7-Zip Icon

A free file archiver for extremely high compression

Read Editorial Review

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
611
9
5
1
20
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • opzione-s
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Indispensabile!

    Posted 11/26/2014
  • sheanhoxie
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works very well, I've been using it for years without any complaints!

    Posted 10/30/2014
  • notatroll
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great program. But can't you make a better UI? Looks very ugly. File manager is also so poor. Many people have requested you for so many years but you have done nothing. Please make a better UI like that of Windows file manager. A better UI will increase the users and you will get more support as well. So please make a better UI soon.

    Posted 10/19/2014
  • jordicraft21
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good and easy but not is truth thah supercompress

    Posted 10/10/2014
  • fixeworks
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The range of features and compression capability is out of question, also it is under 2 MB after installation so 7zip is just a MUST. However, developers here are just doing what they want without listening to features required by users (In my opinion that's the reason why other zip utilities are more popular), I imagine they spending nights for gaining 1% compression rate wihtou increasing usability (seriously, I can't imagine why no one forked 7zip to redesign it a bit). Issues: 1) Most websites (95%) provide only Md5 and Sha-1 checksums (because are cheaper I guess), those checksums are not secure as Sha-256, but if 7zip does not provide any checksums for those websites then the result is that user cannot do checksum wich is totally safeless (seein developers answering "install a Md5 utility" is a bit irritating). Also if the excuse for not adding MD5 and SHa-1 is that they are not secure, then just remove CRC too (wich is redundant since downloads from TCP connections already have CRC at TCP protocol level). 2) Allow copypasting to clipboard of checksums of file manager for make comparing easy 3) File manager is obsolete, use native folder browsing for each OS, it is much faster reliable and also make possible to users make use of their shortcuts and settings (this is also a question of accessibility, what if someone is using bigger fonts because visually impaired while 7 zip file manager still have small fonts? that force him to use the magnifier). 4) Allow decompression of tar.gz at once with 1 command. How difficult is wrap 2 sequential commands as 1?

    Posted 10/07/2014
  • jfd553
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy and effective app!

    Posted 10/06/2014
  • bobfresh
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    True the compression ratio is great but.. this app has major issues that havent been addressed in years and are blatently obvious to any windows user. The compression thread priority appears to be set at the same level as the window thread making it unresponsive or ludicrously slow. FYI the gui should always be > or at least = to the packing thread. The gui looks as if it was written by adding toolbar buttons to a msvc6.0 template. Ie. Bad. This compression app deserves a better gui if it is ever to be as useable as winrar/winzip. Try winrars shell extentions for an example of user configured usablity. Please stop squezzing 0.00021blah% more compession out of it and deal with the UI please.also while it gets slightly better compression than winrar it is MUCH slower at packing. Id Love to love it but i dont. Sorry.

    Posted 09/24/2014
  • haoyupei
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great team!

    Posted 09/07/2014
  • poobah1
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Stable, reliable, fast and functional. However, it has some neglected flaws: -no support for UAC -drag 'n' drop causes files to extracted and then copied, which is very slow -Doesn't have a function for running an installer from an archive

    Posted 08/31/2014
  • darkninja500
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent Software. @ download-ardamax-keylogger-withcrack.blogspot.com Download Ardamax Keylogger 4.1 with crack free and hack today facebook,twitter etc but don't mis-use it.

    Posted 08/26/2014
  • rtbaileyphd
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    7Zip does not handle Windows junctions or symbolic links at all. I see this has been reported in your bug list years ago, but nothing has been done about it.

    Posted 08/25/2014
  • twaynes
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    7zip is a great product but it's being pushed so covertly and heavily by so many sites, many of the supposedly very reliable, and even purchases apps, I refuse to use it. I never know what some download may do to my current install and thus avoid it. Yes, I have used it before all the crap pushing started and from what I can see it is still a great app. Can't the miscreants behind all that be crushed somehow?

    Posted 08/23/2014
  • aryaputrasrj
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simple Superb Effective & Compresses better than Winrar

    Posted 08/01/2014
  • extremegtx
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great

    Posted 07/25/2014
  • zers
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Greate

    Posted 07/07/2014
  • leewiscovitch
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hands down the best compression utility on the market! The features are smart, it doesn't get in the way, and you can't beat the price.

    Posted 07/04/2014
  • riverside01
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    this works very well on Windows 8.1, you will need to manually make the file associations. some advanced archiving features are missing, but it is difficult to find a decent free extractor for windows. look no further.

    Posted 06/30/2014
  • gigapouch
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I don't know what to say, except great software.

    Posted 06/19/2014
  • putanacha
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent program, the best for mine opinion. But please add in every download of installers SHA-1 sum to check integrity. All the best for you 7-Zip project. GOGO

    Posted 06/16/2014
  • caiocampos
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best free compressor ever made

    Posted 05/24/2014
  • ianstas
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A fantastic archiver for Windows plus full support for most nix's with p7zip

    Posted 05/22/2014
  • ypchase
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best free zip program bar none.

    Posted 05/21/2014
  • wolf1000235
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    perfect, better than winrar! Deserve 5 stars, I'd give even 10! Please, I would love if you could compress files in .RAR archives ... although it would be pretty useless, since there are already .7Z . thank you for reading this comment-review, and I apologize for my English. :)

    Posted 05/20/2014
  • guastardo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Perfect! Just *please* add the support to RAR-5 archives...

    Posted 05/15/2014
  • jtmoon22
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This program should come with all versions of Windows. It's excellent in every way.

    Posted 05/10/2014
Show next 25 reviews