7-Zip Icon

A free file archiver for extremely high compression

Read Editorial Review

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
638
10
6
1
22
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • carvalhooak
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fantastic product!

    Posted 05/27/2015
  • samselbr
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent - performance and desing

    Posted 05/27/2015
  • aleruete
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    compact!

    Posted 05/21/2015
  • ydl767
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great project.

    Posted 04/14/2015
  • kssbsr
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good project

    Posted 04/06/2015
  • surfersat
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I would like some improvement in the GUI, better colors depth for example. Greetings and thanks!

    Posted 04/02/2015
  • zx8401ztv
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is an amazing utility that seems to open almost any compressed file with ease. You are not forced to use the interface if not needed, the extra items in your windows context menu are ideal for speedy compressing or decompressing.

    Posted 04/01/2015
  • cerberus09
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The archive tool works great. It has many features and supports a broad variety of file types. The guy who posted below me likely has no idea what he's doing and probably should not be using this software in the first place... Actually he should probably just throw away his computer and never use one again. Don't let his ignorance scare you away from this fantastic program.

    Posted 03/31/2015
  • gv0000
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Broke my computer's ability to download zip files. Almost like a virus: very difficult to remove after destroying your computer's settings (despite multiple attempts to uninstall). I've been struggling with this system for over a month, trying to get things back to normal and I still can't download a zip file as a zip file. Came here and created this account specifically to warn people to stay away.

    Posted 03/24/2015
  • spreedated
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    One of the best

    Posted 03/19/2015
  • duarterfd
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excelente, uso a anos.

    Posted 03/18/2015
  • kakhak
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great tool but when you will release final fresh version? Also, can you compile portable version for latest beta? Thanks.

    Posted 03/18/2015
  • liuxd
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fantastic!

    Posted 03/05/2015
  • logicaloctopus
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    hilarious! the download for 7zip is in the 7zip format. i can install it as long as i have 7zip already installed. what genius did this?

    Posted 03/01/2015
  • tirramissu
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best for windows.

    Posted 02/27/2015
  • workabyte
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    easy to use and well built

    Posted 02/13/2015
  • rasjv
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent!

    Posted 01/19/2015
  • castanetkhen
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I believe that there was a time when it was possible to unzip within Windows without having to download and install such an application but then those days were over. So I downloaded WinZip to help but they've decided to force users to have to register and pay, which in this day and age is a pretty unfriendly thing to do considering that so many others offer free but rather excellent utilities. And so I was forced to find an alternative to WinZip. At first I saw jZip but Chrome blocked the download as it suspects dangerous payload no matter how many times I tried to work around it. And that finally brought me around to 7Zip and may experiences so far have been nothing but terrific. Downloading was FAST and PAINLESS. The installation was just as simple. Seeing that it's a GNU Licence gave me reason to believe this is the real deal with no viruses in the background. Not a Russian job, which is reassuring. And the first time I used it was so quick and easy, so effortless and so friendly. There was basically not much to have to learn to get up and running so fast. I didn't stumble. I didn't find anything cryptic. I didn't have to keep trying. First time in, first time successful. And fast. What's there not to like? K. PS: Difficult to grade Support when I haven't the need to use it so far.

    Posted 01/15/2015
  • e71a7i4s
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fantastic. A+++

    Posted 01/06/2015
  • mydvine
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Daghan Salamat! Thank You Very Much!

    Posted 01/04/2015
  • ineuw
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's an excellent tool. I never needed support so I can't answer that

    Posted 01/04/2015
  • alexcamargos
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent

    Posted 01/04/2015
  • mab677777
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very good and free archiver.

    Posted 12/24/2014
  • guillaumecombot
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    thanks !

    Posted 12/14/2014
  • enoranedelec
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software

    Posted 12/14/2014
Show next 25 reviews