Skim Icon

A PDF Reader and Note-taker for OS X

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
67
9
2
0
4
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • gmarcotavazzani
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Bug report: Apple Mail pops up this message: "The application Skim can’t open “XXXXX.PDF”. Do you want to save the attachment or choose a different application to open it? By the way, why this site links to this page by clicking 'Bug Reports'?

    Posted 10/14/2013
  • johny1
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works really nice for auto-updates while issuing compilation commands from TexStudio. Big Thanks !

    Posted 09/21/2013
  • miesque1127
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Small problem. When printing, the far left side is cut off. How do I fix this??

    Posted 06/21/2013
  • ashleydean
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Skim-app is good! Thanks.

    Posted 06/18/2013
  • century23
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    How would you rate Skim PDF Reader and Note-taker for OS X have a large learning curve like any large piece of software designed to manage company resources on a large scale. However, once you get over those initial humps it's a pleasure to work with and a great community of which I enjoy participation.

    Posted 05/13/2013
  • mobart02
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is in reference to SKIM. Since one of the last updates the free hand drawing tool now lags behind the actual writing using a WACOM table. It is so slow you can't see what you have written or where it is written until a significant time lapse. It use be that you wrote as if you were writing on paper. Now it is basically useless to use as a note taker. Is there some setting that controls this or can you revert it back to the way it use to work.

    Posted 04/09/2013
  • buckchen
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I found a app in App Store, it's called 'PDF Reader Plus'. Developer is 'Soft TX' It seems it's a cheap copy of Skim PDF Reader.

    Posted 03/17/2013
  • cephasatheos
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Skim is hands-down the BEST PDF and document reader working on OSX. Seriously. It does what it say on the box, pretty much perfectly. If I had another thumb to thumbs-upify, I'd use it. Highly recommended.

    Posted 02/22/2013
  • mamakhan
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice PDF reader

    Posted 02/12/2013
  • nolansanders
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    simple and straight forward to use

    Posted 02/11/2013
  • gabrielcarlson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great program skim-app, thanks.

    Posted 01/17/2013
  • colefisher
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    skim-app works great

    Posted 12/15/2012
  • eriklora
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simply perfect to port my GTK+ applications from Linux!! I recommend! It could be bit tricky at start but everything will be just fine after red some doc's and tutorials about the subject.

    Posted 10/29/2012
  • xadwest
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very nice project! Thanks for good work!

    Posted 10/29/2012
  • maxcox
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great app, works nicely

    Posted 10/24/2012
  • goodparentssite
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I registered with Sourceforge to leave this recommendation. All the work done on Skim is greatly appreciated. I even feel drawn to the Donate button. but am trying to fight it, but not sure if I can for much longer.

    Posted 10/21/2012
  • oliverrobinson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fast and simple.

    Posted 09/08/2012
  • lallous1
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Ok it's the best PDF reader for Mac and very ergonomic with its multiple types of annotations.... but the annotations are not displayable in other pdf viewer software (adobe, pdf-xchange viewer) including the one that is freely included with a Mac (Preview). So collaboration wise, not interesting.

    Posted 08/26/2012
  • leif-arthur
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is the application I have wanted for years! I love being able to mark up pdfs and then have my notes collected. The reading bar and full screen mode are both great features the facilitate the on-screen reading experience. Scrolling through a document is an order of magnitude snappier than Acrobat. The sciences deal almost exclusively with pdfs versions of journal articles these days, and Skim is a scientist's best friend.

    Posted 07/26/2012
  • lustinorevo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best PDF reader for Mac.

    Posted 05/10/2012
  • milsunskinug
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent application!

    Posted 05/08/2012
  • basilcarloni
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is the best PDF reader

    Posted 05/05/2012
  • luisiopanui
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fantastic job, thanks for writing

    Posted 05/05/2012
  • oid-3764705
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hi, Skim is an excellent app to use. Thank you! Just wanted to echo the last post - there is an app called PDF Reader on the App store when I did a search for Skim. Icon, image used (says 'Skim is a PDF reader etc...) and product description is the exact same thing found on this site. Sounds like blatant copyright infringement to me! The seller has the audacity to ask for $15.99, which I would very much rather you got it for the excellent work you do.

    Posted 03/08/2012
  • oid-3715781
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hi, I was found an App in App store, The App's name is "PDF Reader". App address: http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/id495457866?mt=12 That app icon is the same and the feature description has been lifted directtly from the Skim project website. That application should be pulled as quickly as possible.

    Posted 01/30/2012
Show next 25 reviews