Skim Icon

A PDF Reader and Note-taker for OS X

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
64
7
2
0
4
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • mobart02
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is in reference to SKIM. Since one of the last updates the free hand drawing tool now lags behind the actual writing using a WACOM table. It is so slow you can't see what you have written or where it is written until a significant time lapse. It use be that you wrote as if you were writing on paper. Now it is basically useless to use as a note taker. Is there some setting that controls this or can you revert it back to the way it use to work.

    Posted 04/09/2013
  • buckchen
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I found a app in App Store, it's called 'PDF Reader Plus'. Developer is 'Soft TX' It seems it's a cheap copy of Skim PDF Reader.

    Posted 03/17/2013
  • cephasatheos
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Skim is hands-down the BEST PDF and document reader working on OSX. Seriously. It does what it say on the box, pretty much perfectly. If I had another thumb to thumbs-upify, I'd use it. Highly recommended.

    Posted 02/22/2013
  • mamakhan
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice PDF reader

    Posted 02/12/2013
  • nolansanders
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    simple and straight forward to use

    Posted 02/11/2013
  • gabrielcarlson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great program skim-app, thanks.

    Posted 01/17/2013
  • colefisher
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    skim-app works great

    Posted 12/15/2012
  • eriklora
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simply perfect to port my GTK+ applications from Linux!! I recommend! It could be bit tricky at start but everything will be just fine after red some doc's and tutorials about the subject.

    Posted 10/29/2012
  • xadwest
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very nice project! Thanks for good work!

    Posted 10/29/2012
  • maxcox
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great app, works nicely

    Posted 10/24/2012
  • goodparentssite
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I registered with Sourceforge to leave this recommendation. All the work done on Skim is greatly appreciated. I even feel drawn to the Donate button. but am trying to fight it, but not sure if I can for much longer.

    Posted 10/21/2012
  • oliverrobinson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fast and simple.

    Posted 09/08/2012
  • lallous1
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Ok it's the best PDF reader for Mac and very ergonomic with its multiple types of annotations.... but the annotations are not displayable in other pdf viewer software (adobe, pdf-xchange viewer) including the one that is freely included with a Mac (Preview). So collaboration wise, not interesting.

    Posted 08/26/2012
  • leif-arthur
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is the application I have wanted for years! I love being able to mark up pdfs and then have my notes collected. The reading bar and full screen mode are both great features the facilitate the on-screen reading experience. Scrolling through a document is an order of magnitude snappier than Acrobat. The sciences deal almost exclusively with pdfs versions of journal articles these days, and Skim is a scientist's best friend.

    Posted 07/26/2012
  • lustinorevo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best PDF reader for Mac.

    Posted 05/10/2012
  • milsunskinug
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent application!

    Posted 05/08/2012
  • basilcarloni
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is the best PDF reader

    Posted 05/05/2012
  • luisiopanui
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fantastic job, thanks for writing

    Posted 05/05/2012
  • oid-3764705
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hi, Skim is an excellent app to use. Thank you! Just wanted to echo the last post - there is an app called PDF Reader on the App store when I did a search for Skim. Icon, image used (says 'Skim is a PDF reader etc...) and product description is the exact same thing found on this site. Sounds like blatant copyright infringement to me! The seller has the audacity to ask for $15.99, which I would very much rather you got it for the excellent work you do.

    Posted 03/08/2012
  • oid-3715781
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hi, I was found an App in App store, The App's name is "PDF Reader". App address: http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/id495457866?mt=12 That app icon is the same and the feature description has been lifted directtly from the Skim project website. That application should be pulled as quickly as possible.

    Posted 01/30/2012
  • oid-3695379
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Better than Preview! Wish you had a port for Ubuntu as well!!! I use both MacOSX an Linux and, when at work, I really miss Skim features! Couldn't it be ported using GNUStep?

    Posted 01/12/2012
  • oid-3531982
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Look! Skim is probably the best and most amazing software to view and take notes on .pdf s. I use this to take notes on graduate level course materials, hand outs, and research papers. Why is it so good? It allows many types of annotation, and different ways of easily storing notes linked to anchors on the document. Any sort of text annotation like highlighting and underlining is simple. Furthermore there are many ways of exporting the document to allow for further changes or for printing. What I am looking forward to is Skim going to a PC platform in addition to the mac. This will improve it's universality, and the ability of it to be used in conjunction with "cloud" technology. Access to omputers without this software is solved by downloading or using online applications. All in all this is great stuff.

    Posted 09/02/2011
  • philkime
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The synctex support is excellent, makes auctex+latex really powerful.

    Posted 08/24/2011
  • aslilove
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    by far, one of the most tree-saving programs I have ever used. I started using this back when Preview had horrible annotating tools. Preview now has much better annotating tools, but Skim's ability to save the annotations separately from the pdf itself (i.e. annotations are not baked on the pdf) allows me to share articles and to choose whether I want to share my personal notes as well.

    Posted 06/10/2011
  • oid-3393758
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best OS X pdf viewer, made better by the fact that it now updates pdfs, which is a big help when I use LaTeX.

    Posted 05/18/2011
Show next 25 reviews