Stellarium Icon

A realistic, real-time 3D simulation of the night sky.

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
348
0
1
0
6
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • zistoire
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Amazing simulation of the atmosphere. I was stunned by the lunar eclipse on 15 March 2014. The moon was freaking realist.

    Posted 04/18/2014
  • gaugor
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    tres chouette programme, je suis astronome amateur et je m'en sers souvent grand merci !!! les gens qui se plaignent du "support" ou qui pensent que c'est un programme Windows ... sans commentaire :)

    Posted 03/18/2014
  • karla-11
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Não é como diziam , me fararam que dava para ver o universo em tempo real , futuro e passado Sem falar em Constelações e também me falaram que dava para para ver ex Vênus pela superfície de Marte

    Posted 02/13/2014
  • hojin-park
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Stellarium really allows you to personalize your experience, and I never thought someone would go as far as letting you stargaze from Saturn. It's a little confusing on who this is meant for though, based on its kid-friendly graphics and not-so-kid-friendly information.

    Posted 02/08/2014
  • lumpiluk
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very useful and beautiful! I sometimes use it to identify stars and planets in my photographs -- works perfectly :-)

    Posted 07/18/2013
  • timopheybrown
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Know nothing about astronomy, but Stellarium is amazing!! Now I can see the star i want to))

    Posted 07/18/2013
  • keatah
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Once you get everything tweaked "just so" this is really quite an excellent program. And the beauty part of it (other than the nice graphics) is that it is updated from time to time.

    Posted 07/18/2013
  • grecosurf
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    So a realistic simulator that is fully immersed in this world and forget about their problems. I advise everyone who wants to relax

    Posted 07/18/2013
  • karlos76
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Amazing 3D simulation of the night sky! Excellent quality and definitely a great opportunity to have fun. Thanks all developers.Fast. Easy. Great.Good work. Thanks

    Posted 07/18/2013
  • rajaniblue
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really fabulous. For a free program, this rocks. I'm running Mac OSX (Snow Leopard) and it works beautifully so far with few glitches or problems. Most of the commands/controls are easy to figure out just by playing around a bit. Really has a lot of features and things you can customize to your particular area (I even found a landscape of my area to use with it). Highly recommended!

    Posted 07/18/2013
  • oid-2947676
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    So long as I own a computer this program will be on it. Superb.

    Posted 07/18/2013
  • tacthighmestru
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    And, it is free for us to use.

    Posted 07/18/2013
  • zandtelchiola
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Brilliant piece of software

    Posted 07/18/2013
  • dwidimovgrot
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    An essential Windows program.

    Posted 07/18/2013
  • premonebsour
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    not the best in-town any more ;)

    Posted 07/18/2013
  • schakgecmamal
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awesome. Keep up the good work.

    Posted 07/18/2013
  • atprotfaude
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    never noticed any problems

    Posted 07/18/2013
  • jhbjhbjhb
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great project, i have use MI for a year now. Keep up tne good works guys.

    Posted 07/18/2013
  • marginally
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Wow, the images are truly amazing. I have never seen anything like it.

    Posted 07/18/2013
  • marymoney
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have both Stellarium and Starry Night Pro. Stellarium is better than Starry Night Pro in many ways and it's free. The nice thing about Stellarium is that it works with Linux too. I have a net book with Stellarium installed in Ubuntu that I like to take out into the field with me. The night vision screen comes in very handy as well making it easier to see deep sky objects. Stellarium rocks.

    Posted 07/18/2013
  • oid-2738633
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    this thing does not install properly just heads ups ya know

    Posted 07/18/2013
  • alois-hupf
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I tested Stellarium 0.11.2 recently. I am not an astronomer. Here some remarks, which I want to tell you. 1.) If I switch off the atmosphere (A on Keybord), then the fog above the horizon of the landscape is still visible. When only working with the toolbar buttons (as beginners do), this is disturbing. (Beginners do not know the F key.) Please correct this - primarily with the toolbar button. 2.) On Microsoft Windows 7, working in fullscreen mode is troublesome, as the cursor disappers after some actions. If not in fullscreen mode, you can work properly on Windows 7. But Stellarium is started in fullscreen mode on all operating systems. I suggest to start Stellarium in Windows 7 in normal mode as a first remedy. Then people who only want to see a simulation of the sky are not embarrased. '"C:\Program Files (x86)\stellarium\stellarium.exe" --full-screen=no' in a link can do. 3.) I wanted to see some double stars. I tested Rigil Kent. It was not easy to separate the two components, as they are too large on display. When increasing the year, they do not show to turn around each other. But Stellarium shows them drifting away from each other in 2000 years. A similar effect can be seen with Epsilon Lyrae. From this, I assume, Stellarium does not show periodicity of doubles at the moment. This should be mentioned in the manual. Also the change in magnitude with varible stars (Algol) cannot to be seen. 4.) For some special observations, it would be helpfull do reduce the shown diameter of a star, which is used to simulate the magnitude of a star. (The diameter of a star shown in a telescope is a parameter of its aperture.) Regil Kent could be better displayed as a double star if the displayed diameters would be smaller. As a first remedy there could be a button on the toolbar for this, which perhaps toggles config parameter flag_point_star. 5.) If you click a star with the mouse, you get some information about it. Stellarium should display all available information - also the angular velocities dx0, dx1 from the star catalogue files where available. 6.) Please give the clicking on a star a higher priority than the clicking on a nebula. Often it is nearly impossible to get the information about a planet or a star. If you click it, you nearly always get the information on a nebula behind it or near by. I always switch off the display of nebulae to avoid this behaviour. 7.) It is a common problem with Unix, that the texts and buttons in a dialog box are too far apart. As space is a high-valued resource on the screen, all the dialogue windows of Stellarium should be reduced in space. MS Windows is by far better in this behaviour - concerning dialogue windows here only. 8.) I had some problems with the search window. I could not find Toliman, which is a often used name for Rigil Kent. I had also proplems finding Japetus - in Stellarium it is written Iapetus. Phoebe is not shown at all. What about Sirius B and Sirius C ? 9.) When observing the movements of moons, I chose the north pole of sun as my observation point, as on earth the orbits are not visible as ellipses. I saw a considerable wobble on the small moons of Neptun when displayed. If I watch Thalassa for example, I see a solid circle with a second circle wobbling around it. This second circle is a bit larger and has a nebular fuzzy edge. 10.) For auto-zooming a selected object, you have to use the key /. On some keyboards this key is not easy to be used. On the German keyboard it is "shift 7"; \ is "AltGr ß" on this keyboard. I think double-clicking the selected object is a good alternative. To zoom out, double-clicking with the right mouse button would be an alternative; the backspace key could also be used (browsers behave like this). 11.) The rings of Uranus, Neptun cannot be seen on Linux and Stellarium 0.11.0.

    Posted 07/18/2013
Show next 25 reviews