Skim Icon

PDF Reader and Note-taker for OS X

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
63
7
2
0
4
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • nitin_sf
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easier and more feature-full than OSX builtin viewer.

    Posted 04/06/2014
  • mmx-mostafa
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Skim is very good and helpful. Thanks for the developing team. I would like to suggest one handy function which is in the preview in mac osx: Is it possible that notes color may be with different color and not the same color for all notes ? Thank you for all your efforts.

    Posted 04/03/2014
  • lj1492
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have used Skim for 4-5 years; it quickly became my go-to PDF reader and annotation application in undergrad, and I continue using it on a daily basis. The note-taking features are particularly helpful, as are its options to customize the toolbar and highlighting colors. As a grad student with a massive collection of marked-up PDFs, I don't know what I would do without it!

    Posted 03/06/2014
  • mystermask
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very good application. Feature rich and well integrated. No stability problems with Skim 1.4.8 and Mavericks (10.9.1 & 10.9.2) so far.

    Posted 03/02/2014
  • liknus10
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for all the work that's being done until now. BUG REPORT: osX 10.9.1 Skim Version 1.4.7 (81) When copying words or sentences from a PDF file to basically whatever other application, letters "i" and "t" are often not pasted into the end use application. Haven't noticed this kind of problem with any other letters though.

    Posted 01/05/2014
  • drfe
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Skim is excellent, particularly since it provides great AppleScript support and nicely collaborates with LaTeX. Unfortunately, Version 1.4.7 (81) crashes under OS X 10.9 (Mavericks) whenever I create a text note and then hit return or try to save the file (EXC_BAD_ACCESS (SIGSEGV)).

    Posted 12/05/2013
  • fratink
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great product! I'm so glad to find out that development is still going on for my favorite app!

    Posted 11/29/2013
  • szivny
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    An excellent application but the latest version 1.4.6 (80) on OS X 10.9 has a bug reported in another review, in my case in a slightly different situation: whenever I cancel a full screen mode I get an empty window and have to press some key or move the cursor to get the view of the pdf back. Would it be possible to fix it please? (Had no trouble on the previous version of OS X.) Thx.

    Posted 11/28/2013
  • gittipgd27
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is exactly the app I have been searching for. As a student doing research this is the ideal tool to read numerous documents. It saves paper and enhances the reading quality with the reading bar, split view and last but not least the ability to make notes. Love it! thank you!

    Posted 11/03/2013
  • gregorymacisaac
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Bug report: I can't copy notes that I have made in another PDF markup program, and then have converted to Skim notes. I have a file on which I made lots of Skim notes. I want to work on it on my ipad. So I converted it, and did a few test underlines, and then loaded it in Skim and converted the notes back to Skim notes. All of the notes showed up on the right sidebar. The notes originally made in Skim could be selected, copied to the clipboard and pasted in a Pages document. The new notes made in another PDF program (tried iAnnotate, Goodreader on ipad, and Acrobat Pro on Mac) showed up, but wouldn't copy and paste. I can export them, but they don't seem to be in the right order. And there is an extra space at the beginning of each note. I don't want to export them (even if they were in the right order), because I am making notes on an epic poem whose internal line numbering doesn't correspond to the pagination of the PDF, so I don't want "Underline, page 5" before each note. Is it possible to fix this, so that coverted notes can be copied and pasted?

    Posted 10/23/2013
  • johny1
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works really nice for auto-updates while issuing compilation commands from TexStudio. Big Thanks !

    Posted 09/21/2013
  • miesque1127
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Small problem. When printing, the far left side is cut off. How do I fix this??

    Posted 06/21/2013
  • ashleydean
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Skim-app is good! Thanks.

    Posted 06/18/2013
  • century23
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    How would you rate Skim PDF Reader and Note-taker for OS X have a large learning curve like any large piece of software designed to manage company resources on a large scale. However, once you get over those initial humps it's a pleasure to work with and a great community of which I enjoy participation.

    Posted 05/13/2013
  • buckchen
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I found a app in App Store, it's called 'PDF Reader Plus'. Developer is 'Soft TX' It seems it's a cheap copy of Skim PDF Reader.

    Posted 03/17/2013
  • cephasatheos
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Skim is hands-down the BEST PDF and document reader working on OSX. Seriously. It does what it say on the box, pretty much perfectly. If I had another thumb to thumbs-upify, I'd use it. Highly recommended.

    Posted 02/22/2013
  • nolansanders
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    simple and straight forward to use

    Posted 02/11/2013
  • gabrielcarlson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great program skim-app, thanks.

    Posted 01/17/2013
  • colefisher
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    skim-app works great

    Posted 12/15/2012
  • eriklora
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simply perfect to port my GTK+ applications from Linux!! I recommend! It could be bit tricky at start but everything will be just fine after red some doc's and tutorials about the subject.

    Posted 10/29/2012
  • xadwest
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very nice project! Thanks for good work!

    Posted 10/29/2012
  • maxcox
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great app, works nicely

    Posted 10/24/2012
  • goodparentssite
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I registered with Sourceforge to leave this recommendation. All the work done on Skim is greatly appreciated. I even feel drawn to the Donate button. but am trying to fight it, but not sure if I can for much longer.

    Posted 10/21/2012
  • oliverrobinson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fast and simple.

    Posted 09/08/2012
  • leif-arthur
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is the application I have wanted for years! I love being able to mark up pdfs and then have my notes collected. The reading bar and full screen mode are both great features the facilitate the on-screen reading experience. Scrolling through a document is an order of magnitude snappier than Acrobat. The sciences deal almost exclusively with pdfs versions of journal articles these days, and Skim is a scientist's best friend.

    Posted 07/26/2012
Show next 25 reviews