SQuirreL SQL Client Icon

A Java SQL client for any JDBC compliant database

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
91
0
1
0
6
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • jacobdavenport
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I use this for connecting to Informix and MySQL. It's feature rich, reliable, and performs very well.

    Posted 12/09/2014
  • patrycjusz
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really nice app :)

    Posted 11/14/2014
  • richardbrust
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Can't say enough good things about this client. I develop on MS-SQL and Oracle, and also Derby just for testing, and this is my one and only SQL Client. Don't even bother to install vendor tools any longer. Customization, options, L&F, code completion, syntax highlighting, &etc... are great, can run any query, pl/sql, T-SQL, etc with no issues. Exporting/importing data/results also very easy. Another benefit - backup app dir and .squirrel-sql dir and you can a) use this from a thumb drive, or b) move to another computer in seconds. Came in handy when a drive failed and I needed to use backup laptop for a while - all config/settings stayed as I moved app.

    Posted 11/07/2014
  • sendelatomasz
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    From all sql clients (both free and paid) this one has fastest autocomplete during writing queries. With some schema configuration it is unstoppable for quick writing sql's and store results in excel/csv files (for report purposes)

    Posted 08/25/2014
  • n1ghtm4r3s
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've used this on my Oracle DB using a Macbook Pro. A few things worthy to mention: * It does not run PL/SQL code in the worksheet, it can only run queries. * Does not feel professional, loses overview a lot because digging deeper in objects creates boxes with padding around it. * Last and certainly not least.... WHAT THE HELL were you guys drinking when writing the app???? It creates the following FUNCTION in my schema: SQUIRREL_GET_ERROR_OFFSET . What SQL client has the nerve to create objects in a schema without warning???? No popup, the DBA just starts asking what it is... how unprofessional can you be??? This app will never be used by me, my team or anyone that ever crosses my path in the future. Go back to the basics and start learning how to write software, hire an architect, team lead, heck just replace the whole development team. This is unthinkable, this can't be used in a professional environment.

    Posted 05/23/2014
  • pbhaskal
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    nice and light weight.

    Posted 04/16/2014
  • bredmon
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Unfortunately the issues with 3.5.2 are numerous. For starters, the windows installer attempts to install into C:\Program Files(x86) but runs without administator privs. Once that issue was resolved, I had to edit the .bat launcher to specify my javaw.exe location as the launcher couldn't locate. After finally starting the program, none of the default drivers showed up and I had to manually start adding jdbc drivers to the class path and restart. Many times during this process the application would hang and have to be killed and restarted. Unfortunately completely useless.

    Posted 03/26/2014
  • haroldadrian
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Me encanta.... es muy bueno.

    Posted 02/25/2014
  • jonesabr
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's hard to believe this is open source project. It has professional grade. Congratulations.

    Posted 11/19/2013
  • michele_mauro
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Can't live without it no more. One of the first tools I install on a new development machine.

    Posted 09/18/2013
  • jpm1234
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good SQL tool, works well. The graph sql query constructor looks interesting.

    Posted 06/17/2013
  • paritysys
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    SQuirreL SQL is an excellent, reliable tool, handles the PostgreSQL and DB2 databases well. Easy interface with good security. Initial load time of a schema may be time consuming, depending on the number of definitions included - worth the wait. I have used SQuirreL for a number of years in diverse environments (Linux, Windows, even AS/400). Very satisfactory.

    Posted 06/17/2013
  • rusik1978
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for great project! Simply the best.Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/19/2013
  • sever78
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/18/2013
  • urina
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/17/2013
  • diegobravo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent!

    Posted 05/15/2013
  • tfileme
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice, thank you

    Posted 05/15/2013
  • alexvinn11
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 04/15/2013
  • jimi78
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/09/2013
  • blaskrusik1978
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/05/2013
  • nolansanders
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    squirrel-sql is fast and stable

    Posted 02/12/2013
  • xucaen
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I can not get it to connect to Microsoft SQL server 2008.

    Posted 02/08/2013
  • jamesgomes
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    thank you squirrel-sql

    Posted 01/18/2013
  • cianoz
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Auto-completion is an basic feature and doesn't work or is now missing. It worked in the past

    Posted 01/09/2013
  • hellkeeper62
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really good to handle any type of DB (I have used it to manipulate derby database).

    Posted 01/06/2013
Show next 25 reviews