SMC - The State Machine Compiler Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
15
0
0
0
0
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 0 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 0 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 0 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 0 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • tfileme
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 05/22/2013
  • adriandavis
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simple to use.

    Posted 02/15/2013
  • calebbradley
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great program smc, thanks.

    Posted 01/21/2013
  • colefisher
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    O melhor programa para compartilhamento

    Posted 12/19/2012
  • cameronhansen
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software, thanks smc

    Posted 11/13/2012
  • lukebrooks
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    smc works perfectly.

    Posted 09/15/2012
  • wicenki
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    thanks man, great soft!

    Posted 04/24/2012
  • connorgardner
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    smc works great

    Posted 03/24/2012
  • dev98029
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is the second Finite State Machine generator I have used, and the most flexible. The first was QP, which worked well on the Windows C++ platform I was developing on in 2006. But the number of target platforms for QP is small, and this licensing is complicated. I am now using SMC for some networking logic in my iOS App ( http://dr.edgemoor.com ) and plan to expand its use for other items. Advantages: 1) Simple to use and understand 2) Fairly easy to debug. If you make a mistake in you FSM definition, it will toss a nasty run time error that will point you to what is missing. 3) I want to port my App to Android and possibly Windows Phone, and SMC will work well for this. I plan to put the maximum amount of logic into state machine definitions to make porting simpler. 4) The state charts that SMC generates are really useful. I include them in my DOxygen project documentation, and can quickly look at them to remember how things are working. Disadvantages: 1) Needs more volunteers to add to the documentation. ( Of course, I could be one of those volunteers, so I can't complain. )

    Posted 01/21/2012
  • jconstantine
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've been using SMC to implement non blocking i/o protocols, as well as manage distributed coordination in process groups. I've been using hand written FSMs for this previously, and I was amazed at how much simpler, correct, and more importantly _understandable_ these systems have become after using SMC. Just having the FSM definition in one place, not to mention HTML and DOT generated documentation is a HUGE advantage. Most excellent stuff. And now that Javascript is supported... :)

    Posted 12/03/2011
  • yodaj
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good job

    Posted 07/11/2011
  • cwrapp
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I use SMC state machines to manage stock orders posted on exchanges. These are real orders on real exchanges and SMC tracks the order life cycle without a hitch.

    Posted 01/17/2011
  • janschiefer
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have been using this tool for years (starting with Bob Martin's original implementation), and it has become absolutely indispensable.

    Posted 09/10/2010
  • fpompermaier
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very good job. I used it because of gvSIG CAD tools and after the reading of the tutorial (very accurate) I was able to work with it and do very nice things!

    Posted 03/31/2010
  • kgreg99
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    SMC is very easy to learn and use. I'm sucessfully using it in industrial applications. It is extremely lightweight from deployment and runtime point of view.

    Posted 09/11/2009