SMPlayer Icon

Free media player with support for Youtube

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
93
3
0
1
9
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • eightasura
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It comes bundled with adware.. But they offer a version free of the adware, that noobs will most likely not find hahaha.. Great program!!! very easy on resources, love the youtube browser, and can drag and drop internet radio playlists into it and set it as the default handler for those, supports hundreds of file extensions with no need for third party codecs. very awesome!

    Posted 11/11/2014
  • sergiomb
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I install smplayer for windows from fosshub.com

    Posted 10/29/2014
  • pyfsg
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awesome!!!

    Posted 10/08/2014
  • monkeystripes
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great Player fast and easy to use

    Posted 10/03/2014
  • rainwarrior
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Silently installed "Optimizer Pro" adware, which began popping up ads on my machine intermittently. Very annoying. No drag and drop support.

    Posted 09/30/2014
  • shubhandu
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    a player which is fast, consumes least resources, has the best customisation options, earlier user of KMplayer and vlc player i found it best of all. Its the best video player in the market.

    Posted 09/29/2014
  • rvm
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Notice that the antivirus warnings refer to the SOURCEFORGE WRAPPER. The smplayer installer is completely clean and safe. You can skip the sourceforge wrapper and download the original smplayer installer by clicking in the "direct download" link above.

    Posted 08/14/2014
  • wisejet
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    WARNING! WARNING! WARNING! Do not use the installer comes with the "Download" button !! Do as RVM said or you will get malicious software ..

    Posted 08/12/2014
  • mengsokly
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Please include Khmer Language in SMPlayer. I want to use it in my language.

    Posted 07/21/2014
  • mcel
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    WARNING! Version 14.3.0 Windows installer contains unwanted software (browser add-ons very hard to remove completle) DO NOT USE version 14.3.0!

    Posted 07/11/2014
  • mudongliangabcd
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Linux中很好的影音软件!

    Posted 07/07/2014
  • tenbob
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    MALWARE WARNING - I downloaded this but my antivirus program gave this warning. The file 'smplayer-14.3.0-win32.exe' contained a virus or unwanted program 'ADWARE/InstallCore.Gen' [adware] Apparently there is unwanted adware bundled with the product. You may be able to decline this during the installation. I hate this sort of sneakiness and I didn't trust it at all. I've now deleted the file completely.

    Posted 07/03/2014
  • jimj_wpg
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Discovered SMPlayer this week. Better than Totem. I'd like to see a professional version of the time display, showing the frames.

    Posted 06/22/2014
  • salvo1
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I like this player so much in Linux that I'm now using it on VLC. Highly underrated, and I feel that it's simpler, clearer, and more streamlined than VLC, and it also lets you remap the mouse controls so you can left-click to play and pause, which you still can't do on VLC.

    Posted 06/14/2014
  • tamulionis
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Primary Linux video player for me

    Posted 06/14/2014
  • adem4ik
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I was watching for such video player for my Kubuntu for a long time. Thanks to Ricardo Villalba for making my dreams come true :b

    Posted 06/12/2014
  • redtommy
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Splendid video player, the BEST of all, i have no doubt about it! Thanks a lot to Ricardo for developing this excellent V.P

    Posted 05/06/2014
  • nrc2248
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    SMPlayer is far and away the BEST way to watch HQ 720/1080p mkv files on windows 8.1 64 bit. The quality is perfect and no other video player compares when it comes to quality, decoding, and multi-threading. I only wish it was easier to setup for your machine. When I installed it I had to set multithreading to 4, and choose directx (fast), among other settings such local file cache (8192 is good for me ) Apart from having to customize it and know what you're doing or use trial/erorr....SMPlayer WINS! Goodbye VLC.

    Posted 04/06/2014
  • azlois
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The BEST!!!

    Posted 04/01/2014
  • velikirzav
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent project! Reccommend everybody. Thanks.

    Posted 03/17/2014
  • jlst
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great video player

    Posted 02/15/2014
  • doscape
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I use this player since I read about it in some local website... well, if u customize it properly, the mouse wheel to rewind only 00:02 (2 sec), and in playlist, select "add files recursively", in advanced, select "8+3 file names" - it will fix the other languages not being detected properly(CMD path).

    Posted 02/12/2014
  • rbuelke
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works nicely, and doesn't have the YouTube problems its little brother UMPlayer currently exhibits.

    Posted 12/12/2013
  • daro26west
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A great player, the only thing I miss in it is adjustable time for shutdown or shutdown the computer after watching the film. So often I have switched on SMPlayer to watch and Bestplayer the computer turned off after the movie I fell asleep.:D

    Posted 11/06/2013
  • mjaoune
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Check this new player: sourceforge.net/projects/qallinone It can play music, video and images! And it is cross-platform!

    Posted 10/12/2013
Show next 25 reviews