SMPlayer Icon

Free media player with support for Youtube

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
80
2
0
1
6
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • space0ctopus
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Don't care how good it is, it comes packed with a browser hijacker and is VERY sneaky about installing it! I'm usually REALLY good at making sure none of that crap ever gets installed with things, but somehow that bullshit browser hijacker "Conduit" search toolbar crap got into my computer and reset all my browsers homepages, new tab pages, and stuck a nasty toolbar in them, along with other shitty extensions I didn't agree to installing! It doesn't belong on Source Forge if it's going to use this kind of bullshit that everyone hates and tries to stay far away from! Shame on you!

    Posted 03/16/2013
  • shamakhan
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    and why?

    Posted 03/15/2013
  • eholotius
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    on of the best and useful players!

    Posted 03/13/2013
  • bogdangrigore
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Used it for years. SMPlayer is one of the best video playback applications out there. Apart from remembering the settings of every video you watch, it also is easy to install, use, requires no additional downloads and it is small and compact. Enjoy!

    Posted 02/19/2013
  • sahwar
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    SMPlayer is probably the best all-round media player for GNU/Linux out there (being based on the wonderful mplayer makes it play almost anything you throw at it)! I highly recommend it to Windows users as well! Linux users may wish to use the mplayer2.org library with this player though (based on ffmpeg/libav).

    Posted 02/12/2013
  • dillonbutler
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    smplayer is fast and easy to use

    Posted 02/12/2013
  • oliverfong
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    simple and straight forward to use

    Posted 01/19/2013
  • jonahday
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great product

    Posted 12/16/2012
  • zlotowinfo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    freezing when closing played small/short video

    Posted 12/11/2012
  • roofpeople
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Ive used a lot of media players ( VLC, AVS, media payer classic just 2 name a few) But this is only one ive found that runs most regular formats plus all the occasional ones you come across too. But the outstanding thing is that it has regular codecs updates!! All for free! Is definitely the all in one player anyone needs as it also has an audio sync tool and you tube downloader! the lateest version even has skins to make it look good. Best player ive found in 2 years+

    Posted 12/11/2012
  • gymka
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Same like millions of other players. i use it for good subtitles support, i can move subtitles to black border, they won't interfere with picture; i watch movies on TV screen so i need big fonts, smplayer gives that. it's translated to my language:)

    Posted 12/08/2012
  • joshbooxor
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awesome video and audio player!

    Posted 11/21/2012
  • fexdir
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very stable (and I'm using "unstable" :-P), plays nearly everything, Looks good, can be made looking even better by customizing the UI, supports multiple instances (imagine several monitors each located in different rooms for example). Filters can make faulty files look better. In short: great UI for a great videoplayer^^ Please keep up the good work.

    Posted 11/19/2012
  • maiya78
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    SMPlayer is my favourite video player for Linux. It's honestly perfect, and since it's based on MPlayer, it's crazy-customizable, which I love. It's also incredibly simple. If you can't stand most of the other video players, SMPlayer is for you. It can be happily used by anybody, regardless of nerdiness. Now SMTube, on the other hand, although nice when you know what you're looking for, isn't quite ready to replace YouTube. Why? Simple: It does not do related videos, playlists, account configuration, subscription updates, comments, and some other things. It is nice when you have that occaisional HD video that you want to enhance, but if you're just looking to spend time on YouTube, go to actual YouTube. Hopefully at some point in the future, it will be much better. :) My thanks to the developers for a great job on SMPlayer. I very much recommend it.

    Posted 11/11/2012
  • dominiccook
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works and fast.

    Posted 11/10/2012
  • jimi78
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 10/19/2012
  • codenighter
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Solid front-end video player (with lots of customization) and the possibility to download (multiple) subtitles for a video file. Also it remembers the time position of any video file (so you can continue to see a video without searching for a bookmark).

    Posted 09/23/2012
  • masonbarnes
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great app, works nicely

    Posted 09/08/2012
  • grefer
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good player Great project, i have use MI for a year now. Keep up tne good works guys.+++1:)))))

    Posted 08/14/2012
  • denshtern
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    nice video player, can recommend

    Posted 08/14/2012
  • jhbjhbjhb
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great project, i have use MI for a year now. Keep up tne good works guys.

    Posted 06/29/2012
  • kivilahti
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great app. Smtube has a minor bug but that is not too major to skip this app. It does not every time get whole video while you "record" it. It might miss 1-2 seconds from end. Might be annoying if you download longer series of videos that have just randomly splitted to fit 10-15 min timeframe.

    Posted 05/30/2012
  • renderiska
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best player. Recommend!

    Posted 05/29/2012
  • wicenki
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works perfectly in every way, great soft!

    Posted 05/06/2012
  • bibiki
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 05/05/2012
Show next 25 reviews