TortoiseSVN Icon

TortoiseSVN

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 (158) Read Reviews | Last Updated
Windows
Back to Project

Reviews (158)

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
142
5
2
1
8
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5

Highest Rated

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

I don't like Subversion. Since I've moved on to Git and Mercurial, I've never looked back. But for legacy projects, I still have to use it, and then I'm glad that TortoiseSVN is still around to ease the pain. Off topic: Concerning the "one star rating" complaining about the centralized metadata: This should really be removed. Firstly, it is a change in Subversion 1.7 itself that has nothing to do with the client. And secondly, I don't see why this is a bad thing. In fact, having ".svn" directories cluttering my entire working copy was one of the things I always hated about SVN, even before I heard about DVCS alternatives. I applaud to the SVN developers that they finally got this right.

aegon522
vs

Lowest Rated

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

Newest version Will not install to win XP Pro x64 OS wants newer windows installer. Have you decided to not support XP Pro x64? Why not provide an installer that will work with XP Pro x64? And how can you rate it if you can't use it?

joseph-ii
  • jmx4
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best Windows client..., but the program often locks up on our engineers, telling them to run the Cleanup command, which then bombs, leaving them *totally* f*ck*d. Not even a reinstall works. In style, when there is a problem, it always tells you to do this-and-that first, but never offers to do so, nor does it offer any guarantee that the problem will actually be resolved. So lots of time lost on silly things like locks and refusing to work in what are essentially single developer interactions with the repo! Best SVN, but then again, apparently SVN isn't all that great.

    Posted 08/26/2015
  • patrick-brady
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Tortoise is great, 5 stars but the installer is loaded with malware, avoid if at all possible.

    Posted 08/12/2015
  • mxhost
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    nice but not super

    Posted 07/31/2015
  • invitatie
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great program!

    Posted 07/29/2015
  • holzer2015
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very nice

    Posted 07/24/2015
  • teklen
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    thats very interesting.

    Posted 07/22/2015
  • wufodapo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is the best SVN client.

    Posted 07/22/2015
  • lyalyakin
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best Subversion client for Windows.

    Posted 04/22/2015
  • jamescarter25
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good

    Posted 03/21/2015
  • k-a-r-e-n
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good!

    Posted 12/29/2014
  • pbhaskal
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very nice software...simple and effective.

    Posted 09/24/2014
  • the_z
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Always great! I think the icons got a little reversed in the latest rev! :) see: atcp.us/problems/tortoisesvn/2014-07-24_Screenshot_275.jpg and atcp.us/problems/tortoisesvn/2014-07-24_Screenshot_276.jpg :)

    Posted 07/24/2014
  • hakimoo1
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    hi, i have the 1.8.7 version and i have an issue when updating it stop updating and show me this error " ra_serf: an error occurred during SSL communication" note that i have disabled my antivirus and the error occurs. please advise.

    Posted 07/14/2014
  • caiocampos
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's a nice SVN software

    Posted 05/24/2014
  • destertyn
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Veery Good. 10 points

    Posted 05/19/2014
  • fgarzonhz
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Only needs more porwerfull into svn configuration for hooks such as send emails when a resource looks, will be more ease than today.

    Posted 02/26/2014
  • johnvms
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great Windows GUI for subversion. Nice shell integration, easy and intuitive to use. Log viewer and revision graph are very cool features. Lots of settings you can configure (for example I use an external diff viewer (WinMerge)). Stefan and the other developers are great about keeping things current and fixing issues.

    Posted 02/20/2014
  • joseph-ii
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Newest version Will not install to win XP Pro x64 OS wants newer windows installer. Have you decided to not support XP Pro x64? Why not provide an installer that will work with XP Pro x64? And how can you rate it if you can't use it?

    Posted 12/07/2013
  • lhofinger
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I think TortoiseSVN is the best subversion GUI tool for Windows. I just don't like very much the Explorer Integration. Please have a look to www.paludour.net/TortoiseCommander.html to increase usability and productivity.

    Posted 09/27/2013
  • ezer0
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best! Fastest! Smooth! Great control over IT projects, versions, code updates, change requests! Suitable both for small development and large scales!

    Posted 06/25/2013
  • smiron86
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Version 1.8 is broken. Cannot perform svn update. It sits and doesn't do anything. No errors etc. Reverted back to 1.7. Now I can't use Visual SVN from Visual Studio 2012 .. :(

    Posted 06/25/2013
  • aegon522
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I don't like Subversion. Since I've moved on to Git and Mercurial, I've never looked back. But for legacy projects, I still have to use it, and then I'm glad that TortoiseSVN is still around to ease the pain. Off topic: Concerning the "one star rating" complaining about the centralized metadata: This should really be removed. Firstly, it is a change in Subversion 1.7 itself that has nothing to do with the client. And secondly, I don't see why this is a bad thing. In fact, having ".svn" directories cluttering my entire working copy was one of the things I always hated about SVN, even before I heard about DVCS alternatives. I applaud to the SVN developers that they finally got this right.

    Posted 06/19/2013
  • isra00
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    By far the best GUI for Subversion. Absolutely useful in my day-to-day work as developer.

    Posted 06/03/2013
Show next 25 reviews