7-Zip Icon

A free file archiver for extremely high compression

Read Editorial Review

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
607
8
4
1
20
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • bobfresh
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    True the compression ratio is great but.. this app has major issues that havent been addressed in years and are blatently obvious to any windows user. The compression thread priority appears to be set at the same level as the window thread making it unresponsive or ludicrously slow. FYI the gui should always be > or at least = to the packing thread. The gui looks as if it was written by adding toolbar buttons to a msvc6.0 template. Ie. Bad. This compression app deserves a better gui if it is ever to be as useable as winrar/winzip. Try winrars shell extentions for an example of user configured usablity. Please stop squezzing 0.00021blah% more compession out of it and deal with the UI please.also while it gets slightly better compression than winrar it is MUCH slower at packing. Id Love to love it but i dont. Sorry.

    Posted 09/24/2014
  • haoyupei
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great team!

    Posted 09/07/2014
  • poobah1
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Stable, reliable, fast and functional. However, it has some neglected flaws: -no support for UAC -drag 'n' drop causes files to extracted and then copied, which is very slow -Doesn't have a function for running an installer from an archive

    Posted 08/31/2014
  • darkninja500
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent Software. @ download-ardamax-keylogger-withcrack.blogspot.com Download Ardamax Keylogger 4.1 with crack free and hack today facebook,twitter etc but don't mis-use it.

    Posted 08/26/2014
  • rtbaileyphd
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    7Zip does not handle Windows junctions or symbolic links at all. I see this has been reported in your bug list years ago, but nothing has been done about it.

    Posted 08/25/2014
  • twaynes
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    7zip is a great product but it's being pushed so covertly and heavily by so many sites, many of the supposedly very reliable, and even purchases apps, I refuse to use it. I never know what some download may do to my current install and thus avoid it. Yes, I have used it before all the crap pushing started and from what I can see it is still a great app. Can't the miscreants behind all that be crushed somehow?

    Posted 08/23/2014
  • aryaputrasrj
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simple Superb Effective & Compresses better than Winrar

    Posted 08/01/2014
  • extremegtx
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great

    Posted 07/25/2014
  • zers
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Greate

    Posted 07/07/2014
  • leewiscovitch
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hands down the best compression utility on the market! The features are smart, it doesn't get in the way, and you can't beat the price.

    Posted 07/04/2014
  • riverside01
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    this works very well on Windows 8.1, you will need to manually make the file associations. some advanced archiving features are missing, but it is difficult to find a decent free extractor for windows. look no further.

    Posted 06/30/2014
  • gigapouch
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I don't know what to say, except great software.

    Posted 06/19/2014
  • putanacha
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent program, the best for mine opinion. But please add in every download of installers SHA-1 sum to check integrity. All the best for you 7-Zip project. GOGO

    Posted 06/16/2014
  • caiocampos
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best free compressor ever made

    Posted 05/24/2014
  • ianstas
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A fantastic archiver for Windows plus full support for most nix's with p7zip

    Posted 05/22/2014
  • ypchase
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best free zip program bar none.

    Posted 05/21/2014
  • wolf1000235
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    perfect, better than winrar! Deserve 5 stars, I'd give even 10! Please, I would love if you could compress files in .RAR archives ... although it would be pretty useless, since there are already .7Z . thank you for reading this comment-review, and I apologize for my English. :)

    Posted 05/20/2014
  • guastardo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Perfect! Just *please* add the support to RAR-5 archives...

    Posted 05/15/2014
  • jtmoon22
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This program should come with all versions of Windows. It's excellent in every way.

    Posted 05/10/2014
  • mariel450
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fast, reliable, clean interface, no frillies. Better than any other similar win application IMHO.

    Posted 05/09/2014
  • praneeth03
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Way better than winzip or winrar - will never go back!!

    Posted 05/03/2014
  • thexfile
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Still no RAR5 support.

    Posted 05/03/2014
  • johnny-v
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Bloody marvellous.

    Posted 04/29/2014
  • simaostephanie
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Muito bom.

    Posted 04/24/2014
  • tiredchrisnewbi
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've given this 4 stars Because I HAD to give it SOMETHING... I'm (Virtually) a Complete beginner to the internet And I've got some 'compressed'/'zipped' files/folders in my (Win7 32 bit) "My Documents" & I Think I've read Somewhere that installing this Will help me 'Open' (ie read) them - I HOPE I was right - Cos I Really dont know WHERE to begin my studies/learning.... :) - I Dont know How to contact 'support'..... :( Thanks

    Posted 04/24/2014
Show next 25 reviews