, works nicely

    Posted 09/16/2012
  • oehhar
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Extremly compleate allround-package for any windows issue

    Posted 12/19/2011
  • kgraefe
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I used twapi in several projects now and really appreciate it. Currently I needed to use the new systemtray api (which is provided in the not yet released version 3.1) and he uploaded a copy :) Thank you. *thumbs up*

    Posted 07/19/2011
  • oid-3207121
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    twapi is becoming a shining light in the open source world (not just restricted to Tcl). It is fine code, very well documented and actively developed. And the developer is amazingly committed to his extension. What can I say, sometimes the stars align and something special happens - that's what we have here.

    Posted 01/21/2011
  • rhrist
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    We've used tcom (with tcl 8.5, 32-bit) for accessing COM servers for a long time. We were constantly getting pressure to upgrade everything to 64bit in the past, so we had to find a substitute for tcom under tcl 8.5.9 64-bit. TWAPI was the right solution to all our problems. It's very sound software and very well documented for a sourceforge project. This great extension is an absolute must-have for all developers who are using COM under Win 64bit.

    Posted 12/20/2010
  • jmcuaz
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very usefull. Many thanks for the devoppers and the maintainers.

    Posted 06/11/2010
  • shihtzu
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It a very Good software. Thank a lot.

    Posted 06/07/2010
  • dunkfan
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Tcl feels right at home on MS Windows with this powerful API. The developer is very much on the ball and helpful when it comes to adding sensible new features. If ever a package deserved a recommendation, this is it. My app would certainly be missing a lot without it.

    Posted 04/30/2010
  • jomills
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I use Tcl a lot for general scripting in the lab, nearly all Linux based. Occasionally I have write a script for some Windows based kit and without TWAPI I would have been completely stuck - I had no idea how to make a Tcl app into a Windows service. I have not used all of TWAPI and I am no Windows programmer, but it provided everything I needed (and more) and it just works. Many many thanks for such a brilliant package.

    Posted 08/26/2009
  • jgodfrey
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I write Tcl-based applications professionally, almost exclusively for the Windows environment. For me, TWAPI is an absolute must-have Tcl extension. If it can be done with the Windows API, you can almost assuredly do it via Tcl using TWAPI. It's rock-solid, well documented, and has great author support. What more could you ask for?

    Posted 08/19/2009
  • ridruejo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Twapi brings Tcl a high-level, clean, well tested API to the guts of Win32, so you can fully integrate your application natively with Windows with minimal effort. It is thoroughly well documented and Ashok is incredibly responsive to bug reports and feature suggestions. All in all, together with Expect and a few others, one of the best Tcl extensions out there

    Posted 08/10/2009