7-Zip Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
604
6
2
1
19
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • thexfile
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Still no RAR5 support.

    Posted 05/03/2014
  • botenannie
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This program is a piece of shit. Didn't open basic files or basic operations. If it doesn't work for Windows 7, it should say so.

    Posted 03/18/2014
  • dluy
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Does not extract properly with Windows 8.1

    Posted 03/07/2014
  • nfatoys
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have an archive that I share with others. I periodically make changes to the source files that have been archived, so I need to update the archive with these changed files. 7-Zip seems to lack this most fundamental feature of a file archiving program - The ability to simply update the archive contents with source files that have changed or added to the directories present in the archive, since the time the archive was originally created. This feature is found in every other Zip like archive program I've ever used. But if it's part of 7-Zip, they've gone out of their way to hide it.

    Posted 06/02/2013
  • vare
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Can 7-zip be neater and more beautiful?

    Posted 02/18/2013
  • alladin-123
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great archive only now and I use them all the advice.

    Posted 02/12/2013
  • smokeyjoe859
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent software. Covers all my archive file needs. Easier to use than WinZip or WinRar. Thank you!

    Posted 02/12/2013
  • sem78
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks very good project! +

    Posted 02/12/2013
  • lezdomin
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    7-Zip is a classic software for archieving, and it works fine, but I personally prefer RAR :)

    Posted 02/12/2013
  • bcdalai
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Please release the latest version. We are waiting for some thing new and improved. It's very better than WinRAR and WinZip. bcdalai

    Posted 02/12/2013
  • sellinggold
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Its very old program. Today use WinRar or something else. I think...

    Posted 01/30/2012
  • railhound
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The software is great except the pathname handling is terrible. It's impossble to reliably store a full path name in the compressed file.

    Posted 02/27/2011
  • kerry5
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    it didnt work

    Posted 06/12/2010
  • erminestoat
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    MSI of a beta version does not work on old processors AMD, for example AMD Athlon XP, 1533 MHz (11.5 x 133) 1800+ it is a pity!, it is a shame!

    Posted 03/23/2010
  • diskman
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The instruction for building lzma is FUCKING obscene! I've been using linux for years and haven't seen such sorry as instructions since about 1997!!!

    Posted 03/13/2010
  • theflipside
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    When there are RAR files spiltted into many single files 7-zip cant exctract the content, it creates an error. This stops me from not using WinRAR :(

    Posted 02/15/2010
  • ineloquucius
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    bogglingly unwieldy, confusing and not consistent from release to release. Actually had to go back 3 or 4 versions from time to time when ADDing options to my archive script. Makes otherwise simple, familiar tasks difficult and unfamiliar.

    Posted 12/31/2009
  • xe0on
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    dangerous bug report.

    Posted 07/28/2009
  • limasierra
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Be VERY careful in using 7-Zip with secure information. Program has logic bugs and IS NOT SECURE. See mine & others bug reports.

    Posted 07/25/2009