TEncoder Video Converter Icon

A multithreaded A/V converter, editor, downloader, and DVD ripper

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
30
4
1
1
8
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • baegus
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Definitely the best video encoder for Windows. It's awesome as a youtube-dl GUI as well.

    Posted 08/10/2015
  • neilae
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    better than megui, staxrip

    Posted 06/18/2015
  • theawesomeyanke
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's free and open-source, + works better than any other converter I ever used. Awesome!

    Posted 05/23/2015
  • thewitch0
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I had to convert some videos in the past to mp4 and relied on this software which did the job very well for my needs. I must confess I didn't find the interface that so easy to get to the combinations I was looking for, but I guess it's because I'm not that proficient in video and sound manipulation in spite of not being that kind of dummy user. Recently I needed to download an interview I had recorded in youtube using Google's Hangout On Air (very cool, by the way) but youtube only provides the download as an mp4. I needed an mp3 to manipulate in Audacity. And the softwares in my Windows 2008 only convert to m4a and wma (Microsoft always so incompatible with its users needs!). So I was back to sourceforge (in which I trust and have been counting on for years) and was pleasantly surprised by the new features the author, Ozok, has added in the recent upgrades: You can now download your videos from youtube and other hosts, amongst other good news. It took me a little while to get to the combinations leading me to extract the mp3 during the download operation, but it was very fast and again accomplished very well the task. I share the steps with the other users so that they can save a bit of time: 1. In the tab "Video Downloader" enable the "Convert downloaded videos" 2. In the "Video Codec" dropdown box, select "Video codec: NONE" This will enable the mp3 to be downloaded along with the mp4 too. It was very fast in my case. Another option is to download the mp4 first and then provide the settings I mentioned to get the mp3 file after clicking the "Encode" button from the "Video/Audio converter" tab. I love the portable version but have already used the version installable and none of them come with advertisements, try to change your browser toolbar, install plugins or other annoying stuff. It's stable and I guess it's very safe because I didn't notice any strange behaviors after testing in my testing environment, but I'm not that super user also. In the end, I would highly recommend this software and leave here my congratulations to Ozok by the great job and the persistence improving his tool day by day. Enjoy everyone!

    Posted 04/24/2015
  • mahmoudkeshta
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I think it is excellent software and it is very fast . Only 1 thing annoying me which is Arabic subtitle encoding it is not correct for the letter it is separated but actually in Arabic language the letters are always connected I and I tried a lot with different subtitles encoding and fonts option but no way I think it is not a big issue because I saw it working well in other converters .. I hope you can fix this soon because really it is amazing application

    Posted 03/28/2015
  • impetuousroguis
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thats trendy...

    Posted 03/27/2015
  • cyberchipz
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    2014-10-22 Like one guy, did not know it could Windows 7 32bit! Does not state Windows version requirement on Main Page! Shame! Downloads 64bit version... 32 bit under all files. 2014-10-22 After bugging out on 64bit version (shame again), found and gave the 32bit version a go; that hopefully will run! Added Star, it ran. 2014-10-23 Easy Install of 32bit version, program is fairly easy to use, and does so far... some what I expected. However, for some reason the layout doesn't feel intuitive. eg: Wanted to convert to .avi, so I drilled down encoders for .avi, and didn't find one. Found a profile(?) that said 'Odys_MP_X56_avi' and expected .avi for that; but, it used Xvid. Perhaps Xvid uses .avi, I personally don't know, so don't know what an Odys is, did recognize a lot of the profiles, I see where this could be useful for people who don't know anything about encoding... but, not intuitive for me. Opted for an X_Box format, so friend can view... we'll see. Might fail because I didn't format on XBox yet, if so that's Microsoft's shame when they can't even maintain compatibility within their own family. Added two stars for pretty much doing what I needed; but, there's something funky about the way it's laid out; we'll see as time goes by. It did complete the tasks requested, and my machine didn't go to sleep while it was running... almost tempted to give it a star just for that, even MS fails at that from time to time.

    Posted 10/23/2014
  • chessdave
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you for the valuable converter and video utility. But I'm sorry, the main download offered doesn't reveal itself as 64 bit until the very very last moment. Could you please differentiate among every offered file what is 32 and what is 64 bit?

    Posted 10/19/2014
  • aomurray
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Does what it says and is fast.

    Posted 05/28/2014
  • ceinma
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    after test lot of encoders... this is the best...

    Posted 04/03/2014
  • mcill
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great product, easy to use, no unwanted 'add-on' products.

    Posted 02/16/2014
  • miftahq
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very simple and easy to use but powerfull

    Posted 01/30/2014
  • denheldert
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I tried several other Video Converting programs before stumbling upon this one. No malware of other crap, no nagscreens, no toolbars. Works like a charm, and is very fast and stable. Converts between an amazing amount of formats, and one can adjust about every property of the output file. Not the easiest program out there, but it works the best and gets the job done in one single screen. I am very pleased with this software, and do not think I'll ever need anything else.

    Posted 01/02/2014
  • jaden24
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software. It is simple to use, yet surprisingly very powerful. It is very stable. I have stopped using Handbrake in favor of TEncoder.

    Posted 09/30/2013
  • xtremetic
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    When converting two flash videos encoded with VP6 to h264 I found that the encoding process stalled about a third of the way through and I obtained truncated videos. A shame as the quality of the output was superior to that from other ffmpeg/mencoder converters I have tried and that was obtained without any special filters.

    Posted 07/18/2013
  • hanpari
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very first OS video encoder that works for me. Thank you very much. great work!

    Posted 05/31/2013
  • jhnsmith08
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's an awesome piece of software. Hope it won't be a adware/closed source crap like "once great" mediacoder! Good job ozok...keep it up!

    Posted 03/22/2013
  • skulltura
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    once have advanced video options for almost popular codecs, will be the best, 100% recommended

    Posted 03/01/2013
Show next 19 reviews