7-Zip Icon

A free file archiver for extremely high compression

Read Editorial Review

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
627
9
5
1
21
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • tirramissu
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best for windows.

    Posted 02/27/2015
  • workabyte
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    easy to use and well built

    Posted 02/13/2015
  • rasjv
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent!

    Posted 01/19/2015
  • castanetkhen
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I believe that there was a time when it was possible to unzip within Windows without having to download and install such an application but then those days were over. So I downloaded WinZip to help but they've decided to force users to have to register and pay, which in this day and age is a pretty unfriendly thing to do considering that so many others offer free but rather excellent utilities. And so I was forced to find an alternative to WinZip. At first I saw jZip but Chrome blocked the download as it suspects dangerous payload no matter how many times I tried to work around it. And that finally brought me around to 7Zip and may experiences so far have been nothing but terrific. Downloading was FAST and PAINLESS. The installation was just as simple. Seeing that it's a GNU Licence gave me reason to believe this is the real deal with no viruses in the background. Not a Russian job, which is reassuring. And the first time I used it was so quick and easy, so effortless and so friendly. There was basically not much to have to learn to get up and running so fast. I didn't stumble. I didn't find anything cryptic. I didn't have to keep trying. First time in, first time successful. And fast. What's there not to like? K. PS: Difficult to grade Support when I haven't the need to use it so far.

    Posted 01/15/2015
  • e71a7i4s
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fantastic. A+++

    Posted 01/06/2015
  • mydvine
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Daghan Salamat! Thank You Very Much!

    Posted 01/04/2015
  • ineuw
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's an excellent tool. I never needed support so I can't answer that

    Posted 01/04/2015
  • alexcamargos
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent

    Posted 01/04/2015
  • mab677777
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very good and free archiver.

    Posted 12/24/2014
  • guillaumecombot
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    thanks !

    Posted 12/14/2014
  • enoranedelec
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software

    Posted 12/14/2014
  • liditu
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    awesome work, thank you guys!

    Posted 12/14/2014
  • joe_devore
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Updates ^_^

    Posted 12/10/2014
  • gzuberi
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have been using 7-Zip almost from the beginning, Thank you so much... Excellent Work!!!

    Posted 12/08/2014
  • brianmuntz
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    DANGER: I have recently discovered that 7-zip has been transferring data over the internet. The Creator Igor Pavlov has not explained. This application first appeared on the internet December 7 2010. My concern is this. 1. Nearly impossible to remove. 2. Unexplained internet usage. 3. Russians have been having a hay-day with American personal pictures and videos and using them for entertainment that is believed to be stolen from people's computers. (in the recent news). Is there a connection? I am very concerned there is a connection. This very well could be a source of information that is taken from people's PCs and delivered right into the hands of people you don't want the to have. I do not side with the reviews here on this application at all. People need to understand that Free is NEVER Free. You have to pay something. Often it's your email address and get spam. Your costs for FREE stuff. Sometimes FREE stuff costs a lot more. This one seems to have a very high price. Consumer be warned.

    Posted 12/06/2014
  • jamspoon
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Delightfully easy to use. Makes working with archives seamless and time saving. Particularly like the ability to open a zip etc and drill down to see what's in there, then to drag and drop out only the files you want.

    Posted 12/02/2014
  • jmartorell
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Impressive performance and great usability

    Posted 11/28/2014
  • opzione-s
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Indispensabile!

    Posted 11/26/2014
  • sheanhoxie
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works very well, I've been using it for years without any complaints!

    Posted 10/30/2014
  • notatroll
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great program. But can't you make a better UI? Looks very ugly. File manager is also so poor. Many people have requested you for so many years but you have done nothing. Please make a better UI like that of Windows file manager. A better UI will increase the users and you will get more support as well. So please make a better UI soon.

    Posted 10/19/2014
  • jordicraft21
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good and easy but not is truth thah supercompress

    Posted 10/10/2014
  • fixeworks
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The range of features and compression capability is out of question, also it is under 2 MB after installation so 7zip is just a MUST. However, developers here are just doing what they want without listening to features required by users (In my opinion that's the reason why other zip utilities are more popular), I imagine they spending nights for gaining 1% compression rate wihtou increasing usability (seriously, I can't imagine why no one forked 7zip to redesign it a bit). Issues: 1) Most websites (95%) provide only Md5 and Sha-1 checksums (because are cheaper I guess), those checksums are not secure as Sha-256, but if 7zip does not provide any checksums for those websites then the result is that user cannot do checksum wich is totally safeless (seein developers answering "install a Md5 utility" is a bit irritating). Also if the excuse for not adding MD5 and SHa-1 is that they are not secure, then just remove CRC too (wich is redundant since downloads from TCP connections already have CRC at TCP protocol level). 2) Allow copypasting to clipboard of checksums of file manager for make comparing easy 3) File manager is obsolete, use native folder browsing for each OS, it is much faster reliable and also make possible to users make use of their shortcuts and settings (this is also a question of accessibility, what if someone is using bigger fonts because visually impaired while 7 zip file manager still have small fonts? that force him to use the magnifier). 4) Allow decompression of tar.gz at once with 1 command. How difficult is wrap 2 sequential commands as 1?

    Posted 10/07/2014
  • jfd553
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy and effective app!

    Posted 10/06/2014
  • bobfresh
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    True the compression ratio is great but.. this app has major issues that havent been addressed in years and are blatently obvious to any windows user. The compression thread priority appears to be set at the same level as the window thread making it unresponsive or ludicrously slow. FYI the gui should always be > or at least = to the packing thread. The gui looks as if it was written by adding toolbar buttons to a msvc6.0 template. Ie. Bad. This compression app deserves a better gui if it is ever to be as useable as winrar/winzip. Try winrars shell extentions for an example of user configured usablity. Please stop squezzing 0.00021blah% more compession out of it and deal with the UI please.also while it gets slightly better compression than winrar it is MUCH slower at packing. Id Love to love it but i dont. Sorry.

    Posted 09/24/2014
  • haoyupei
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great team!

    Posted 09/07/2014
Show next 25 reviews