User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
9
1
2
0
10
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 1 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • andkirby
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    it doesn't work on windows 8.1 Log Name: Application Source: Application Error Date: 2/16/2015 2:58:27 AM Event ID: 1000 Task Category: (100) Level: Error Keywords: Classic User: N/A Computer: Description: Faulting application name: cygrunsrv.exe, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x40826252 Faulting module name: ntdll.dll, version: 6.3.9600.17630, time stamp: 0x54b0d74f Exception code: 0xc0000005 Fault offset: 0x000413b2 Faulting process id: 0xd04 Faulting application start time: 0x01d04983ac657d81 Faulting application path: C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenSSH\bin\cygrunsrv.exe Faulting module path: C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll Report Id: ea15fff1-b576-11e4-826a-08002700e4c5 Faulting package full name: Faulting package-relative application ID: Event Xml: <Data>cygrunsrv.exe</Data> <Data>0.0.0.0</Data> <Data>40826252</Data> <Data>ntdll.dll</Data> <Data>6.3.9600.17630</Data> <Data>54b0d74f</Data> <Data>c0000005</Data> <Data>000413b2</Data> <Data>d04</Data> <Data>01d04983ac657d81</Data> <Data>C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenSSH\bin\cygrunsrv.exe</Data> <Data>C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll</Data>

    Posted 02/16/2015
  • imperativeideas
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This project is over two years out of date. If you must use Windows, you should really download the version hosted at MLS Software. Google it, URLs are prohibited in reviews. It's up to date and will save you a lot of headaches.

    Posted 09/20/2014
  • slotbadger
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This project worked very well for me, and installation went fine. ASIDE from the fact it deleted my path variables. I worked around this by system restoring, saving my path variables somewhere then undoing the restore. Finally appending openSSH's path to my path variables.

    Posted 08/27/2014
  • jeruvy
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is a terrible and outdated project, it should be deleted.

    Posted 07/25/2014
  • mlinderoth
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    When I installed it on my Windows 8 system it replaced my path instead of appending to it!!

    Posted 03/03/2014
  • b3and88
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Pleased and relieved to report that installation of the client only did not hose the PATH variable on windoze 7. YMMV

    Posted 02/10/2014
  • samk3nny
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Per other comments, be sure to remember to backup your PATH variable first!

    Posted 01/08/2014
  • stianlie
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It ruins the system path on Windows 7. After install only C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenSSH\bin is in system path.

    Posted 12/18/2013
  • ggg-killer
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Its really awnsome, but if you are having problems on Windows 8(it tells you that some command doesn't exists) do this: 1. go to C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenSSH\bin 2. copy all the files inside 3. paste them in C:\Windows 4. paste them in C:\Windows\System32 5. done! Now just test it and it should work.

    Posted 09/13/2013
  • djcurtis
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Windows 8 Pro ... Overwrites your entire system path with only it's own entry on install (user path stays in tact). SSH functionality works just fine though there's not much point--text editors don't work well in powershell.

    Posted 08/13/2013
  • u268
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    On Windows7 64bit it just KILLED my PATH system variable!!!!!! Damn that pRoGrAm!!!!!!

    Posted 07/26/2013
  • dillanrobinson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works, very small, no complaints.

    Posted 02/14/2013
  • gabrielcarlson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    works great.

    Posted 01/20/2013
  • nkadelgarcia
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is OpenSSH 3.8p1, which is *almost 10 years old*, massively out of date and missing numerous security and encryption enhancements. There are much cleaner ways to run OpenSSH on Windows, such as using the built-in CygWin SSH daemon capability from a recent CygWin. But this out of date code and binary should *definitely* be archived, and no longer published.

    Posted 01/14/2013
  • nolanromero
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    no trouble to install and run, works nicely.

    Posted 12/18/2012
  • elliotedwards
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good project sshwindows

    Posted 09/14/2012
  • mukeshreddy
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hello everyone, Can anyone help me to install the openssh server in windows 7 and make it listen ssh client request. Thanks&Regards Mukesh

    Posted 06/25/2012
  • marconegro
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Please fix the PATH issue!

    Posted 06/16/2012
  • espyo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I believe I don't use this to its full potential. But I use it to upload project web content to sourceforge.net, and for that OpenSSH works great!

    Posted 05/22/2011
  • wujekzbyszek
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project

    Posted 02/15/2011
  • lcdrovers
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This project is incredibly useful; it saves quite a bit of time when one can simply ssh into a machine, rather than have to use email or physical media, and I wasn't able to find any other ssh projects for windows. Overall, an excellent program.

    Posted 01/09/2011
  • oid-3180046
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for wiping my PATH using the installer.

    Posted 12/29/2010