7-Zip Icon

A free file archiver for extremely high compression

Read Editorial Review

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
605
7
2
1
19
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • aryaputrasrj
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simple Superb Effective & Compresses better than Winrar

    Posted 08/01/2014
  • zers
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Greate

    Posted 07/07/2014
  • leewiscovitch
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hands down the best compression utility on the market! The features are smart, it doesn't get in the way, and you can't beat the price.

    Posted 07/04/2014
  • riverside01
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    this works very well on Windows 8.1, you will need to manually make the file associations. some advanced archiving features are missing, but it is difficult to find a decent free extractor for windows. look no further.

    Posted 06/30/2014
  • gigapouch
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I don't know what to say, except great software.

    Posted 06/19/2014
  • putanacha
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent program, the best for mine opinion. But please add in every download of installers SHA-1 sum to check integrity. All the best for you 7-Zip project. GOGO

    Posted 06/16/2014
  • caiocampos
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best free compressor ever made

    Posted 05/24/2014
  • ianstas
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A fantastic archiver for Windows plus full support for most nix's with p7zip

    Posted 05/22/2014
  • ypchase
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best free zip program bar none.

    Posted 05/21/2014
  • wolf1000235
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    perfect, better than winrar! Deserve 5 stars, I'd give even 10! Please, I would love if you could compress files in .RAR archives ... although it would be pretty useless, since there are already .7Z . thank you for reading this comment-review, and I apologize for my English. :)

    Posted 05/20/2014
  • guastardo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Perfect! Just *please* add the support to RAR-5 archives...

    Posted 05/15/2014
  • jtmoon22
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This program should come with all versions of Windows. It's excellent in every way.

    Posted 05/10/2014
  • mariel450
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fast, reliable, clean interface, no frillies. Better than any other similar win application IMHO.

    Posted 05/09/2014
  • praneeth03
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Way better than winzip or winrar - will never go back!!

    Posted 05/03/2014
  • johnny-v
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Bloody marvellous.

    Posted 04/29/2014
  • simaostephanie
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Muito bom.

    Posted 04/24/2014
  • jprojasw
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very verstile and useful

    Posted 04/23/2014
  • cseibar
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The program is just 1 MB. It opens a lot of types like .rar, .zip, tgz... I only miss the format .ace, but it is not very popular. I have been using 7zip for several years with Windows XP, Vista, 7 and 8 in 32 and 64 bits without problems. I have compressed files up to 25 GB.

    Posted 04/13/2014
  • tab64
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    should add file association when installed, other then that five stars

    Posted 04/03/2014
  • honestflames
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    @botenannie If you are having difficulty with 7zip and Windows, you have a problem with your machine. I have been using 7zip for several years on a variety of hardware and Windows OS and never had anything other than great performance.

    Posted 03/27/2014
  • agos-fs
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent compressor and FREE! Thank you Igor! :)

    Posted 03/13/2014
  • wizardforcel
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    really good

    Posted 03/11/2014
  • lightnlar
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good program, fast and clean. I use it to encrypt sensitive folders.

    Posted 03/10/2014
  • espyo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simple, powerful. It's impossible to keep using the likes of WinRar when 7-Zip is around. It's one of the first programs I install, every time! Not only does it extract from multiple file types, it's also very customizable on its extractions and compressions, and the 7z format is very effective.

    Posted 03/07/2014
  • ddiehl
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very nice software.

    Posted 03/04/2014
Show next 25 reviews