7-Zip Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
588
5
2
1
18
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • cseibar
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The program is just 1 MB. It opens a lot of types like .rar, .zip, tgz... I only miss the format .ace, but it is not very popular. I have been using 7zip for several years with Windows XP, Vista, 7 and 8 in 32 and 64 bits without problems. I have compressed files up to 25 GB.

    Posted 04/13/2014
  • tab64
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    should add file association when installed, other then that five stars

    Posted 04/03/2014
  • honestflames
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    @botenannie If you are having difficulty with 7zip and Windows, you have a problem with your machine. I have been using 7zip for several years on a variety of hardware and Windows OS and never had anything other than great performance.

    Posted 03/27/2014
  • agos-fs
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent compressor and FREE! Thank you Igor! :)

    Posted 03/13/2014
  • wizardforcel
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    really good

    Posted 03/11/2014
  • lightnlar
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good program, fast and clean. I use it to encrypt sensitive folders.

    Posted 03/10/2014
  • espyo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simple, powerful. It's impossible to keep using the likes of WinRar when 7-Zip is around. It's one of the first programs I install, every time! Not only does it extract from multiple file types, it's also very customizable on its extractions and compressions, and the 7z format is very effective.

    Posted 03/07/2014
  • ddiehl
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very nice software.

    Posted 03/04/2014
  • trgone
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    My most used utility

    Posted 03/01/2014
  • kcinlacity
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It is very easy to use and it is Free.

    Posted 02/19/2014
  • tumblrmaxtv121
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    tumblr Smart camcorders.Haiti And in the USA Business Market Products just so you could Buy purchase items like asklaila Nexus TV live Production.Humanoid Robotic Microship system.30% Add Photos Add a Widget Add Videos Edit Profile Change Skin New Box Friend’s View What’s New View all updates im hot in on fire ladies just for u miramax an HDTV movie cinema TVG live Production Cable TV Promoter Programs for Broadcast Programming. 6 days ago • Foursquare Comment • Like im hot in on fire ladies just for u added new photos. 17 days ago • Comment • Like im hot in on fire ladies just for u live production Tv networking broadcasters progamming 19 days ago • Comment • Like Gifts View all gifts Videos View all 620 videos Add Videos Copy You need Flash player 8+ and Javascript enabled to see your videos. Download Flash Player Left Wall Add

    Posted 02/15/2014
  • sam-page
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best compression program, bar none.

    Posted 02/04/2014
  • moderngroup
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I like 7zip!

    Posted 01/31/2014
  • sch-ant
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    +

    Posted 01/26/2014
  • wbffox
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    One of those programs you really shouldn't live without.

    Posted 01/23/2014
  • apometron
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software, I love it.

    Posted 01/19/2014
  • vgf89
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is my favorite file compression and decompression utility. HOWEVER, there is one crucial feature missing: If there are errors when decompressing a multi-part archive, it does not report which of the parts contains the error. When I had a 30-part RAR, and there were errors during extraction, I actually had to go an download WinRAR to find which split rar file contained the error. Adding a string that says which file.partXX.rar file contains the error should be extremely simple to implement.

    Posted 11/19/2013
  • it-architect
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    7-Zip makes files smaller, which makes a big difference when downloading large files, such as virtual machine files. Open Source has gained importance over the past 5 years since the government has become directly involved in partisan industrial espionage. Software vendors are in the same position as Lavabit, thereby making 7-Zip more valuable than a commercial product.

    Posted 11/07/2013
  • valebes
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best program for compression, if you want i suggest you to try my GUI for 7Zip "Tiny File"

    Posted 10/30/2013
  • crawlball
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    My favourite, easy to use, lightweight, fast. I use WinRar as well but just for the case. 7-zip is handling about 98% of all tasks I throw at it.

    Posted 10/22/2013
  • suriyaakudo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best file archiver-programm!

    Posted 10/12/2013
  • ipleva
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Just downloaded and compared it with WinRAR which is probably the most common and widely used archiving tool. I used a 34 MB .pdf file for the test and zipped it with maximum compression. Archiving was OK and zipped archive from 7-Zip was even a few Bytes smaller than that from WinRAR. User interface is simple - I would say spartan :), but I like this. 7-Zip is even available in my mother tongue - Slovak. And it is a freeware - so no annoying messages like when you want to use WinRAR after 40 days of trial and you don't have money to buy it. The only significant defeciency might be the fact that you cannot make .rar archives, you can only unpack these.

    Posted 09/26/2013
  • tomsx
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very nice product, I love it. Works pretty well

    Posted 08/27/2013
  • tomakole
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great replacement of ZIP or RAR. Nearly perfect except the interface uneasy to understand by debutant in IT. (Really ugly indeed :) Good to archive, small backup or mail attachment. "Must have" on Windows Desktop.

    Posted 08/25/2013
  • udreese
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent product which has yet to let me down.

    Posted 08/23/2013
Show next 25 reviews