7-Zip Icon

A free file archiver for extremely high compression

Read Editorial Review

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
651
11
6
2
22
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • duarterfd
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excelente, uso a anos.

    Posted 03/18/2015
  • kakhak
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great tool but when you will release final fresh version? Also, can you compile portable version for latest beta? Thanks.

    Posted 03/18/2015
  • liuxd
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fantastic!

    Posted 03/05/2015
  • logicaloctopus
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    hilarious! the download for 7zip is in the 7zip format. i can install it as long as i have 7zip already installed. what genius did this?

    Posted 03/01/2015
  • tirramissu
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best for windows.

    Posted 02/27/2015
  • workabyte
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    easy to use and well built

    Posted 02/13/2015
  • rasjv
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent!

    Posted 01/19/2015
  • castanetkhen
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I believe that there was a time when it was possible to unzip within Windows without having to download and install such an application but then those days were over. So I downloaded WinZip to help but they've decided to force users to have to register and pay, which in this day and age is a pretty unfriendly thing to do considering that so many others offer free but rather excellent utilities. And so I was forced to find an alternative to WinZip. At first I saw jZip but Chrome blocked the download as it suspects dangerous payload no matter how many times I tried to work around it. And that finally brought me around to 7Zip and may experiences so far have been nothing but terrific. Downloading was FAST and PAINLESS. The installation was just as simple. Seeing that it's a GNU Licence gave me reason to believe this is the real deal with no viruses in the background. Not a Russian job, which is reassuring. And the first time I used it was so quick and easy, so effortless and so friendly. There was basically not much to have to learn to get up and running so fast. I didn't stumble. I didn't find anything cryptic. I didn't have to keep trying. First time in, first time successful. And fast. What's there not to like? K. PS: Difficult to grade Support when I haven't the need to use it so far.

    Posted 01/15/2015
  • e71a7i4s
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fantastic. A+++

    Posted 01/06/2015
  • mydvine
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Daghan Salamat! Thank You Very Much!

    Posted 01/04/2015
  • ineuw
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's an excellent tool. I never needed support so I can't answer that

    Posted 01/04/2015
  • alexcamargos
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent

    Posted 01/04/2015
  • mab677777
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very good and free archiver.

    Posted 12/24/2014
  • guillaumecombot
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    thanks !

    Posted 12/14/2014
  • enoranedelec
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software

    Posted 12/14/2014
  • liditu
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    awesome work, thank you guys!

    Posted 12/14/2014
  • joe_devore
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Updates ^_^

    Posted 12/10/2014
  • gzuberi
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have been using 7-Zip almost from the beginning, Thank you so much... Excellent Work!!!

    Posted 12/08/2014
  • brianmuntz
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    DANGER: I have recently discovered that 7-zip has been transferring data over the internet. The Creator Igor Pavlov has not explained. This application first appeared on the internet December 7 2010. My concern is this. 1. Nearly impossible to remove. 2. Unexplained internet usage. 3. Russians have been having a hay-day with American personal pictures and videos and using them for entertainment that is believed to be stolen from people's computers. (in the recent news). Is there a connection? I am very concerned there is a connection. This very well could be a source of information that is taken from people's PCs and delivered right into the hands of people you don't want the to have. I do not side with the reviews here on this application at all. People need to understand that Free is NEVER Free. You have to pay something. Often it's your email address and get spam. Your costs for FREE stuff. Sometimes FREE stuff costs a lot more. This one seems to have a very high price. Consumer be warned.

    Posted 12/06/2014
  • jamspoon
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Delightfully easy to use. Makes working with archives seamless and time saving. Particularly like the ability to open a zip etc and drill down to see what's in there, then to drag and drop out only the files you want.

    Posted 12/02/2014
  • jmartorell
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Impressive performance and great usability

    Posted 11/28/2014
  • opzione-s
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Indispensabile!

    Posted 11/26/2014
  • sheanhoxie
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works very well, I've been using it for years without any complaints!

    Posted 10/30/2014
  • notatroll
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great program. But can't you make a better UI? Looks very ugly. File manager is also so poor. Many people have requested you for so many years but you have done nothing. Please make a better UI like that of Windows file manager. A better UI will increase the users and you will get more support as well. So please make a better UI soon.

    Posted 10/19/2014
  • jordicraft21
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good and easy but not is truth thah supercompress

    Posted 10/10/2014
Show next 25 reviews