7-Zip Icon

A free file archiver for extremely high compression

Read Editorial Review

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
607
8
4
1
20
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • it-architect
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    7-Zip makes files smaller, which makes a big difference when downloading large files, such as virtual machine files. Open Source has gained importance over the past 5 years since the government has become directly involved in partisan industrial espionage. Software vendors are in the same position as Lavabit, thereby making 7-Zip more valuable than a commercial product.

    Posted 11/07/2013
  • lukjan30
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    when new wersion?

    Posted 11/04/2013
  • valebes
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best program for compression, if you want i suggest you to try my GUI for 7Zip "Tiny File"

    Posted 10/30/2013
  • crawlball
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    My favourite, easy to use, lightweight, fast. I use WinRar as well but just for the case. 7-zip is handling about 98% of all tasks I throw at it.

    Posted 10/22/2013
  • suriyaakudo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best file archiver-programm!

    Posted 10/12/2013
  • ipleva
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Just downloaded and compared it with WinRAR which is probably the most common and widely used archiving tool. I used a 34 MB .pdf file for the test and zipped it with maximum compression. Archiving was OK and zipped archive from 7-Zip was even a few Bytes smaller than that from WinRAR. User interface is simple - I would say spartan :), but I like this. 7-Zip is even available in my mother tongue - Slovak. And it is a freeware - so no annoying messages like when you want to use WinRAR after 40 days of trial and you don't have money to buy it. The only significant defeciency might be the fact that you cannot make .rar archives, you can only unpack these.

    Posted 09/26/2013
  • tomsx
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very nice product, I love it. Works pretty well

    Posted 08/27/2013
  • tomakole
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great replacement of ZIP or RAR. Nearly perfect except the interface uneasy to understand by debutant in IT. (Really ugly indeed :) Good to archive, small backup or mail attachment. "Must have" on Windows Desktop.

    Posted 08/25/2013
  • udreese
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent product which has yet to let me down.

    Posted 08/23/2013
  • pouknouki
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best archiver i've ever known. No bugs, pretty fast, just sometimes a uncompression which fails.

    Posted 07/20/2013
  • eurosourceforge
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It can be a great opponent to WinRar! Excellent Utility! :-)

    Posted 07/12/2013
  • somnamna
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Why doesn't this utility get 5 stars? What else can people want it to do? Or maybe they are trying to promote some other utility?

    Posted 07/08/2013
  • hav3lock
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best thing since Tar.

    Posted 07/02/2013
  • ndundupan
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank for this awesome project. I don't need to buy winrara to unrar the file then i like to user 7z because it reduce more effective than winrar

    Posted 06/30/2013
  • chrissaluu
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent project! Reccommend everybody. Thanks!)))+1

    Posted 06/25/2013
  • chrissaluu976
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks very good project! +

    Posted 06/22/2013
  • disfunzione
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks very good project! +

    Posted 06/21/2013
  • pggdt
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    gerat work! I uesed this software for many years!

    Posted 06/21/2013
  • marcophoenix
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Sevenzip is excellent! Thanks.

    Posted 06/21/2013
  • josearmstrong
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice, thank you

    Posted 06/20/2013
  • open-closed
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    No program, than safer and better and never will. Thanks

    Posted 06/18/2013
  • trelligan
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A most excellent program for Windows. I like the fact that the native .7z format is faster to decrypt than encrypt, but most of all the support for all the other archive types.

    Posted 06/13/2013
  • micahr79
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Most amazing compression and un-compression program available.

    Posted 06/12/2013
  • saramills
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for software and updates.

    Posted 06/10/2013
  • nfatoys
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have an archive that I share with others. I periodically make changes to the source files that have been archived, so I need to update the archive with these changed files. 7-Zip seems to lack this most fundamental feature of a file archiving program - The ability to simply update the archive contents with source files that have changed or added to the directories present in the archive, since the time the archive was originally created. This feature is found in every other Zip like archive program I've ever used. But if it's part of 7-Zip, they've gone out of their way to hide it.

    Posted 06/02/2013
Show next 25 reviews