Shairport4w Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
42
1
0
0
0
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • exaile
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Been using sourceforge for long time, but registered to review this. Just what i was looking for, before finding it i was considering buying another software, but the trial of it made me doubt, the sound sometimes slowed-down, some stutter, so i kept searching for other options, tried a few but some didn't work, others didn't even bother trying and between all that i was thinking "someone must have made an open-source software for this", so i searched a little more and finally found it, did the download, installed it, very easy to setup and well, it is working great, no stutter, no slowdowns, no latency problems, perfect, and i can even record what i want, configure it's quality. This site never disappointed me when i needed something, and this software, very good, thanks to the developer.

    Posted 01/01/2015
  • munchmonkii
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Holy crap. AWESOME software. I've been looking for a way to play music from my iphone app. I was using 3.5 stereo cable to feed into my line in jack on PC, but Shairport4w is soo much easier and more functional! The newer version of Sharport even shows the name/artist of what's playing and allows you next/previous, pause/play, rewind/fastforward functions from the comfort of your . BEST OF ALL. OPEN SOURCE FREEWARE. :D Yay 9-24-2014 UPDATE: When I try to play music from a playlist, the Shairport software will drop the connection after 1 or 2 songs. I do not understand why. I'm able to re-connect only if I select "change" button and press "ok. This is on a Win7 x64 machine running as administrator. I upgraded the machine to Windows 8.1 and the issue doesn't occur at all. IT's working perfectly now.

    Posted 09/23/2014
  • johnoff
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This software is the key to my whole-home audio system. Take one ancient laptop running WinXP, add four USB sound cards and four cheap amplifiers connected to in-wall speakers. Then top it off with a USB relay board (to turn the amps off when not in use, because 0.36 a KwH ) Without Shairport4w and it's rich feature set, none of this would be possible!

    Posted 07/10/2014
  • evb62
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I couldn't be happier. Here I was thinking that I would need an Apple TV to stream Spotify or other audio from the iPad. Now the HTPC receives the audio and passes it on to the amp without turning on the TV. And it even lets me choose an audio output other than the Windows default. Well done!

    Posted 06/22/2014
  • aksingh11
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works better than stated I read a lot of reviews for before in installed . Worked perfectly - And i love the Covert Art Display :) . You'll see a tiny symbol in the airplay device list as soon as you install.

    Posted 04/27/2014
  • skiing878
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    i am able to stream content from iTunes to my windows 7 machine with shairport4w on it. my iPhone doesn't recognize the windows 7 machine as a airplay device though.

    Posted 03/14/2014
  • harshdevj
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is a great app. Thanks to the developers. Kudos to the simplicity.

    Posted 01/22/2014
  • viper522
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Perfect.

    Posted 12/20/2013
  • binnsas
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Brilliant piece of software, downloaded installed and working in less than 5 minutes. Simple. Works perfectly. Genius!

    Posted 12/14/2013
  • cbrandlehner
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Surprisingly easy to configure Windows application. No setup required. Just extract the zip archive and start the executeable file. Once started you can configure to autostart with every windows logon. I was able to stream audio from an iPhone an liked that you also see title and artist information displayed.

    Posted 10/19/2013
  • robertleska
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great work! Works flawlessly! I love the new feature that it displays the "Now Playing-Speech Bubble"! I wish it looked nicer and showed the album cover too. But oher than that this program deserves its thumbs up! Thank you, frankfriemel! Keep it up! **Update: Thank you for adding the album cover feature to the "Now Playing-Speech Bubble" in your latest update!! I Use your program daily! I love it!

    Posted 05/18/2013
  • alexdotcom
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It works fine for me. Thanks alot

    Posted 05/02/2013
  • docfr
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great work!

    Posted 03/29/2013
  • monksoffunk
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    works fine

    Posted 03/10/2013
  • elliotking
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    small and efficient and gets the job done.

    Posted 02/14/2013
  • kalebhartman
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good project shairport4w

    Posted 01/20/2013
  • jamesjamz
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Saved me a lot of money on AirPort Expresses! Great Program - I can see this going far!

    Posted 01/06/2013
  • brendenjohnston
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Perfect. Thank you.

    Posted 12/19/2012
  • kalebwhite
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good job shairport4w

    Posted 12/18/2012
  • lydiawharnr
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works just as expected. Thanks

    Posted 11/13/2012
  • adamhernandez
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good work

    Posted 11/11/2012
  • kaiyuanxie
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I like this.

    Posted 10/18/2012
  • mir01
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good job! thank you

    Posted 10/05/2012
  • ira558541
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    My iphone and ipod are thanks to this software :)

    Posted 09/19/2012
  • elirodrigues
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    shairport4w, easy to use

    Posted 09/14/2012
Show next 18 reviews